AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00045097

Ixabepilone in Treating Patients With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing ixabepilone in people with Breast Cancer, run by National Cancer Institute (NCI) at 4 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well ixabepilone works in treating patients with locally advanced or metastatic breast cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
ixabepilone
How many people
Not given
Where
4 sitesUnited States
Study dates
May 2002to Jul 2007
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed* adenocarcinoma of the breast
  • Incurable, locally advanced or metastatic disease
  • Primarily stage IV disease, but some inoperable stage III disease may be eligible (e.g., a patient with T4 and/or N2-3 disease who cannot receive doxorubicin or who has already received other therapy) NOTE: *Patients with no available tissue for histologic confirmation but who have documentation of breast surgery and prior chemotherapy are eligible upon approval of the principal investigator
  • Measurable disease
  • No evidence of CNS metastases by brain MRI or contrast head CT scan
  • CNS metastases controlled by radiotherapy or surgical resection at least 6 months prior to study enrollment are allowed
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Sex

  • Female or male

Menopausal status

  • Not specified

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • At least 3 months

Hematopoietic

  • Granulocyte count at least 1,200/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN) (3 times ULN if there is clinical evidence of Gilbert's disease)
  • AST and ALT no greater than 2.5 times ULN

Renal

  • Creatinine normal OR
  • Creatinine clearance greater than 40 mL/min

Other

  • No poor medical risk due to other nonmalignant systemic disease
  • No active uncontrolled infection
  • No sensory, motor, or cranial neuropathy or neuropathic pain grade 2 or greater (unless neuropathy is clearly due to underlying breast cancer)
  • No other concurrent serious medical illness
  • No prior severe hypersensitivity reactions to agents containing Cremophor EL
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 2 months after study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • More than 4 weeks since prior filgrastim (G-CSF), pegfilgrastim, or thrombopoietin (or other platelet growth factors)
  • No concurrent immunotherapy

Chemotherapy

  • More than 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy (6 weeks for nitrosoureas or mitomycin)
  • No other concurrent chemotherapy for breast cancer

Endocrine therapy

  • More than 2 weeks since prior hormonal therapy
  • No concurrent hormonal therapy

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior craniospinal radiation
  • No prior total body irradiation
  • More than 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics

Other

  • No other concurrent investigational drugs
  • No concurrent cytochrome p450 3A4 inhibitors, including any of the following:
  • Clarithromycin
  • Erythromycin
  • Troleandomycin
  • Delaviridine
  • Nelfinavir
  • Amprenavir
  • Ritonavir
  • Indinavir
  • Saquinavir
  • Lopinavir
  • Itraconazole
  • Ketoconazole
  • Fluconazole (> 200 mg/day)
  • Voriconazole
  • Nefazodone
  • Fluvoxamine
  • Verapamil
  • Diltiazem
  • Amiodarone
  • Concurrent bisphosphonates for bone metastases allowed

Trial locations and contacts

4 sites in 1 country.

United States4 sites
  • Suburban Hospital

    Bethesda, Maryland, 20814

  • Oncology Care Associates

    Bethesda, Maryland, 20817

  • Warren Grant Magnuson Clinical Center - NCI Clinical Studies Support

    Bethesda, Maryland, 20892-1182

  • NCI - Center for Cancer Research

    Bethesda, Maryland, 20892

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Clinical Trial Of BMS-247550 (NSC 710428), An Epothilone B Analog, In Patients With Breast Carcinoma

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well ixabepilone works in treating patients with locally advanced or metastatic breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine any antitumor activity of ixabepilone, in terms of objective response rate, in patients with incurable, locally advanced or metastatic breast cancer.
  • Determine the toxicity of this drug in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to prior taxane therapy (yes vs no).

Patients (with or without prior taxane exposure) receive ixabepilone IV over 1 hour on days 1-5. An additional cohort of 37 patients who have received prior taxane therapy are then accrued to receive ixabepilone IV over 1 hour on days 1-3 at a higher starting dose. For all patients, courses repeat every 3 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients who receive more than 6 courses with satisfactory response may be treated every 4-5 weeks.

Patients removed for unacceptable toxicty are followed periodically.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 105 patients (at least 74 with and 21 without prior taxane exposure) will be accrued for this study within 26 months.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
ixabepilone
Keywords
male breast cancer, recurrent breast cancer, stage IIIB breast cancer, stage IIIC breast cancer, stage IV breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Breast Neoplasms, Male

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • ixabepiloneDrug

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Anti-tumor activity as measured by CT scans and bone scans at baseline and every other course

  2. Ixabepilone toxicity as measured by lab studies at baseline and after every course

Secondary outcomes (2)
  1. Tumor tubulin polymerization and p53 expression from biopsy specimens and cDNA microarray testing at baseline and prior to course 2.

  2. Neurotoxicity assessment as measured by Semmes-Weinstein monofilament, sharpened Rombrog, one-legged stance, Jebsen Test of hand function, the grooved pef board , and subjective questionnaires at baseline and prior to every other course

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2002
  3. Study completionJul 2007

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Masking
None (open label)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00045097
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000256355
Other IDs
NCI-02-C-0229, NCI-5791
Status last verified
Jan 2007
First submitted
6 Sep 2002
Last updated
20 Jun 2013
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Denduluri N, Low JA, Lee JJ, Berman AW, Walshe JM, Vatas U, Chow CK, Steinberg SM, Yang SX, Swain SM. Phase II trial of ixabepilone, an epothilone B analog, in patients with metastatic breast cancer previously untreated with taxanes. J Clin Oncol. 2007 Aug 10;25(23):3421-7. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2006.10.0784. Epub 2007 Jul 2.

    PubMed 17606971
  • Low J, Croarkin E, Parks R, et al.: Assessment of neurotoxicity in patients receiving BMS-247550 for metastatic breast cancer. [Abstract] Breast Cancer Research and Treatment 85.2: A-358, 2004. Also available online. Last accessed April 22, 2004.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing ixabepilone in people with Breast Cancer, run by National Cancer Institute (NCI) at 4 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 20 Jun 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 4 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Anti-tumor activity as measured by CT scans and bone scans at baseline and every other course. The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00045097, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 20 Jun 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in