AzTrials
AzTrials

Fallopian Tube CancerPhase 2/3NCT00045461

Combination Chemotherapy With or Without Whole-Body Hyperthermia in Treating Patients With Recurrent Ovarian Epithelial, Fallopian Tube, or Peritoneal Cancer

A Phase 2/3 study testing carboplatin, ifosfamide and hyperthermia treatment in people with Fallopian Tube Cancer and Ovarian Cancer, run by Ludwig-Maximilians - University of Munich at 7 sites in 3 countries.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Hyperthermia therapy kills tumor cells by heating them to several degrees above body temperature. Combining hyperthermia with chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 65 years, women only
What is being tested?
carboplatin, ifosfamide and hyperthermia treatment
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
241 participants
Where
7 sitesin 3 countries
Study dates
Jun 2000to not given
Phase
Phase 2/3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 65 years
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or extraovarian peritoneal cancer
  • Recurrent disease (any FIGO stage)
  • Not amenable to curative surgery or radiotherapy alone
  • Failed prior primary platinum-based therapy at least 6 months after therapy discontinuation
  • Measurable lesion by CT scan, MRI, chest x-ray, or sonography
  • Physical examination allowed for documenting lymph node and skin metastases
  • Physical gynecological examination allowed for well-defined palpable tumor lesions
  • Increase in CA 125 without any measurable tumor is not acceptable as indication of recurrence
  • No CNS metastases
  • No tumor of borderline malignancy

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 to 65

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • At least 24 weeks

Hematopoietic

  • Neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min
  • No chronic or acute renal failure

Cardiovascular

  • Cardiovascular function sufficient for hyperthermia treatment by stress-ECG
  • No cardiomyopathy with impaired ventricular function
  • No New York Heart Association class III or IV heart disease
  • No cardiac arrhythmias influencing LVEF and requiring medication
  • No myocardial infarction or angina pectoris within the past 6 months
  • No uncontrolled arterial hypertension

Pulmonary

  • Pulmonary function sufficient for hyperthermia treatment by pulmonary function tests

Other

  • No untreated endocrinological disease (e.g., hyperthyroidism or diabetes mellitus)
  • No other primary malignancy except carcinoma in situ of the cervix or adequately treated basal cell skin cancer
  • No contraindication against hyperthermia treatment (e.g., photodermatosis, history of malignant hyperthermia, or claustrophobia)
  • No hypersensitivity to carboplatin, ifosfamide, or any other study medication
  • Not pregnant or nursing

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No concurrent cytotoxic or other antineoplastic therapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Concurrent hormone replacement therapy allowed
  • Concurrent steroid antiemetics allowed

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 1 year since prior radiotherapy (tumoricidal dose) of the pelvis
  • Concurrent palliative local radiotherapy for painful (nonprogressive) existing lesion is allowed if other measurable sites are present
  • No concurrent radiotherapy to a second existing lesion

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics

Other

  • No prior form of hyperthermic therapy
  • At least 3 weeks since other medications as part of another clinical study
  • At least 3 weeks since prior investigational agents
  • At least 6 weeks since prior betablockers
  • No concurrent photosensitizing drugs
  • No concurrent betablockers
  • No other concurrent anticancer therapy

Trial locations and contacts

7 sites in 3 countries.

7 sites in 3 countries

Germany5 sites, 5 recruiting
  • Charite University Hospital - Campus Virchow Klinikum

    Berlin, D-13353

    B. Hildebrandt, MD, 49-30-450-553-636, bert.hildebrandt@chu-ite.de

    Recruiting
  • Krankenhaus Nordwest

    Frankfurt, D-60488

    Elke Jaeger, MD, 49-69-7601-3380

    Recruiting
  • University Medical Center Hamburg - Eppendorf

    Hamburg, D-20246

    S. Hegewisch-Becker, MD, 49-40-428-033-971, hegewisch@uke.uni-hamburg.de

    Recruiting
  • Universitaets - Kinderklinik - Luebeck

    Lübeck, D-23538

    A Bakhshandeh-Bath, MD, 0049-451-500-2316, bakhshan@medinf.mu_luebeck.de

    Recruiting
  • Kreiskrankenhaus Trostberg

    Trostberg an der Alz, D-83308

    A. Biedermann, MD, 0862-11-87-5020

    Recruiting

Other trials in Germany

Hungary1 site, 1 recruiting
  • Peterfy Korhaz Szulo-Nobeteg Oztaly

    Budapest, 1076

    L. Kornya, MD, 36-1-322-3450

    Recruiting

Other trials in Hungary

Netherlands1 site, 1 recruiting
  • Academisch Medisch Centrum at University of Amsterdam

