AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 2NCT00053092

Combination Chemotherapy With or Without Rituximab in Treating Patients With Mantle Cell Lymphoma

A Phase 2 study testing rituximab, cyclophosphamide and fludarabine phosphate in people with Lymphoma, run by Institute of Cancer Research, United Kingdom at 2 sites in 2 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Monoclonal antibodies such as rituximab can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
rituximab, cyclophosphamide and fludarabine phosphate
How many people
82 participants
Where
2 sitesin 2 countries
Study dates
Oct 2002to Feb 2009
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed previously untreated mantle cell lymphoma requiring therapy
  • Any stage

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • Not specified

Life expectancy

  • At least 3 months

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin no greater than 2.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)^*
  • Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 2.5 times ULN^*
  • Hepatitis B and hepatitis C negative NOTE: *Unless related to lymphoma

Renal

  • Creatinine no greater than 2.5 times ULN^* NOTE: *Unless related to lymphoma

Other

  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except non-melanoma skin cancer or curatively resected carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No prior psychological illness or condition that would preclude study compliance
  • No known hypersensitivity to murine proteins
  • No concurrent uncontrolled medical conditions
  • No other illness that would severely limit life expectancy
  • HIV negative
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 6 months after study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

2 sites in 2 countries.

2 sites in 2 countries

Australia1 site
  • Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

    East Melbourne, Victoria, 3002

Other trials in Australia

United Kingdom1 site
  • Derriford Hospital

    Plymouth, England, PL6 8DH

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: National Mantle Cell Lymphoma Trial - Phase II Randomized Study of Fludarabine/Cyclophosphamide Combination With or Without Rituximab in Patients With Untreated Mantle Cell Lymphoma

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Monoclonal antibodies such as rituximab can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. It is not yet known if combination chemotherapy is more effective with or without rituximab in treating mantle cell lymphoma.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase II trial to compare the effectiveness of fludarabine and cyclophosphamide combined with rituximab to that of fludarabine and cyclophosphamide alone in treating patients who have mantle cell lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare the response rates in patients with previously untreated mantle cell lymphoma treated with fludarabine and cyclophosphamide with or without rituximab.
  • Compare the time to disease progression in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the toxicity of these regimens, in terms of adverse event profile, in these patients.
  • Compare the overall survival of patients treated with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, open-label, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms:

  • Arm I: Patients receive fludarabine IV* and cyclophosphamide IV* on days 1-3.
  • Arm II: Patients receive rituximab IV on day 1 and fludarabine IV* and cyclophosphamide IV* on days 2-4.

NOTE: *In both arms, fludarabine and cyclophosphamide may be administered orally instead of IV.

Treatment repeats every 28 days for 2-8 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 56-82 patients (28-41 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Keywords
contiguous stage II mantle cell lymphoma, noncontiguous stage II mantle cell lymphoma, stage I mantle cell lymphoma, stage III mantle cell lymphoma, stage IV mantle cell lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Lymphoma, Mantle-Cell

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Response rate

  2. Time to disease progression

  3. Toxicity

  4. Overall survival

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted28 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startOct 2002
  3. Study completionFeb 2009

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
82 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00053092
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000269136
Other IDs
NCRI-LY05, ALLG-LY05, EU-20230, NCRILG-LY05
Status last verified
Jun 2007
First submitted
27 Jan 2003
Last updated
18 Dec 2013
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Eve HE, Linch D, Qian W, Ross M, Seymour JF, Smith P, Stevens L, Rule SA. Toxicity of fludarabine and cyclophosphamide with or without rituximab as initial therapy for patients with previously untreated mantle cell lymphoma: results of a randomised phase II study. Leuk Lymphoma. 2009 Feb;50(2):211-5. doi: 10.1080/10428190802688509.

    PubMed 19197729

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing rituximab, cyclophosphamide and fludarabine phosphate in people with Lymphoma, run by Institute of Cancer Research, United Kingdom at 2 sites in 2 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 18 Dec 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 2 sites in Australia, United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Response rate. The study lists 4 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00053092, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 18 Dec 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in