Prostate CancerPhase 3NCT00067015
Radiation Therapy With or Without Bicalutamide and Goserelin in Treating Patients With Prostate Cancer
A Phase 3 study testing bicalutamide, goserelin acetate and assessment of therapy complications in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Giving radiation therapy in different ways may cause less damage to normal tissue and may improve quality of life and help patients live more comfortably. Androgens can stimulate the growth of prostate cancer cells. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 to 120 years, men only
- Conditions the study is for
- Prostate Cancer
- What is being tested?
- bicalutamide, goserelin acetate and assessment of therapy complications
- Type of treatment
- Pill or oral medicine, Injection or infusion, Surgery or procedure
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 3 participants
- Where
- 1 siteUnited States
- Study dates
- May 2003to Sep 2008
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 to 120 years
- Men only
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the prostate
- Unfavorable-risk disease, including at least 2 of the following characteristics:
- Prostate-specific antigen level greater than 10 ng/mL
- Gleason score greater than 7
- Stage T4
- Intermediate-risk disease with a Gleason score of at least 8 allowed
- Lymph nodes clinically negative by imaging studies or histologically negative by node sampling or lymph node dissection
- Prostate size less than 75 grams
- No distant metastases by bone scan, CT scan, or MRI
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age
- 18 and over
Performance status
- Karnofsky 80-100%
Life expectancy
- Not specified
Hematopoietic
- Not specified
Hepatic
- Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
- SGOT and SGPT no greater than 1.5 times ULN
Renal
- Not specified
Other
- No documented history of inflammatory bowel disease
- No bilateral hip replacements
- No other invasive cancer except localized basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer unless disease free for at least 5 years
- No major medical or psychiatric illness that would preclude study completion, compliance, or follow-up
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy
- Not specified
Chemotherapy
- No prior chemotherapy for prostate cancer
Endocrine therapy
- No prior androgen-deprivation therapy
Radiotherapy
- No prior pelvic radiotherapy
- No prior prostate brachytherapy
Surgery
- No prior bilateral orchiectomy
- No prior radical prostatectomy
- No prior cryotherapy for prostate cancer
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
United States1 site
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
New York, New York, 10021
About this study
Official title: Phase III Randomized Trial Study Comparing the Outcome of High-Dose IMRT (86.4 GY) Alone With IMRT to 75.6 GY Plus Neoadjuvant/Adjuvant Androgen Deprivation in Patients With High Grade Intermediate Risk and Unfavorable Risk Prostate Cancer
RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Giving radiation therapy in different ways may cause less damage to normal tissue and may improve quality of life and help patients live more comfortably. Androgens can stimulate the growth of prostate cancer cells. Drugs such as goserelin and bicalutamide may fight cancer by stopping the production of androgens. It is not yet known whether radiation therapy is more effective with or without goserelin and bicalutamide in treating prostate cancer.
PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of high-dose radiation therapy with or without bicalutamide and goserelin in treating patients who have prostate cancer.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Compare the quality of life of patients with high-grade intermediate-risk or unfavorable-risk adenocarcinoma of the prostate when treated with high-dose intensity-modulated radiotherapy alone versus with androgen deprivation comprising bicalutamide and goserelin.
- Compare the prostate-specific antigen relapse-free, distant metastases-free, and overall survival of patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare the toxicity of these regimens in these patients.
- Compare the local control in patients treated with these regimens, based on post-treatment sextant biopsies performed 4 years after study completion.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized study. Patients are stratified according to prostate-specific antigen level, Gleason score, and clinical stage. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
- Arm I: Patients undergo high-dose intensity-modulated radiotherapy (IMRT) 4-5 times per week for 10 weeks (a total of 48 treatments).
- Arm II: Patients receive oral bicalutamide once daily for 18.5 weeks. Three to seven days after the initiation of bicalutamide, patients also receive goserelin subcutaneously monthly for 2 years. Beginning after 10 weeks of hormonal therapy, patients undergo concurrent high-dose IMRT 4-5 times per week for 8.5 weeks (a total of 42 treatments). Patients discontinue bicalutamide on or near the end of radiotherapy.