    Amsterdam, 1105 AZ

    Anneke M. Westermann, MD, PhD, 31-20-566-5955, a.m.westermann@amc.uva.nl

    Recruiting

Other trials in Netherlands

About this study

Official title: A Randomized Phase II/III Trial Comparing Carboplatin-Ifosfamide (IC)-Chemotherapy Vs. IC-Chemotherapy Combined With Extreme Whole Body Hyperthermia In Patients With Recurrence Of Epithelial Ovarian Carcinoma: DOLPHIN-1-STUDY

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Hyperthermia therapy kills tumor cells by heating them to several degrees above body temperature. Combining hyperthermia with chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known if chemotherapy is more effective with or without whole-body hyperthermia therapy in treating gynecologic cancer.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase II/III trial to compare the effectiveness of chemotherapy with or without whole-body hyperthermia in treating patients who have recurrent ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or peritoneal cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare the time to progressive disease in patients with recurrent ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or extraovarian peritoneal cancer treated with carboplatin and ifosfamide with or without whole body hyperthermia.
  • Compare the response rate, duration of response, and survival time of patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the effect on the presence of disseminated tumor cells in bone marrow in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the toxicity of these regimens in these patients.
  • Assess quality of life of patients treated with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a phase II safety and efficacy study followed by a phase III randomized, open-label, multicenter study.

  • Phase II: Patients receive ifosfamide IV over 1 hour and carboplatin IV over 20 minutes on day 1. Patients also undergo whole body hyperthermia for at least 1 hour on day 1. Treatment repeats every 28 days for 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
  • Phase III (after successful treatment of 15 patients in phase II): Patients are stratified according to disease-free interval (6-12 months vs more than 12 months), measurable disease (bidimensionally measurable vs measurable by other clinical means), and disease recurrence (first recurrence vs second or greater recurrence). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
  • Arm I: Patients receive ifosfamide, carboplatin, and whole body hyperthermia as in phase II.
  • Arm II: Patients receive ifosfamide and carboplatin as in arm I.
  • In both arms, treatment repeats every 28 days for 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Quality of life is assessed before each course, 4 weeks after the last course, and then every 3 months for 2 years.

Patients are followed at 4 weeks and then every 3 months for 2 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 15 patients will be accrued for phase II of this study. A total of 226 patients (113 per treatment arm) will be accrued for phase III of this study within 2 years.

Being tested
carboplatin, ifosfamide, hyperthermia treatment
Keywords
recurrent ovarian epithelial cancer, recurrent fallopian tube cancer, stage IIIA fallopian tube cancer, stage IIIB fallopian tube cancer, stage IIIC fallopian tube cancer, stage IV fallopian tube cancer, recurrent primary peritoneal cavity cancer, stage IIIA primary peritoneal cavity cancer, stage IIIB primary peritoneal cavity cancer, stage IIIC primary peritoneal cavity cancer, stage IV primary peritoneal cavity cancer, stage IIIA ovarian epithelial cancer, stage IIIB ovarian epithelial cancer, stage IIIC ovarian epithelial cancer, stage IV ovarian epithelial cancer
Medical subject headings
Fallopian Tube Neoplasms, Ovarian Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Ovarian Epithelial

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Time to progressive disease

  2. Response rate

  3. Duration of response

  4. Survival time

  5. Effects on the presence of disseminated tumor cells in bone marrow

  6. Toxicity

  7. Quality of life

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJun 2000

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2/3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
241 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00045461
Sponsor's protocol ID
LMU-DOLPHIN-1
Other IDs
CDR0000256532, EU-20220
Status last verified
Oct 2002
First submitted
6 Sep 2002
Last updated
7 Aug 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2/3 study testing carboplatin, ifosfamide and hyperthermia treatment in people with Fallopian Tube Cancer and Ovarian Cancer, run by Ludwig-Maximilians - University of Munich at 7 sites in 3 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 7 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 7 sites in Germany, Hungary, Netherlands. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this combined phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

Each site lists its own contact: choose the nearest one under Trial locations. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Time to progressive disease. The study lists 7 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 7 Aug 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in