AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 3NCT00047255

Docetaxel and Trastuzumab With or Without Carboplatin in Treating Women With HER2-Positive Breast Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing trastuzumab, carboplatin and docetaxel in people with Breast Cancer, run by Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Monoclonal antibodies such as trastuzumab can locate tumor cells and either kill them or deliver tumor-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 75 years, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
trastuzumab, carboplatin and docetaxel
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
263 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
May 2002to Apr 2010
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 75 years
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the breast
  • Stage IIIB, IIIC, or IV
  • HER2-positive
  • Measurable or evaluable disease
  • Patients with osteolytic bone lesions as only site of disease must have at least 2 lytic sites confirmed by bone x-ray, MRI, or CT scan
  • None of the following are eligible as only manifestation of metastatic disease:
  • Blastic bone metastases
  • Mixed bone metastases
  • Lymphangitic carcinomatosis
  • Ascites
  • Pleural/pericardial effusion
  • Lymphangitis cutis/pulmonis
  • Inflammatory breast disease
  • Abdominal masses not confirmed and followed by imaging techniques
  • Cystic lesions
  • No prior or known concurrent clinical manifestation of brain or leptomeningeal involvement
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 to 75

Sex

  • Female

Menopausal status

  • Pre- or post-menopausal

Performance status

  • Karnofsky 60-100%

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Neutrophil count at least 2,000/mm3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3
  • Hemoglobin at least 10 g/dL

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin no greater than upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • AST and ALT no greater than 5 times ULN
  • Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 5 times ULN (unless due to bone metastases or any nonmalignant bone disease and in absence of liver disorders)
  • AST and/or ALT greater than 1.5 times ULN AND alkaline phosphatase greater than 2.5 times ULN ineligible

Renal

  • Creatinine no greater than 2 mg/dL
  • Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min

Cardiovascular

  • LVEF normal by MUGA or echocardiogram
  • No myocardial infarction within the past year
  • No unstable angina pectoris
  • No documentation of congestive heart failure
  • No concurrent grade 3 or 4 cardiovascular arrhythmia
  • No poorly controlled hypertension (i.e., diastolic pressure greater than 100 mmHg)

Pulmonary

  • No severe dyspnea due to complications of advanced malignancy
  • No respiratory insufficiency requiring supplemental oxygen

Other

  • No significant neurologic or psychiatric disorders (e.g., psychotic disorders, dementia, or seizures) that would preclude study
  • No pre-existing sensory or motor neuropathy grade 2 or greater
  • No other serious illness or medical condition
  • No active uncontrolled infection
  • No active peptic ulcer disease
  • No unstable diabetes mellitus
  • No other prior or concurrent malignancy except for:
  • Curatively treated nonmelanoma skin cancer
  • Carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • Other curatively treated cancer and disease free for at least 10 years
  • No known allergic reactions to study drugs
  • No contraindications for the use of corticosteroids
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • See Chemotherapy
  • No prior trastuzumab (Herceptin) for locally advanced or metastatic disease
  • Prior trastuzumab-containing regimen (except with taxane) as adjuvant or neoadjuvant therapy allowed provided relapse occurred at least 6 months after therapy

Chemotherapy

  • No prior chemotherapy for locally advanced or metastatic disease or local recurrence
  • No prior chemotherapy with anthracycline or anthracenedione regimens with cumulative doses of more than 360 mg/m2 of doxorubicin, 720 mg/m2 of epirubicin, or 72 mg/m2 of mitoxantrone
  • No prior platinum-containing regimen as adjuvant or neoadjuvant chemotherapy
  • At least 4 weeks since prior anthracyclines or anthracenediones
  • Prior taxanes as adjuvant or neoadjuvant chemotherapy allowed provided relapse occurred at least 6 months after therapy
  • Prior taxane with trastuzumab as adjuvant or neoadjuvant chemotherapy allowed provided relapse occurred at least 12 months after therapy
  • No concurrent amifostine

Endocrine therapy

  • Prior hormonal therapy in the adjuvant or metastatic setting allowed provided patient has progressive disease and therapy has stopped before study entry
  • Concurrent chronic corticosteroids allowed if initiated more than 6 months before study entry and at a low dose (no greater than 20 mg methylprednisolone or equivalent)
  • No concurrent raloxifene, tamoxifen, or other selective estrogen receptor modulators
  • No concurrent hormonal therapy

