AzTrials
AzTrials

Colorectal CancerPhase 2NCT00066846

Bevacizumab Plus Fluorouracil and Leucovorin in Treating Patients With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Stage IV Colorectal Cancer That Has Progressed After Standard Chemotherapy

A Phase 2 study testing bevacizumab, fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium in people with Colorectal Cancer, run by National Cancer Institute (NCI) at 33 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Bevacizumab may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for cancer cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy such as fluorouracil and leucovorin use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Colorectal Cancer
What is being tested?
bevacizumab, fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium
How many people
Not given
Where
33 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Aug 2003to Jul 2007
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed colorectal adenocarcinoma
  • Stage IV (metastatic) disease
  • Not curable by surgery or radiotherapy
  • Must have received prior standard chemotherapy regimens, including oxaliplatin and irinotecan, and meet both of the following criteria:
  • Disease progression during or after irinotecan-based chemotherapy for metastatic disease OR relapsed disease within 6 months after adjuvant irinotecan-based therapy
  • Disease progression during or after oxaliplatin-based chemotherapy for metastatic disease OR relapsed disease within 6 months after adjuvant oxaliplatin-based therapy
  • No brain metastases

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2 OR
  • Karnofsky 60-100%

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute granulocyte count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin at least 9 g/dL (transfusion allowed)
  • No evidence of bleeding diathesis or coagulopathy

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/dL
  • AST less than 5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Alkaline phosphatase less than 5 times ULN
  • PT and INR no greater than 1.5 times ULN
  • PTT no greater than ULN

Renal

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.5 times ULN
  • Proteinuria less than grade 1 OR
  • Proteinuria less than 500 mg/24 hours

Cardiovascular

  • No prior stroke
  • No uncontrolled high blood pressure
  • No symptomatic congestive heart failure
  • No unstable angina pectoris
  • No cardiac arrhythmia
  • No myocardial infarction within the past 6 months
  • No New York Heart Association class III or IV heart disease
  • No thromboembolism within the past 6 months

Other

  • Chemonaive
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for at least 3 months after study participation
  • No significant traumatic injury within the past 6 weeks
  • No prior allergic reaction attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biological composition to bevacizumab or other study agents
  • No active infection
  • No psychiatric illness or social situation that would preclude study compliance
  • No serious nonhealing wound (including wounds healing by secondary intention), ulcer, or bone fracture
  • No CNS disease, including either of the following:
  • Primary brain tumor
  • Seizures not controlled with standard medical therapy

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • At least 8 weeks since prior monoclonal antibody therapy
  • No prior bevacizumab

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • At least 4 weeks since prior major radiotherapy (e.g., chest or bone palliative radiotherapy)

Surgery

  • More than 6 weeks since prior major surgical procedure or open biopsy
  • More than 7 days since prior fine needle aspiration or core biopsy
  • No concurrent surgery

Other

  • Recovered from prior therapy
  • At least 3 weeks since prior cytotoxic agents
  • No concurrent therapeutic anticoagulation
  • Prophylactic anticoagulation of venous access devices allowed provided PT/INR or PTT criteria are met
  • No concurrent chronic aspirin (greater than 325 mg/day) or nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs
  • No concurrent combination antiretroviral therapy for HIV-positive patients
  • No other concurrent investigational or commercial agents for the malignancy

Trial locations and contacts

33 sites in 1 country.

33 sites in 1 country

United States33 sites
  • Providence Alaska Medical Center

    Anchorage, Alaska, 99519-6604

  • Saint Joseph Mercy Health System

    Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48106

  • CCOP - Atlanta Regional

    Atlanta, Georgia, 30342-1701

  • University of Colorado Cancer Center at University of Colorado Health Sciences Center

    Aurora, Colorado, 80010

  • Cancer Care of Maine

    Bangor, Maine, 04401

  • CCOP - Montana Cancer Consortium

    Billings, Montana, 59101

  • Roswell Park Cancer Institute

    Buffalo, New York, 14263-0001

  • Fletcher Allen Health Care - University Health Center Campus

    Burlington, Vermont, 05401

  • Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center, Northwestern University

    Chicago, Illinois, 60611

  • Ireland Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44106-5065

  • St. Mary's/Duluth Clinic Cancer Center

    Duluth, Minnesota, 55805

  • Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Durham, North Carolina, 27710

