AzTrials
AzTrials

LeukemiaPhase 1/2NCT00045513

Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia or Lymphocytic Lymphoma

A Phase 1/2 study testing 7-hydroxystaurosporine and fludarabine phosphate in people with Leukemia and Lymphoma, run by University Health Network, Toronto at 3 sites in Canada.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more cancer cells. PURPOSE: Phase I/II trial to study the effectiveness of combining UCN-01 with fludarabine in treating patients who have relapsed or… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Leukemia, Lymphoma
What is being tested?
7-hydroxystaurosporine and fludarabine phosphate
How many people
Not given
Where
3 sitesCanada
Study dates
Jun 2002to Dec 2003
Phase
Phase 1/2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL) or B-cell small lymphocytic lymphoma (SLL)
  • CLL is defined as:
  • Persistent lymphocytosis greater than 5,000/mm^3
  • CD19/CD5/CD23 positive
  • Kappa or lambda light chain restriction
  • Refractory to or disease progression after 1 or 2 prior treatment regimens
  • Retreatment with oral chlorambucil is allowed and considered a second regimen
  • At least one of the chlorambucil treatments must be for 3 months or longer
  • At least 4 courses of cyclophosphamide, vincristine, and prednisone with or without doxorubicin allowed
  • Patients may have received prior fludarabine as first- or second-line therapy if there is evidence of at least partial response and time to progression after initial fludarabine therapy was at least 12 months
  • No CNS involvement by lymphoma

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2 OR
  • Karnofsky 60-100%

Life expectancy

  • More than 3 months

Hematopoietic

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3
  • No autoimmune hemolytic anemia or thrombocytopenia secondary to CLL or SLL requiring ongoing therapy with prednisone or other immunosuppressive agents

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin normal
  • AST and ALT no greater than 2.5 times upper limit of normal

Renal

  • Creatinine normal OR
  • Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min

Cardiovascular

  • No symptomatic congestive heart failure
  • No unstable angina pectoris
  • No cardiac arrhythmia

Pulmonary

  • DLCO greater than 60% predicted
  • FEV_1 greater than 70% predicted
  • No significant underlying pulmonary disease

Other

  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No insulin-dependent diabetes mellitus
  • No other uncontrolled concurrent illness
  • No ongoing or active infection
  • No pre-existing peripheral neuropathy grade 2 or greater
  • No psychiatric illness or social situation that would preclude study compliance
  • No prior allergic reactions to compounds of similar chemical or biological composition to UCN-01 or other agents in this study
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy and recovered

Endocrine therapy

  • See Hematopoietic

Radiotherapy

  • No prior mediastinal radiation
  • At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy and recovered

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • No other concurrent investigational agents
  • No concurrent combination antiretroviral therapy for HIV-positive patients

Trial locations and contacts

3 sites in 1 country.

Canada3 sites
  • McMaster Children's Hospital at Hamilton Health Sciences

    Hamilton, Ontario, L8N 3Z5

  • London Health Sciences Centre

    London, Ontario, N6A 465

  • Princess Margaret Hospital at University Health Network

    Toronto, Ontario, M5G 2M9

Other trials in Canada

About this study

Official title: Phase I/II Study Of UCN-01 In Combination With Fludarabine In Patients With Relapsed Or Refractory Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia Or Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more cancer cells.

PURPOSE: Phase I/II trial to study the effectiveness of combining UCN-01 with fludarabine in treating patients who have relapsed or refractory chronic lymphocytic leukemia or lymphocytic lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the overall response rate in patients with relapsed or refractory chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL) or small lymphocytic lymphoma treated with UCN-01 and fludarabine.
  • Assess the molecular changes in CLL cells in peripheral blood in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the progression-free and overall survival of patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the toxicity of this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter, dose-escalation study of UCN-01.

Patients receive UCN-01 IV over 3 hours on day 1 and fludarabine IV over 30-60 minutes on days 1-5. Treatment repeats every 4 weeks for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of UCN-01 until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which at least 2 of 3 or 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity. Once the MTD is determined, 18-46 additional patients receive UCN-01 and fludarabine as above at the recommended phase II dose.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 12 patients will be accrued for the phase I portion of this study within 6 months. A total of 18-46 patients will be accrued for the phase II portion of this study within 9-23 months.

Conditions
Leukemia, Lymphoma
Being tested
7-hydroxystaurosporine, fludarabine phosphate
Keywords
refractory chronic lymphocytic leukemia, recurrent small lymphocytic lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Leukemia, Lymphoma, Leukemia, Lymphocytic, Chronic, B-Cell

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJun 2002
  3. Primary completionDec 2003

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1/2
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00045513
Sponsor's protocol ID
PMH-PHL-006
Other IDs
CDR0000256600, NCI-5538
Status last verified
Jul 2015
First submitted
6 Sep 2002
Last updated
23 Jul 2015
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1/2 study testing 7-hydroxystaurosporine and fludarabine phosphate in people with Leukemia and Lymphoma, run by University Health Network, Toronto at 3 sites in Canada.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 23 Jul 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 3 sites in Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this combined phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 23 Jul 2015.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in