AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 3IDEC-C2B8NCT00064116

Combination Chemotherapy With or Without Rituximab in Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma

A Phase 3 study testing rituximab and CHOP regimen in people with Lymphoma, run by NCIC Clinical Trials Group at 25 sites in Canada.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Monoclonal antibodies such as rituximab can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 60 years
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
rituximab and CHOP regimen
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
824 participants
Where
25 sitesCanada
Study dates
8 May 2001to 16 Jan 2014
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 60 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed diffuse large B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma according to REAL classification
  • Diagnosed within the past 6 weeks
  • CD20+ disease
  • Ann Arbor stage II, III, or IV disease or stage I bulky disease
  • International Prognostic Index (IPI) score of 0 or 1
  • Score 0 defined by all of the following:
  • Stage I or II disease
  • ECOG performance status of 0 or 1
  • Lactic dehydrogenase (LDH) no greater than upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Score 1 defined by 1 of the following:
  • Stage I or II disease; ECOG performance status of 0 or 1; and LDH greater than ULN
  • Stage I or II disease; ECOG performance status 2 or 3; and LDH no greater than ULN
  • Stage III or IV disease; ECOG performance status 0 or 1; and LDH no greater than ULN
  • Previously untreated disease
  • Mediastinal B-cell lymphoma allowed
  • No secondary lymphoma after prior chemotherapy or radiotherapy for other malignancies
  • No transformed lymphoma
  • No primary CNS lymphoma
  • No primary gastrointestinal (MALT) lymphoma
  • No post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorder

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 to 60

Performance status

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • ECOG 0-3

Life expectancy

  • At least 3 months

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin no greater than 2.0 mg/dL*
  • Transaminases no greater than 3 times normal*
  • No active chronic hepatitis B or C infection NOTE: *Unless related to lymphoma

Renal

  • Creatinine no greater than 2 times normal* NOTE: *Unless related to lymphoma

Cardiovascular

  • No myocardial infarction within the past 6 months
  • No uncompensated heart failure
  • No dilatative cardiomyopathy
  • No coronary heart disease with ST segment depression on ECG
  • No severe uncompensated hypertension

Pulmonary

  • No chronic lung disease with hypoxemia

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • HIV negative
  • No known allergic reactions against foreign proteins
  • No other prior malignancy except basal cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No concurrent disease that would preclude study treatment
  • No active infections requiring systemic antibiotics or antiviral medications
  • No severe uncompensated diabetes mellitus
  • No clinical signs of cerebral dysfunction
  • No severe psychiatric disease

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • No prior murine antibodies

Chemotherapy

  • No other concurrent anticancer chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • No concurrent response-adapted (slow response or unconfirmed complete response) radiotherapy

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • No prior lymphoma-specific treatment
  • More than 12 weeks since prior participation in another clinical trial
  • No prior participation in this study
  • No other concurrent study medication

Trial locations and contacts

25 sites in 1 country.

