AzTrials
AzTrials

Bladder CancerPhase 2NCT00066612

S0306, Irinotecan in Treating Patients With Recurrent or Refractory Advanced Transitional Cell Cancer of the Urothelium Previously Treated With Chemotherapy

A Phase 2 study testing irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Bladder Cancer and Transitional Cell Cancer of the Renal Pelvis and Ureter, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy such as irinotecan use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of irinotecan in treating patients who have recurrent or refractory advanced transitional cell cancer of the urothelium. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
What is being tested?
irinotecan hydrochloride
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
45 participants
Where
No sites listed yet
Study dates
Jul 2003to May 2010
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed transitional cell carcinoma (TCC) of the urothelium, including the bladder, renal pelvis, ureter, and urethra
  • Stage T2-4, N0-3, M1 OR stage T2-4, N+, M0, unresectable disease
  • The following additional histologic subtypes are eligible:
  • Poorly differentiated TCC
  • Predominant TCC with rare foci of squamous differentiation
  • Predominant TCC with rare foci of adenocarcinoma
  • The following histologic subtypes are ineligible:
  • Adenocarcinoma
  • Small cell carcinoma
  • Sarcoma
  • Squamous cell carcinoma
  • Mixed adeno/squamous/transitional histology
  • Incurable by surgery or radiotherapy
  • Progressed or recurred after 1, and only 1, prior cisplatin- or carboplatin-containing systemic regimen for metastatic disease
  • Measurable disease
  • Soft tissue disease that has been irradiated within the past 2 months is not considered measurable disease
  • No uncontrolled central nervous system (CNS) metastases
  • CNS metastases that have responded to or stabilized after prior radiotherapy are allowed

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • Zubrod 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute granulocyte count at least 1,200/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin less than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Aspartate aminotransferase (SGOT) less than 3 times ULN (5 times ULN if liver metastases are present)

Renal

  • Creatinine less than 2 times ULN

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer, carcinoma in situ of the cervix, or adequately treated stage I or II cancer that is currently in complete remission

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 28 days since prior chemotherapy
  • No prior topoisomerase I inhibitors (e.g., irinotecan or topotecan)

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 28 days since prior radiotherapy to the pelvis

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • Recovered from prior therapy
  • Prior adjuvant therapy allowed
  • At least 14 days since prior Hypericum perforatum (St. John's Wort)
  • More than 7 days since prior phenytoin, phenobarbital, carbamazepine, or any other enzyme-inducing anticonvulsant drugs (EIACDs)
  • No St. John's Wort during and for 7 days after study participation
  • No concurrent EIACDs
  • No concurrent medications that cause myelosuppression
  • No concurrent medications that cause diarrhea
  • Concurrent gabapentin or other non-EIACDs are allowed

About this study

Official title: Phase II Study of Irinotecan in Patients With Advanced Transitional Cell Carcinoma of the Urothelium

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy such as irinotecan use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of irinotecan in treating patients who have recurrent or refractory advanced transitional cell cancer of the urothelium.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the probability of response (confirmed complete and partial response) to treatment with irinotecan in patients with recurrent or refractory advanced transitional cell carcinoma of the urothelium previously treated with platinum-based chemotherapy.
  • Determine the qualitative and quantitative toxic effects of this drug in these patients.
  • Determine the overall and progression-free survival of patients treated with this drug.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to prior pelvic radiotherapy (yes vs no).

Patients receive irinotecan IV over 90 minutes on day 1. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year and then every 6 months for 2 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 20-40 patients will be accrued for this study within 5-10 months.

Keywords
recurrent bladder cancer, stage IV bladder cancer, metastatic transitional cell cancer of the renal pelvis and ureter, recurrent transitional cell cancer of the renal pelvis and ureter, regional transitional cell cancer of the renal pelvis and ureter, transitional cell carcinoma of the bladder, anterior urethral cancer, posterior urethral cancer, recurrent urethral cancer, urethral cancer associated with invasive bladder cancer
Medical subject headings
Urinary Bladder Neoplasms, Urethral Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • irinotecan hydrochlorideDrug

    Irinotecan will be given 250 mg/m^2 through intravenous (IV) for 90 minutes on day 1 for every 21 days until tumor progression or unacceptable toxicity or other reason for discontinuation occurs

Study groups in NCT00066612
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
TreatmentExperimentalIrinotecan
Receives: Drug: irinotecan hydrochloride

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Probability of response (confirmed complete and partial response)

    Measured: From date of registration to date of progression or death from any cause, whichever came first, assessed up to 3 years

Secondary outcomes (3)
  1. Number and grade of adverse events

    Measured: From date of registration to date of progression or death from any cause, whichever came first, assessed up to 3 years

  2. Overall survival

    Measured: From date of registration to date of progression or death from any cause, whichever came first, assessed up to 3 years

  3. Progression-free survival

    Measured: From date of registration to date of progression or death from any cause, whichever came first, assessed up to 3 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 Aug 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJul 2003
  3. Primary completionAug 2007
  4. Study completionMay 2010

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
45 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00066612
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000316428
Other IDs
U10CA032102, S0306
Status last verified
Oct 2012
First submitted
6 Aug 2003
Last updated
2 Nov 2012
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Beer TM, Goldman B, Nichols CR, Petrylak DP, Agarwal M, Ryan CW, Crawford ED; Southwest Oncology Group. Southwest Oncology Group phase II study of irinotecan in patients with advanced transitional cell carcinoma of the urothelium that progressed after platinum-based chemotherapy. Clin Genitourin Cancer. 2008 Mar;6(1):36-9. doi: 10.3816/cgc.2008.n.006.

    PubMed 18501081

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Bladder Cancer and Transitional Cell Cancer of the Renal Pelvis and Ureter, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 2 Nov 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Probability of response (confirmed complete and partial response) (time frame: From date of registration to date of progression or death from any cause, whichever came first, assessed up to 3 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00066612, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 2 Nov 2012.

Free account

Keep searching with a free account

You’ve used your 3 free searches for this session. Log in or create a free AzTrials account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in