Radiotherapy

  • No prior radiotherapy to study lesion unless clear progression
  • At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy (unless radiotherapy involved only a single field to treat a single metastatic bone lesion)
  • Concurrent radiotherapy for palliative treatment allowed

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • Recovered from prior antitumor therapy
  • At least 30 days since prior experimental drugs
  • No other concurrent experimental drugs
  • No other concurrent anticancer therapy
  • No concurrent bisphosphonates if osteolytic bone metastases are only site of disease
  • If receiving concurrent bisphosphonates other than for bone metastases only, must have been started at least 3 months before study entry
  • No concurrent primary prophylactic antibiotics
  • No concurrent cardioprotectors (e.g., dexrazoxane)

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center, UCLA

    Los Angeles, California, 90095

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Multicenter Phase III Randomized Trial Comparing Docetaxel (Taxotere) and Trastuzumab (Herceptin) With Docetaxel (Taxotere), Carboplatin and Trastuzumab (Herceptin) as First Line Chemotherapy for Patients With Advanced Breast Cancer Containing the HER2 Gene Amplification

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Monoclonal antibodies such as trastuzumab can locate tumor cells and either kill them or deliver tumor-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. It is not yet known if docetaxel and trastuzumab are more effective with or without carboplatin in treating women who have HER2-positive breast cancer.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to study the effectiveness of combining docetaxel and trastuzumab with or without carboplatin in treating women who have HER2-positive stage IIIB or stage IV breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare the time to disease progression in women with HER2-positive stage IIIB, IIIC, or IV breast cancer treated with docetaxel and trastuzumab (Herceptin) with or without carboplatin.
  • Compare the response rate and duration of overall response in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the overall survival of patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare rate of clinical benefit, defined as complete response, partial response, or stable disease for more than 24 weeks, in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the toxicity of these regimens in these patients.
  • Determine pathologic and molecular markers for predicting efficacy of these regimens in these patients.
  • Determine genetic and biochemical markers for predicting risk of cardiac dysfunction and later cardiac events in patients receiving these regimens.
  • Determine whether peripheral levels of shed HER2 extracellular domain constitute a prognostic and/or predictive factor of time to progression and survival of patients receiving these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, open-label, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to prior adjuvant and/or neoadjuvant chemotherapy (none vs with taxanes vs without taxanes) and participating center. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I:
  • Course 1: Patients receive trastuzumab (Herceptin) IV over 30-90 minutes on days 1, 8, and 15. Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour and carboplatin IV over 30-60 minutes on day 2.
  • Courses 2 and all subsequent courses: Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour and carboplatin IV over 30-60 minutes on day 1 and trastuzumab IV over 30 minutes on days 1, 8, and 15.
  • Arm II: Patients receive docetaxel and trastuzumab as in arm I. In both arms, treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 8 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. After completion of 8 courses, patients continue to receive trastuzumab IV over 30 minutes every 21 days in the absence of disease progression.

Patients are followed every 2 months for 3 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 250 patients (125 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 18 months.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
trastuzumab, carboplatin, docetaxel, trastuxumab
Keywords
stage IIIB breast cancer, stage IIIC breast cancer, stage IV breast cancer, recurrent breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • trastuzumabBiological

    Also called herceptin

    Cycle 1: Day 1: Herceptin (H) 4 mg/kg loading dose admin by IV over 90 mins, Day 2: Docetaxel (T) 75 mg/m2 by IV over 1 hour followed by carboplatin (C) at target AUC=6 mg/mL/min admin by IV over 30-60 mins, Day 8: (H) 2mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins, Day 15: 2mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins.

    Subsequent cycles: Day 1: (T) 75mg/m2 as 1 hour IV followed by (C) at target AUC=6 mg/mL/min admin by IV 30-60 mins every 3 weeks followed by (H) 2 mg/kg IV over 30 mins, Day 8: (H) 2 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins, Day 15: (H) 2 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins.

    Last cycle: Day 1: (T) 75mg/m2 as 1 hour IV followed by (C) at target AUC=6 mg/mL/min admin by IV 30-60 mins every 3 weeks followed by (H) 2 mg/kg IV over 30 mins, Day 8: (H) 2 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins, Day 15: (H) 2 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins, Day 22: (H) 6 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins.