25 sites in 1 country

Canada25 sites
  • Tom Baker Cancer Centre

    Calgary, Alberta, T2N 4N2

  • PEI Cancer Treatment Centre,Queen Elizabeth Hospital

    Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, C1A 8T5

  • Cross Cancer Institute

    Edmonton, Alberta, T6G 1Z2

  • Hopital Charles LeMoyne

    Greenfield Park, Quebec, J4V 2H1

  • QEII Health Sciences Center

    Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3H 1V7

  • Cancer Centre of Southeastern Ontario at Kingston

    Kingston, Ontario, K7L 5P9

  • Grand River Regional Cancer Centre

    Kitchener, Ontario, N2G 1G3

  • London Regional Cancer Program

    London, Ontario, N6A 4L6

  • The Moncton Hospital

    Moncton, New Brunswick, E1C 6Z8

  • Hopital Maisonneuve-Rosemont

    Montreal, Quebec, H1T 2M4

  • CHUM - Hopital Notre-Dame

    Montreal, Quebec, H2L 4M1

  • McGill University - Dept. Oncology

    Montreal, Quebec, H2W 1S6

  • Hopital du Sacre-Coeur de Montreal

    Montreal, Quebec, H4J 1C5

  • Ottawa Health Research Institute - General Division

    Ottawa, Ontario, K1H 8L6

  • CHA-Hopital Du St-Sacrement

    Québec, Quebec, G1S 4L8

  • Allan Blair Cancer Centre

    Regina, Saskatchewan, S4T 7T1

  • Saskatoon Cancer Centre

    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, S7N 4H4

  • Centre hospitalier universitaire de Sherbrooke

    Sherbrooke, Quebec, J1H 5N4

  • Niagara Health System

    St. Catharines, Ontario, L2R 7C6

  • Dr. H. Bliss Murphy Cancer Centre

    St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, AIB 3V6

  • Odette Cancer Centre

    Toronto, Ontario, M4N 3M5

  • Univ. Health Network-The Toronto General Hospital

    Toronto, Ontario, M5G 2C4

  • Univ. Health Network-Princess Margaret Hospital

    Toronto, Ontario, M5G 2M9

  • Trillium Health Centre - West Toronto

    Toronto, Ontario, M9C 1A5

  • CancerCare Manitoba

    Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3E 0V9

Other trials in Canada

About this study

Official title: Randomized Intergroup Trial of First Line Treatment for Patients With Diffuse Large B-Cell Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma With a CHOP-Like Chemotherapy Regimen With or Without the Anti-CD20 Antibody Rituximab

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Monoclonal antibodies such as rituximab can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. It is not yet known whether combination chemotherapy is more effective with or without rituximab in treating patients with non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying four different combination chemotherapy regimens and rituximab to see how well they work compared to four different combination chemotherapy regimens alone in treating patients with non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare the time to treatment failure in patients with CD20-positive diffuse large B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma treated with CHOP (cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone)-like chemotherapy with vs without rituximab.
  • Compare the tumor control, progression rate, and complete remission rate in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the disease-free and overall survival rate of patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the toxicity of these regimens in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, open-label, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to participating center, bulky disease (no vs yes), International Prognostic Index score (0 vs 1), and chemotherapy (CHOP vs CHOEP vs PMitCEBO vs MACOP-B). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive 1 of the following chemotherapy regimens according to participating country:
  • CHOP: Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV, doxorubicin IV, and vincristine IV on day 1 and oral prednisone or prednisolone on days 1-5. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
  • CHOEP-21: Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV, doxorubicin IV, and vincristine IV on day 1; etoposide IV on days 1-3; and oral prednisone on days 1-5. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
  • PMitCEBO: Patients receive mitoxantrone IV, cyclophosphamide IV, and etoposide IV on day 1; vincristine IV and bleomycin IV on day 8; and oral prednisolone daily during weeks 1-4 and every other day during week 5. Treatment repeats every 14 days for 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
  • MACOP-B: Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV and doxorubicin IV on days 1, 15, 29, 43, 57, and 71; methotrexate IV and vincristine IV on days 8, 36, and 64; bleomycin IV and vincristine IV on days 22, 50, and 78; and oral or intramuscular prednisone on days 1-84. Treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
  • Arm II: Patients receive arm I regimens (according to participating country) and rituximab as follows:
  • CHOP and rituximab: Patients receive CHOP as in arm I and rituximab IV on day 1.
  • CHOEP-21 and rituximab: Patients receive CHOEP-21 as in arm I and rituximab IV on day 1.
  • PMitCEBO and rituximab: Patients receive PMitCEBO as in arm I and rituximab IV on day 1 during courses 1 and 4; on day 8 during courses 2 and 5; and on day 1 at 1 and 4 weeks after completion of the last course of PMitCEBO chemotherapy.
  • MACOP-B and rituximab: Patients receive MACOP-B as in arm I and rituximab IV on days 1, 22, 43, 64, 85, and 106.

Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 820 patients will be accrued for this study within approximately 2 years.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Being tested
rituximab, CHOP regimen
Keywords
stage I adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, contiguous stage II adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, noncontiguous stage II adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage IV adult diffuse large cell lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Lymphoma, Large B-Cell, Diffuse

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • rituximabBiological

    Rituximab 375 mg/m² i.v. day 1

  • CHOP regimenDrug

    Cyclophosphamide 750 mg/m² i.v. day 1 Doxorubicin 50 mg/m² i.v. day 1 Vincristine 2 mg (abs.) i.v. day 1 Prednisone 100 mg/d p.o. days 1 to 5 Recycle day 22 Total number of cycles: 6

Study groups in NCT00064116
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Arm A: CHOP-21Active comparatorCyclophosphamide 750 mg/m² i.v. day 1 Doxorubicin 50 mg/m² i.v. day 1 Vincristine 2 mg (abs.) i.v. day 1 Prednisone 100 mg/d p.o. days 1 to 5 Recycle: day 22 Total number of cycles 6
Receives: Drug: CHOP regimen
Arm B: CHOP-21 + RituximabActive comparatorRituximab 375 mg/m² i.v. day 1* Cyclophosphamide 750 mg/m² i.v. day 1 Doxorubicin 50 mg/m² i.v. day 1 Vincristine 2 mg (abs.) i.v. day 1 Prednisone 100 mg/d p.o. days 1 to 5 Recycle day 22 Total number of cycles: 6
Receives: Biological: rituximab; Drug: CHOP regimen

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Time to treatment failure (TTF) at 3 years

    Measured: 3 years

Secondary outcomes (7)
  1. Complete remission rate after completion of treatment

    Measured: 3 years

  2. Overall survival at 3 years

    Measured: 3 years

  3. Tumor control measured by TTF with non-tumor events censored at 3 years

    Measured: 3 years

  4. Disease-free survival (DFS) measured by TTF after an event during and directly after treatment at 3 years

    Measured: 3 years

  5. Progression rate determined by dividing the number of patients with disease progression by number of patients with evaluable outcome at 3 years

    Measured: 3 years

  6. Time to progression measured at 3 years

    Measured: 3 years

  7. Toxicity assessed by NCI CTC v2.0 after completion of treatment

    Measured: 3 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted9 Jul 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study start8 May 2001
  3. Primary completionDec 2010
  4. Study completion16 Jan 2014

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
824 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00064116
Sponsor's protocol ID
LY9
Other IDs
CAN-NCIC-LY9, ROCHE-CAN-NCIC-LY9, MINT-M39045, CDR0000309053
Acronym
IDEC-C2B8
Status last verified
Mar 2020
First submitted
8 Jul 2003
Last updated
1 Apr 2020
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No
Individual data sharing
No

Publications

  • Pfreundschuh M, Ho AD, Cavallin-Stahl E, Wolf M, Pettengell R, Vasova I, Belch A, Walewski J, Zinzani PL, Mingrone W, Kvaloy S, Shpilberg O, Jaeger U, Hansen M, Corrado C, Scheliga A, Loeffler M, Kuhnt E; MabThera International Trial (MInT) Group. Prognostic significance of maximum tumour (bulk) diameter in young patients with good-prognosis diffuse large-B-cell lymphoma treated with CHOP-like chemotherapy with or without rituximab: an exploratory analysis of the MabThera International Trial Group (MInT) study. Lancet Oncol. 2008 May;9(5):435-44. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(08)70078-0. Epub 2008 Apr 8.

    PubMed 18400558
  • Pfreundschuh M, Trumper L, Osterborg A, Pettengell R, Trneny M, Imrie K, Ma D, Gill D, Walewski J, Zinzani PL, Stahel R, Kvaloy S, Shpilberg O, Jaeger U, Hansen M, Lehtinen T, Lopez-Guillermo A, Corrado C, Scheliga A, Milpied N, Mendila M, Rashford M, Kuhnt E, Loeffler M; MabThera International Trial Group. CHOP-like chemotherapy plus rituximab versus CHOP-like chemotherapy alone in young patients with good-prognosis diffuse large-B-cell lymphoma: a randomised controlled trial by the MabThera International Trial (MInT) Group. Lancet Oncol. 2006 May;7(5):379-91. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(06)70664-7.

    PubMed 16648042

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing rituximab and CHOP regimen in people with Lymphoma, run by NCIC Clinical Trials Group at 25 sites in Canada.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 1 Apr 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 25 sites in Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Time to treatment failure (TTF) at 3 years (time frame: 3 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00064116, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 1 Apr 2020.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in