AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 2NCT00049439

Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With AIDS-Related Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma

A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, cyclophosphamide and etoposide in people with Lymphoma, run by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center at 4 sites in 3 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more cancer cells. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining lomustine, etoposide, cyclophosphamide, and procarbazine in treating patients… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 16 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
filgrastim, cyclophosphamide and etoposide
How many people
54 participants
Where
4 sitesin 3 countries
Study dates
Mar 1998to Feb 2008
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 16 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of acquired immune deficiency syndrome
  • Histologically confirmed stage I, II, III, or IV intermediate- or high-grade non-Hodgkin's lymphoma
  • B-cell, T-cell, or indeterminate immunologic phenotype
  • Measurable or evaluable disease
  • No clinical, radiographic, or cytological evidence of CNS parenchymal, vitreal, or leptomeningeal involvement by lymphoma NOTE: A new classification scheme for adult non-Hodgkin's lymphoma has been adopted by PDQ. The terminology of "indolent" or "aggressive" lymphoma will replace the former terminology of "low", "intermediate", or "high" grade lymphoma. However, this protocol uses the former terminology.

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over (in the United States)
  • 16 and over (in Africa)

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-3

Life expectancy

  • At least 6 weeks

Hematopoietic

  • WBC at least 1,500/mm3
  • Platelet count at least 50,000/mm3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin no greater than 3.0 mg/dL

Renal

  • Creatinine no greater than 3.0 mg/dL

Other

  • Concurrent active infection for which patient is receiving treatment allowed provided clinical status is stable
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective barrier contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No prior chemotherapy for lymphoma

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • Prior radiotherapy for stage I or II disease allowed provided there is documentation of disease progression

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • Concurrent antiretroviral therapy (except zidovudine) allowed

Trial locations and contacts

4 sites in 3 countries.

4 sites in 3 countries

United States2 sites
  • Ireland Cancer Center at University Hospitals Case Medical Center, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44106-5065

  • Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center at Columbia University

    New York, New York, 10032

Other trials in United States

Kenya1 site
  • University of Nairobi College of Health Sciences

    Nairobi

Other trials in Kenya

Uganda1 site
  • Uganda Cancer Institute

    Kampala

Other trials in Uganda

About this study

Official title: Dose-Modified Oral Combination Chemotherapy In Patients With Aids-Related Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma In The United States And Africa

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more cancer cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining lomustine, etoposide, cyclophosphamide, and procarbazine in treating patients who have AIDS-related non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the objective response rate, response duration, and survival of patients with AIDS-related non-Hodgkin's lymphoma treated with lomustine, etoposide, cyclophosphamide, and procarbazine.
  • Determine the feasibility of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the clinical toxicity of this regimen in these patients.
  • Assess the quality of life of patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the impact of this regimen on the underlying HIV infection in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

Patients receive oral lomustine on day 1 (course 1 only), oral etoposide on days 1-3, and oral cyclophosphamide and oral procarbazine on days 22-26. Patients may also receive filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously on days 5-21 and 28-42. Treatment repeats every 6 weeks for 2 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Quality of life is assessed at baseline, on days 1 and 22 of each course, at day 84, and then every 3 months for 1 year.

Patients are followed at day 84 and then every 3 months.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 66 patients (22 in the United States and 44 in Africa) will be accrued for this study within 3-4 years.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Being tested
filgrastim, cyclophosphamide, etoposide, lomustine, procarbazine hydrochloride
Keywords
AIDS-related diffuse large cell lymphoma, AIDS-related diffuse mixed cell lymphoma, AIDS-related diffuse small cleaved cell lymphoma, AIDS-related immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, AIDS-related lymphoblastic lymphoma, AIDS-related small noncleaved cell lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • filgrastimBiological

    filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously on days 5-21 and 28-42. Treatment repeats every 6 weeks for 2 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

  • cyclophosphamideDrug

    Oral cyclophosphamide on days 22-26. Treatment repeats every 6 weeks for 2 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

  • etoposideDrug

    Oral etoposide on days 1-3. Treatment repeats every 6 weeks for 2 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

  • lomustineDrug

    Oral lomustine on day 1 (course 1 only). Treatment repeats every 6 weeks for 2 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

  • procarbazine hydrochlorideDrug

    Oral procarbazine on days 22-26. Treatment repeats every 6 weeks for 2 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Disease response

    Measured: Treatment repeats every 6 weeks for 2 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Quality of life as assessed by the Functional Living Index-Cancer and the Brief Symptom Inventory

    Measured: days 1 and 2 of courses 1 and 2 and on day 84

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startMar 1998
  3. Primary completionOct 2005
  4. Study completionFeb 2008

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
54 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00049439
Sponsor's protocol ID
CWRU2498
Other IDs
P30CA043703, CWRU-029828J, CWRU-2498, NCI-G02-2126, CASE-2498
Status last verified
Jun 2010
First submitted
12 Nov 2002
Last updated
11 Jun 2010
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, cyclophosphamide and etoposide in people with Lymphoma, run by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center at 4 sites in 3 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 11 Jun 2010. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 4 sites in United States, Kenya, Uganda. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Disease response (time frame: Treatment repeats every 6 weeks for 2 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 11 Jun 2010.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in