AzTrials
AzTrials

Esophageal CancerPhase 1/2NCT00060268

Photodynamic Therapy Using HPPH in Treating Patients With Obstructive Esophageal Tumors

A Phase 1/2 study testing HPPH in people with Esophageal Cancer, run by Roswell Park Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Photodynamic therapy uses light and drugs that make tumor cells more sensitive to light to kill tumor cells. Photosensitizing drugs such as HPPH are absorbed by tumor cells and, when exposed to light, become active and kill the tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Esophageal Cancer
What is being tested?
HPPH
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
How many people
11 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Jan 1997to Jun 2004
Phase
Phase 1/2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed esophageal cancer
  • Stages T1-T3, any N, any M
  • Tumor partially or completely obstructing the esophagus
  • Primary or recurrent tumor meeting 1 of the following criteria for treatment:
  • Patient is too debilitated for or refused conventional therapy
  • Recurred after or failed to respond to chemotherapy, radiotherapy, or surgery
  • Deemed most appropriately treated by photodynamic therapy (PDT) in the opinion of the physician
  • Persistent symptomatic disease required in patients who received prior radiotherapy, chemotherapy, or PDT with photofrin or HPPH
  • Prior PDT with HPPH allowed only if tumor is evident outside of the original treatment site
  • No tracheal or bronchial involvement by bronchoscopy
  • No T4 lesions involving the aorta, lung, or pericardium by CT scan, MRI, or endoscopic ultrasonography

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • Not specified

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • WBC at least 2,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 50,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin no greater than 3.0 mg/dL
  • Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 3 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • SGOT no greater than 3 times ULN
  • PT no greater than 1.5 times ULN

Renal

  • Creatinine no greater than 3.0 mg/dL

Other

  • Not pregnant
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No contraindications to endoscopy
  • No porphyria
  • No hypersensitivity to porphyrins

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • More than 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy
  • No concurrent chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • More than 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy
  • No concurrent radiotherapy

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • No concurrent photosensitizing agents (e.g., tetracyclines, sulfonamides, phenothiazines, sulfonylureas, hypoglycemic agents, thiazide diuretics, and griseofulvin)

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Roswell Park Cancer Institute

    Buffalo, New York, 14263-0001

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase I/II Trial for Treatment of Obstructive Esophageal Tumors by Photodynamic Therapy (PDT) Using 2-(1-Hydroxyethyl)-2-Devinylpyropheophorbide-a (HPPH)

RATIONALE: Photodynamic therapy uses light and drugs that make tumor cells more sensitive to light to kill tumor cells. Photosensitizing drugs such as HPPH are absorbed by tumor cells and, when exposed to light, become active and kill the tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase I/II trial to study the effectiveness of photodynamic therapy with HPPH in treating patients who have obstructive esophageal tumors.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine, preliminarily, the safety of HPPH in patients with obstructive esophageal tumors undergoing photodynamic therapy.
  • Determine, preliminarily, tumor response in patients treated with this drug.
  • Determine the length of time for cutaneous photosensitivity at the various drug doses in these patients.
  • Determine plasma clearance rates for this drug in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study.

  • Phase I: Patients receive HPPH IV over 1 hour on day 1. Patients then undergo laser light therapy on day 2.

Cohorts of 3 patients receive escalating doses of HPPH and a single light dose until the optimal dose is determined. The optimal dose is defined as the minimum dose producing efficacy without unacceptable toxicity.

  • Phase II: Patients receive treatment as in phase I at the optimal dose. Patients are followed monthly for 6-24 months.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 9-14 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
HPPH
Keywords
recurrent esophageal cancer, stage I esophageal cancer, stage II esophageal cancer, stage III esophageal cancer, stage IV esophageal cancer
Medical subject headings
Esophageal Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • HPPHDrug

    iv

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 May 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJan 1997
  3. Primary completionSep 2003
  4. Study completionJun 2004

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1/2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Enrolment
11 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00060268
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000301589
Other IDs
RPCI-DS-9701
Status last verified
Mar 2011
First submitted
6 May 2003
Last updated
9 Mar 2011
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1/2 study testing HPPH in people with Esophageal Cancer, run by Roswell Park Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 9 Mar 2011. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this combined phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 9 Mar 2011.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in