AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 3NCT00053911

Combination Chemotherapy Compared With Observation After Surgery in Treating Women With Relapsed Nonmetastatic Breast Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing anastrozole, cyclophosphamide and docetaxel in people with Breast Cancer, run by UNICANCER at 26 sites in France.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug, and giving them after surgery, may kill any remaining tumor cells following surgery. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 65 years, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
anastrozole, cyclophosphamide and docetaxel
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
Not given
Where
26 sitesFrance
Study dates
Nov 2002to Apr 2004
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 65 years
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the breast
  • No contralateral breast cancer
  • Local tumor recurrence more than 6 months after conservative surgery
  • Complete or conservative resection of the recurrent tumor NOTE: Initial complete surgical resection not allowed
  • No local inflammatory disease or disease that is not amenable to complete surgical resection
  • No positive axillary lymph nodes
  • No distant metastases, including subclavicular lymph nodes
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Hormone receptor status known

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 to 65

Sex

  • Female

Menopausal status

  • Menopausal status known

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-1

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Neutrophil count at least 2,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin no greater than upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Transaminases no greater than 1.5 times ULN
  • Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 2.5 times ULN
  • No chronic hepatitis B
  • No active hepatitis C

Renal

  • Not specified

Cardiovascular

  • Cardiac function normal by echocardiogram or isotopes

Other

  • No contraindications to anthracyclines such as any of the following:
  • Prior doxorubicin over 300 mg/m^2
  • Prior epirubicin over 600 mg/m^2
  • Prior mitoxantrone over 90 mg/m^2
  • No other invasive malignancy
  • No chronic somatic or psychiatric condition that would preclude study participation
  • No familial, social, geographic, or psychological reason that would preclude study participation
  • Not pregnant
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • HIV negative
  • CA 153 no greater than 2 times ULN

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • See Patient Characteristics-Other
  • No prior neoadjuvant chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • No prior neoadjuvant hormonal therapy

Radiotherapy

  • No prior neoadjuvant radiotherapy

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 41 days since prior surgery

Trial locations and contacts

26 sites in 1 country.

26 sites in 1 country

France26 sites
  • Clinique Claude Bernard

    Albi, 81000

  • Centre Paul Papin

    Angers, 49036

  • Centre Hospitalier d'Annecy

    Annecy, 74011 Cedex

  • Institut Sainte Catherine

    Avignon, 84082

  • Institut Bergonie

    Bordeaux, 33076

  • C.H. Bourg En Bresse

    Bourg-en-Bresse, 01012

  • CHU Hopital A. Morvan

    Brest, 29609

  • Centre Hospitalier General

    Brivé, 19101

  • Centre Regional Francois Baclesse

    Caen, 14076

  • Centre Jean Perrin

    Clermont-Ferrand, 63011

  • Centre Hospitalier Compiegne

    Compiègne, 60321

  • Clinique du Petit Colmouilins

    Harfleur, 76700

  • Centre Oscar Lambret

    Lille, 59020

  • Institut J. Paoli and I. Calmettes

    Marseille, 13273

  • Hopital Notre-Dame de Bon Secours

    Metz, 57038

  • C.H. General Andre Boulloche

    Montbéliard, 25209

  • Centre Regional de Lutte Contre le Cancer - Centre Val d'Aurelle

    Montpellier, 34298

  • Centre Hospitalier de Mulhouse

    Mulhouse, 68051

  • Centre Regional Rene Gauducheau

    Nantes-Saint Herblain, 44805

  • Clinique Saint - Pierre

    Perpignan

  • Centre Eugene Marquis

    Rennes, 35042

  • Clinique Armoricaine De Radiologie

    Saint Brieux, F-22015

  • Polyclinique de L'Ormeau

    Tarbes, 65000

  • Institut Claudius Regaud

    Toulouse, 31052

  • Hopital J. Ducuing

    Toulouse

  • Institut Gustave Roussy

    Villejuif, F-94805

Other trials in France

About this study

Official title: Randomized And Multicentric Phase III Study Evaluating The Benefit By Using A Chemotherapy With FEC 100 And Docetaxel In Non Metastatic Breast Cancer Which Has Relapsed After A Conservative Surgery

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug, and giving them after surgery, may kill any remaining tumor cells following surgery. It is not yet known whether combination chemotherapy is more effective than observation in treating relapsed nonmetastatic breast cancer.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy with that of observation in treating women who have undergone surgery for relapsed nonmetastatic breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare the efficacy of adjuvant cyclophosphamide, epirubicin, and fluorouracil vs observation, in terms of disease-free 5-year survival, in women who have undergone resection for relapsed nonmetastatic breast cancer after initial conservative surgery.
  • Compare the overall survival of women treated with these regimens.
  • Determine the tolerance of these women to the chemotherapy regimen.
  • Correlate prognostic factors of survival with efficacy of the chemotherapy regimen in these women.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to menopausal status and participating center. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms. Study begins within 42 days after resection of recurrent disease.

  • Arm I: Patients receive fluorouracil IV over 1 hour, epirubicin IV over 1 hour, and cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on day 1. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for 3 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients then receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour on day 1. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for 3 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
  • Arm II: Patients are examined on days 1 and 63.

Patients who are hormone receptor positive also receive one of the following hormonal therapy regimens, depending on menopausal status:

  • Oral tamoxifen daily for 5 years
  • Oral tamoxifen daily for 5 years and oral luteinizing hormone-releasing hormone (LHRH) agonist therapy (e.g., goserelin) for 3 years
  • Oral LHRH agonist therapy (e.g., goserelin) for 3 years
  • Oral antiaromatase therapy (e.g., anastrozole) for 5 years Patients also undergo radiotherapy and may also undergo second complete resection.

Patients are followed every 6 months for 5 years and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 370 patients (185 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 3 years.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
anastrozole, cyclophosphamide, docetaxel, epirubicin hydrochloride, fluorouracil
Keywords
recurrent breast cancer, stage I breast cancer, stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Evaluation of the disease free survival

    Measured: 5 years

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Evaluation of the overall survival

    Measured: 5 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted6 Feb 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2002
  3. Primary completionApr 2004

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00053911
Sponsor's protocol ID
PACS03
Other IDs
FRE-FNCLCC-PACS-03/003, EU-20237
Status last verified
Dec 2014
First submitted
5 Feb 2003
Last updated
16 Dec 2014
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing anastrozole, cyclophosphamide and docetaxel in people with Breast Cancer, run by UNICANCER at 26 sites in France.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 16 Dec 2014. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 26 sites in France. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early. Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Evaluation of the disease free survival (time frame: 5 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 16 Dec 2014.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in