  • carboplatinDrug

    Cycle 1: Day 1: Herceptin (H) 4 mg/kg loading dose admin by IV over 90 mins, Day 2: Docetaxel (T) 75 mg/m2 by IV over 1 hour followed by carboplatin (C) at target AUC=6 mg/mL/min admin by IV over 30-60 mins, Day 8: (H) 2mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins, Day 15: 2mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins.

    Subsequent cycles: Day 1: (T) 75mg/m2 as 1 hour IV followed by (C) at target AUC=6 mg/mL/min admin by IV 30-60 mins every 3 weeks followed by (H) 2 mg/kg IV over 30 mins, Day 8: (H) 2 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins, Day 15: (H) 2 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins.

    Last cycle: Day 1: (T) 75mg/m2 as 1 hour IV followed by (C) at target AUC=6 mg/mL/min admin by IV 30-60 mins every 3 weeks followed by (H) 2 mg/kg IV over 30 mins, Day 8: (H) 2 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins, Day 15: (H) 2 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins, Day 22: (H) 6 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins.

  • docetaxelDrug

    Also called taxotere

    Cycle 1: Day 1: Herceptin (H) 4 mg/kg loading dose administered by IV infusion over 90 minutes, Day 2: Docetaxel (T) 100 mg/m2 by IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 8: (H) 2mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 15: 2mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes.

    Subsequent cycles: Day 1: (T) 100mg/m2 as 1 hour IV infusion given every 3 weeks, followed by (H) 2 mg/kg IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 8: (H) 2 mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 15: (H) 2 mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes.

    Last cycle: Day 1: (T) 100mg/m2 as 1 hour IV infusion followed by (H) 2 mg/kg IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 8: (H) 2 mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 15: (H) 2 mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 22: (H) 6 mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes.

  • trastuxumabBiological

    Also called herceptin

    Cycle 1: Day 1: Herceptin (H) 4 mg/kg loading dose administered by IV infusion over 90 minutes, Day 2: Docetaxel (T) 100 mg/m2 by IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 8: (H) 2mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 15: 2mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes.

    Subsequent cycles: Day 1: (T) 100mg/m2 as 1 hour IV infusion given every 3 weeks, followed by (H) 2 mg/kg IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 8: (H) 2 mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 15: (H) 2 mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes.

    Last cycle: Day 1: (T) 100mg/m2 as 1 hour IV infusion followed by (H) 2 mg/kg IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 8: (H) 2 mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 15: (H) 2 mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 22: (H) 6 mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes.

  • DocetaxelDrug

    Also called taxotere

    Cycle 1: Day 1: Herceptin (H) 4 mg/kg loading dose admin by IV over 90 mins, Day 2: Docetaxel (T) 75 mg/m2 by IV over 1 hour followed by carboplatin (C) at target AUC=6 mg/mL/min admin by IV over 30-60 mins, Day 8: (H) 2mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins, Day 15: 2mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins.

    Subsequent cycles: Day 1: (T) 75mg/m2 as 1 hour IV followed by (C) at target AUC=6 mg/mL/min admin by IV 30-60 mins every 3 weeks followed by (H) 2 mg/kg IV over 30 mins, Day 8: (H) 2 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins, Day 15: (H) 2 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins.

    Last cycle: Day 1: (T) 75mg/m2 as 1 hour IV followed by (C) at target AUC=6 mg/mL/min admin by IV 30-60 mins every 3 weeks followed by (H) 2 mg/kg IV over 30 mins, Day 8: (H) 2 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins, Day 15: (H) 2 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins, Day 22: (H) 6 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins.

