AzTrials
AzTrials

Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol SpecificPhase 1NCT00047242

UCN-01 and Irinotecan in Treating Patients With Advanced Solid Tumors

A Phase 1 study testing 7-hydroxystaurosporine and irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: UCN-01 may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for tumor cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining UCN-01 with chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
What is being tested?
7-hydroxystaurosporine and irinotecan hydrochloride
How many people
30 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Aug 2002to Feb 2006
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed malignancy that is metastatic or unresectable and for which standard curative or palliative therapy does not exist or is no longer effective
  • Gastrointestinal, lung, and ovarian malignancies are given priority
  • No brain metastases

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2 OR
  • Karnofsky 60-100%

Life expectancy

  • More than 3 months

Hematopoietic

  • WBC at least 3,000/mm^3
  • Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin normal
  • AST/ALT no greater than 2.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)

Renal

  • Creatinine normal OR
  • Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min

Cardiovascular

  • No symptomatic coronary artery disease
  • No symptomatic cardiac dysfunction
  • No symptoms suggestive of coronary artery disease
  • LVEF at least 50%

Pulmonary

  • No symptomatic pulmonary dysfunction
  • FEV_1 greater than 75% of predicted
  • DLCO greater than 75% of predicted

Other

  • Amylase no greater than 2 times ULN
  • No other concurrent uncontrolled illness
  • No ongoing or active infection
  • No psychiatric illness or social situation that would preclude study compliance
  • No diabetes mellitus or random glucose more than 200 mg/dL
  • No prior allergic reaction attributed to compounds of similar biological or chemical composition to UCN-01 or irinotecan (including rash and systemic allergic reaction causing hypotension and respiratory distress)
  • No chronic diarrhea (more than 5 stools/day)
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception for 14 days before, during, and for at least 30 days after study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • At least 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy (6 weeks for nitrosoureas or mitomycin) and recovered
  • Prior UCN-01 and irinotecan allowed

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy and recovered
  • No prior mediastinal radiation

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • At least 14 days since prior warfarin
  • No concurrent warfarin unless required for maintaining patency of existing, permanent IV catheters
  • No concurrent commercial or other investigational anticancer agents or therapies
  • No concurrent combination antiretroviral therapy for HIV-positive patients

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21231-2410

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: The Pharmacokinetic and Safety Profile of UCN-01 in Combination With Irinotecan in Solid Tumors (Primarily Lung, Ovarian and GI Cancers)

RATIONALE: UCN-01 may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for tumor cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining UCN-01 with chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of combining UCN-01 with irinotecan in treating patients who have advanced solid tumors.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the maximum tolerated dose and recommended phase II dose of UCN-01 and irinotecan in patients with advanced solid tumors, primarily lung, ovarian, and gastrointestinal tumors.
  • Determine the acute and chronic toxicity profile of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the pharmacokinetics of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine, preliminarily, the anti-tumor effect of this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study.

Patients receive UCN-01 IV over 3 hours on day 1 and irinotecan IV over 90 minutes on days 1 and 8. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of UCN-01 and irinotecan until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 3 or 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity. At least 6 patients are treated at the recommended phase II dose.

Patients are followed at 1 month.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 20-30 patients will be accrued for this study within 7-15 months.

Being tested
7-hydroxystaurosporine, irinotecan hydrochloride
Keywords
unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startAug 2002
  3. Primary completionFeb 2006

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Enrolment
30 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00047242
Sponsor's protocol ID
JHOC-J0173, CDR0000257566
Other IDs
U01CA070095, P30CA006973, JHOC-J0173, NCI-5528
Status last verified
Aug 2010
First submitted
3 Oct 2002
Last updated
9 Aug 2010
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Jimeno A, Rudek MA, Purcell T, Laheru DA, Messersmith WA, Dancey J, Carducci MA, Baker SD, Hidalgo M, Donehower RC. Phase I and pharmacokinetic study of UCN-01 in combination with irinotecan in patients with solid tumors. Cancer Chemother Pharmacol. 2008 Mar;61(3):423-33. doi: 10.1007/s00280-007-0485-9. Epub 2007 Apr 12.

    PubMed 17429623

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing 7-hydroxystaurosporine and irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 9 Aug 2010. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00047242, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 9 Aug 2010.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in