Fallopian Tube CancerPhase 1NCT00055614
Topotecan in Treating Patients With Advanced Ovarian Epithelial, Fallopian Tube, or Primary Peritoneal Cancer
A Phase 1 study testing topotecan hydrochloride and adjuvant therapy in people with Fallopian Tube Cancer and Ovarian Cancer, run by Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center at 1 site in United States.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of topotecan in treating patients who have advanced ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal cancer. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older, women only
- Conditions the study is for
- Fallopian Tube Cancer, Ovarian Cancer, Primary Peritoneal Cavity Cancer
- What is being tested?
- topotecan hydrochloride and adjuvant therapy
- Type of treatment
- Surgery or procedure
- How many people
- 20 participants
- Where
- 1 siteUnited States
- Study dates
- May 2002to Oct 2007
- Phase
- Phase 1
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- Women only
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal serous cancer
- Stage IIIB, IIIC, or IV
- Surgically staged and debulked
- Complete clinical response after first-line platinum-based chemotherapy (cisplatin or carboplatin) defined by all of the following criteria:
- No evidence of cancer by history or physical examination
- CA 125 no greater than 35 units/mL
- No evidence of residual cancer on CT scan of the abdomen/pelvis and chest x-ray
- Must have received at least 5 courses of first-line chemotherapy
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age
- 18 and over
Performance status
- ECOG 0-2
Life expectancy
- Not specified
Hematopoietic
- Granulocyte count at least 1,200/mm^3
- Platelet count at least 90,000/mm^3
Hepatic
- Bilirubin normal
- ALT and AST less than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
- Alkaline phosphatase less than 1.5 ULN
Renal
- Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy
- No concurrent immunotherapy
Chemotherapy
- See Disease Characteristics
- At least 3 weeks since prior first-line chemotherapy
- At least 3 years since other prior chemotherapy (other than first-line chemotherapy for ovarian, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal cancer)
- No other concurrent chemotherapy
Endocrine therapy
- No concurrent hormonal therapy
Radiotherapy
- No prior abdominopelvic radiotherapy
- No concurrent radiotherapy
Surgery
- See Disease Characteristics
- No concurrent surgery
Other
- No other concurrent antitumor therapy
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
United States1 site
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Boston, Massachusetts, 02215
About this study
Official title: Phase I Study of Oral Topotecan as Consolidation for Patients With Mullerian Origin Tumors (Ovary, Tube, Peritoneum)
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die.
PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of topotecan in treating patients who have advanced ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal cancer.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine the maximum tolerated dose and duration of prolonged topotecan as maintenance in patients with advanced ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal cancer with complete clinical response after platinum-based chemotherapy.
- Determine the safety of this regimen in these patients.
OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study.
Patients receive oral topotecan twice daily for 21 days. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 6 months in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or disease progression.
Patients who tolerate course 1 may receive an escalated dose of topotecan for subsequent courses. The maximum tolerated dose is defined as the dose tolerated by the majority of the patients.
Patients are followed every 2 months for at least 6 months.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 20 patients will be accrued for this study.
- Being tested
- topotecan hydrochloride, adjuvant therapy
- Keywords
- stage III ovarian epithelial cancer, stage IV ovarian epithelial cancer, fallopian tube cancer, primary peritoneal cavity cancer
- Medical subject headings
- Fallopian Tube Neoplasms, Ovarian Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Ovarian Epithelial
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
topotecan hydrochlorideDrug
adjuvant therapyProcedure or surgery
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted7 Mar 2003 (estimated)
- Study startMay 2002
- Study completionOct 2007
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Fallopian Tube CancerStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Beth Israel Deaconess Medical CenterThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 1
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Enrolment
- 20 participants (estimated)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Investigators
- Stephen A. Cannistra, MD, Study chair, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00055614
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- BIDMC-E-010405FB
- Other IDs
- CDR0000269138, NEDH-E-010405FB
- Status last verified
- Apr 2007
- First submitted
- 6 Mar 2003
- Last updated
- 26 Jun 2013
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 26 Jun 2013. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Phase I Study of Oral Topotecan as Consolidation for Patients With Mullerian Origin Tumors (Ovary, Tube, Peritoneum)
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00055614
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- BIDMC-E-010405FB
- Keywords
- stage III ovarian epithelial cancer, stage IV ovarian epithelial cancer, fallopian tube cancer, primary peritoneal cavity cancer
- Phase
- Phase 1
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 20 participants (estimated)
- Lead sponsor
- Beth Israel Deaconess Medical CenterUniversity, hospital or other
- Study start
- May 2002
- Study completion
- Oct 2007 (actual)
- First posted
- 7 Mar 2003 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die.
PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of topotecan in treating patients who have advanced ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal cancer.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine the maximum tolerated dose and duration of prolonged topotecan as maintenance in patients with advanced ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal cancer with complete clinical response after platinum-based chemotherapy.
- Determine the safety of this regimen in these patients.
OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study.
Patients receive oral topotecan twice daily for 21 days. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 6 months in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or disease progression.
Patients who tolerate course 1 may receive an escalated dose of topotecan for subsequent courses. The maximum tolerated dose is defined as the dose tolerated by the majority of the patients.
Patients are followed every 2 months for at least 6 months.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 20 patients will be accrued for this study.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- Female only
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| topotecan hydrochloride | Drug | – |
| adjuvant therapy | Procedure or surgery | – |
Primary outcome
Not reported in the source record.
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 26 Jun 2013.
Related trials for Fallopian Tube Cancer
RecruitingPhase 2
Investigation of Ubamatamab Combination Therapy in Adult Participants With Platinum-Resistant Ovarian Cancer
Ovarian Cancer, Fallopian Tube Cancer
RecruitingPhase 3
Torvutatug Samrotecan Plus Bevacizumab as First-line Maintenance in Non-Homologous Recombination Deficiency (Non-HRD) Positive Advanced Epithelial Ovarian Cancer
Epithelial Ovarian Cancer
RecruitingPhase 2
At-Home Cancer Directed Therapy Versus in Clinic for the Treatment of Patients With Advanced Cancer
Advanced Anal Carcinoma, Advanced Biliary Tract Carcinoma
RecruitingObservational study
Clonal Hematopoiesis and Therapy-Emergent Myeloid Neoplasms in Patients With Cancers, CHANCES Study
Recurrent Fallopian Tube Carcinoma, Recurrent Ovarian Carcinoma
RecruitingPhase 2
Sacituzumab Govitecan With Bevacizumab Compared to Usual Chemotherapy (Carboplatin, Pegylated Liposomal Doxorubicin and Bevacizumab) for Treating Recurrent Platinum-Sensitive Ovarian Cancer After PARP Inhibitor Maintenance Therapy
Recurrent Platinum-Sensitive Fallopian Tube Endometrioid Adenocarcinoma, Recurrent Platinum-Sensitive Fallopian Tube High Grade Serous Adenocarcinoma
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Stephen A. Cannistra, MD study chair
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 1 study testing topotecan hydrochloride and adjuvant therapy in people with Fallopian Tube Cancer and Ovarian Cancer, run by Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center at 1 site in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 26 Jun 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 26 Jun 2013.