Study groups in NCT00047255
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Herceptin plus docetaxelExperimentalCycle 1: Day 1: Herceptin (H) 4 mg/kg loading dose administered by IV infusion over 90 minutes, Day 2: Docetaxel (T) 100 mg/m2 by IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 8: (H) 2mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 15: 2mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes. Subsequent cycles: Day 1: (T) 100mg/m2 as 1 hour IV infusion given every 3 weeks, followed by (H) 2 mg/kg IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 8: (H) 2 mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 15: (H) 2 mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes. Last cycle: Day 1: (T) 100mg/m2 as 1 hour IV infusion followed by (H) 2 mg/kg IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 8: (H) 2 mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 15: (H) 2 mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes, Day 22: (H) 6 mg/kg administered by IV infusion over 30 minutes.
Receives: Drug: docetaxel; Biological: trastuxumab
Docetaxel, Carboplatin, and HerceptinExperimentalCycle 1: Day 1: Herceptin (H) 4 mg/kg loading dose admin by IV over 90 mins, Day 2: Docetaxel (T) 75 mg/m2 by IV over 1 hour followed by carboplatin (C) at target AUC=6 mg/mL/min admin by IV over 30-60 mins, Day 8: (H) 2mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins, Day 15: 2mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins. Subsequent cycles: Day 1: (T) 75mg/m2 as 1 hour IV followed by (C) at target AUC=6 mg/mL/min admin by IV 30-60 mins every 3 weeks followed by (H) 2 mg/kg IV over 30 mins, Day 8: (H) 2 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins, Day 15: (H) 2 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins. Last cycle: Day 1: (T) 75mg/m2 as 1 hour IV followed by (C) at target AUC=6 mg/mL/min admin by IV 30-60 mins every 3 weeks followed by (H) 2 mg/kg IV over 30 mins, Day 8: (H) 2 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins, Day 15: (H) 2 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins, Day 22: (H) 6 mg/kg admin by IV over 30 mins.
Receives: Biological: trastuzumab; Drug: carboplatin; Drug: Docetaxel

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Evaluate time to disease progression after treatment with either Herceptin in with single-agent docetaxel (TH) or Herceptin with Carboplatin and TH in metastatic breast cancer pts previously untreated with chemo whose cancer contains the HER2 gene amp.

    Measured: till disease progression

Secondary outcomes (6)
  1. To compare response rate, duration of overall response, overall survival.

    Measured: undefined

  2. To evaluate and compare the rate of clinical benefit, defined as CR, PR, or stable disease > 24 weeks.

    Measured: undefined

  3. To compare toxicity between the 2 arms.

    Measured: 2 years

  4. To evaluate pathologic and molecular markers for predicting efficacy.

    Measured: 2 years

  5. Correlate peripheral levels of shed HER2 extracellular domain (ECD) with FISH results and to determine whether peripheral levels of shed HER2 ECD consitute a prognostic and/or predicitive factor vis-a-vis time to progression and survival.

    Measured: undefined

  6. To evaluate genetic and biochemical markers for predicting risk of developing cardiac dysfunction and later cardiac events in this patient population.

    Measured: 2 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2002
  3. Primary completionJan 2006
  4. Study completionApr 2010

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
263 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00047255
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000257580
Other IDs
UCLA-0109024, BCIRG-007
Status last verified
Feb 2016
First submitted
3 Oct 2002
Last updated
3 Aug 2020
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Press MF, Sauter G, Bernstein L, Villalobos IE, Mirlacher M, Zhou JY, Wardeh R, Li YT, Guzman R, Ma Y, Sullivan-Halley J, Santiago A, Park JM, Riva A, Slamon DJ. Diagnostic evaluation of HER-2 as a molecular target: an assessment of accuracy and reproducibility of laboratory testing in large, prospective, randomized clinical trials. Clin Cancer Res. 2005 Sep 15;11(18):6598-607. doi: 10.1158/1078-0432.CCR-05-0636.

    PubMed 16166438
  • Pegram M, Forbes J, Pienkowski T, et al.: BCIRG 007: first overall survival analysis of randomized phase III trial of trastuzumab plus docetaxel with or without carboplatin as first line therapy in HER2 amplified metastatic breast cancer (MBC). [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 25 (Suppl 18): A-LBA1008, 2007.

  • Valero V, Roche H, Pienkowski T, et al.: BCIRG 007: serum HER2 levels in women with metastatic HER2-amplified breast cancer. [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 25 (18 Suppl 20): A-1020, 2007.

  • Forbes JF, Kennedy J, Pienkowski T, et al.: BCIRG 007: randomized phase III trial of trastuzumab plus docetaxel with or without carboplatin first line in HER2 positive metastatic breast cancer (MBC): main time to progression (TTP) analysis. [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 24 (Suppl 18): A-LBA516, 7s, 2006.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing trastuzumab, carboplatin and docetaxel in people with Breast Cancer, run by Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 3 Aug 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Evaluate time to disease progression after treatment with either Herceptin in with single-agent docetaxel (TH) or Herceptin with Carboplatin and TH in metastatic breast cancer pts previously untreated with chemo whose cancer contains the HER2 gene amp. (time frame: till disease progression). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00047255, which also lists 4 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 3 Aug 2020.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in