  • Meritcare Roger Maris Cancer Center

    Fargo, North Dakota, 58122

  • Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Iowa City, Iowa, 52242-1009

  • University of Mississippi Medical Center

    Jackson, Mississippi, 39216-4505

  • Southern Nevada Cancer Research Foundation

    Las Vegas, Nevada, 89106

  • Norris Cotton Cancer Center

    Lebanon, New Hampshire, 03756-0002

  • Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center, UCLA

    Los Angeles, California, 90024

  • USC/Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center and Hospital

    Los Angeles, California, 90033-0804

  • Loyola University Medical Center

    Maywood, Illinois, 60153

  • Yale Comprehensive Cancer Center

    New Haven, Connecticut, 06520-8028

  • New York Weill Cornell Cancer Center at Cornell University

    New York, New York, 10021

  • University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73104

  • Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104

  • Kimmel Cancer Center of Thomas Jefferson University - Philadelphia

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19107-5541

  • Massey Cancer Center

    Richmond, Virginia, 23298-0037

  • CCOP - Virginia Mason Research Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98101

  • Seattle Cancer Care Alliance

    Seattle, Washington, 98109

  • Siouxland Hematology-Oncology

    Sioux City, Iowa, 51101-1733

  • Sioux Valley Clinics - Oncology

    Sioux Falls, South Dakota, 57104

  • Lombardi Cancer Center

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20007

  • CCOP - Wichita

    Wichita, Kansas, 67214-3882

  • Comprehensive Cancer Center at Wake Forest University

    Winston-Salem, North Carolina, 27157-1082

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Multicenter Study of the Anti-VEGF Monoclonal Antibody Bevacizumab (Avastin®) Plus 5-Fluorouracil/Leucovorin in Patients With Metastatic Colorectal Cancers That Have Progressed After Standard Chemotherapy

RATIONALE: Bevacizumab may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for cancer cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy such as fluorouracil and leucovorin use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining bevacizumab with fluorouracil and leucovorin may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining bevacizumab with fluorouracil and leucovorin in treating patients who have locally advanced or metastatic stage IV colorectal cancer that has progressed after standard chemotherapy.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the response rate of patients treated with bevacizumab, fluorouracil, and leucovorin calcium for stage IV colorectal cancer that has progressed after standard chemotherapy.
  • Determine the time to progression and overall survival of patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the safety of administering "bolus" and continuous infusion fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium in patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label, multicenter study. Patients receive 1 of 2 treatment regimens.

  • Regimen I: Patients receive bevacizumab IV on days 1, 15, 29, and 42 (every 2 weeks) and leucovorin calcium (CF) IV over 2 hours and fluorouracil (5-FU) IV bolus on days 1, 8, 15, 22, 29, and 36.
  • Regimen II: Patients receive bevacizumab as in regimen I and CF IV over 2 hours and 5-FU IV bolus followed by a continuous infusion over 22 hours on days 1, 2, 15, 16, 29, 30, 43, and 44.

For both regimens, courses repeat every 8 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Patients are followed for tumor response and survival.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Various NCI-designated Clinical Cancer Centers and other medical institutions across the United States will participate in this study. A total of 35-125 patients will be accrued for this study within 3 months.

Keywords
adenocarcinoma of the colon, adenocarcinoma of the rectum, stage IV rectal cancer, recurrent rectal cancer, stage IV colon cancer, recurrent colon cancer
Medical subject headings
Colorectal Neoplasms, Colonic Neoplasms, Rectal Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 Aug 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startAug 2003
  3. Study completionJul 2007

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Masking
None (open label)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00066846
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000320506
Other IDs
CTEP-TRC-0301
Status last verified
Apr 2004
First submitted
6 Aug 2003
Last updated
20 Jun 2013
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Chen HX, Mooney M, Boron M, Vena D, Mosby K, Grochow L, Jaffe C, Rubinstein L, Zwiebel J, Kaplan RS. Phase II multicenter trial of bevacizumab plus fluorouracil and leucovorin in patients with advanced refractory colorectal cancer: an NCI Treatment Referral Center Trial TRC-0301. J Clin Oncol. 2006 Jul 20;24(21):3354-60. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2005.05.1573.

    PubMed 16849749

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing bevacizumab, fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium in people with Colorectal Cancer, run by National Cancer Institute (NCI) at 33 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 20 Jun 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 33 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00066846, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 20 Jun 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in