In both arms, treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Quality of life is assessed at baseline, every 3 months for 1.5 years after the completion of radiotherapy, then 6 months later, and then annually for 2 years.
Patients are followed every 6-8 months for 4 years and then annually for 2 years.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 400 patients (200 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 4-5 years.
- Conditions
- Prostate Cancer
- Being tested
- bicalutamide, goserelin acetate, assessment of therapy complications, quality-of-life assessment, radiation therapy
- Keywords
- adenocarcinoma of the prostate, stage III prostate cancer
- Medical subject headings
- Prostatic Neoplasms
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
bicalutamideDrug
goserelin acetateDrug
assessment of therapy complicationsProcedure or surgery
quality-of-life assessmentProcedure or surgery
radiation therapyRadiation
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| IMRT alone to 86.4 Gy | Experimental | External radiotherapy is given for 10 weeks, Monday through Friday for a total of 48 sessions. The total dose of radiotherapy delivered during these 10 weeks is 86.4 Gy. The radiation treatments are delivered with a high precision technique called intensity modulated radiotherapy or IMRT. For this treatment, no hormonal therapy is required. Receives: Procedure: assessment of therapy complications; Procedure: quality-of-life assessment; Radiation: radiation therapy |
| IMRT TO 75.6 Gy plus Adjuvant Androgen Deprivation | Experimental | Prior to a planned course of radiotherapy, which will last for eight and a half weeks, 10 weeks of hormonal therapy are given. The hormonal therapy will start with a daily pill called Casodex. Three to seven days after starting this pill, a Zoladex injection will be administered in addition to the Casodex pill. Zoladex hormonal therapy is given in the form of a monthly injection. After 10 weeks from the initiation of hormone therapy, you will begin external radiotherapy. For these treatments only 42 treatment sessions are given. The total dose of radiotherapy delivered during these 8.5 weeks is 75.6 Gy. The hormone injections continue during the radiation treatments and for 2 years after the radiation treatments. The pills are only taken for the 10 weeks before and also during the radiation treatments, however afterwards the pills are discontinued. Receives: Drug: bicalutamide; Drug: goserelin acetate; Procedure: assessment of therapy complications; Procedure: quality-of-life assessment; Radiation: radiation therapy |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
compare the quality of life
Measured: 2 years
Secondary outcomes (2)
response
Measured: 2 years
toxicity
Measured: 2 years
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted11 Aug 2003 (estimated)
- Study startMay 2003
- Primary completionOct 2004
- Study completionSep 2008
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Prostate CancerStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer CenterThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 3 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Michael J. Zelefsky, MD, Principal investigator, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00067015
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- 03-040
- Other IDs
- P30CA008748, MSKCC-03040
- Status last verified
- Dec 2015
- First submitted
- 8 Aug 2003
- Last updated
- 22 Dec 2015
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 22 Dec 2015. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Phase III Randomized Trial Study Comparing the Outcome of High-Dose IMRT (86.4 GY) Alone With IMRT to 75.6 GY Plus Neoadjuvant/Adjuvant Androgen Deprivation in Patients With High Grade Intermediate Risk and Unfavorable Risk Prostate Cancer
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00067015
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- 03-040
- Conditions
- Prostate Cancer
- Keywords
- adenocarcinoma of the prostate, stage III prostate cancer
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 3 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer CenterUniversity, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Study start
- May 2003
- Primary completion
- Oct 2004 (actual)
- Study completion
- Sep 2008 (actual)
- First posted
- 11 Aug 2003 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Giving radiation therapy in different ways may cause less damage to normal tissue and may improve quality of life and help patients live more comfortably. Androgens can stimulate the growth of prostate cancer cells. Drugs such as goserelin and bicalutamide may fight cancer by stopping the production of androgens. It is not yet known whether radiation therapy is more effective with or without goserelin and bicalutamide in treating prostate cancer.
PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of high-dose radiation therapy with or without bicalutamide and goserelin in treating patients who have prostate cancer.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Compare the quality of life of patients with high-grade intermediate-risk or unfavorable-risk adenocarcinoma of the prostate when treated with high-dose intensity-modulated radiotherapy alone versus with androgen deprivation comprising bicalutamide and goserelin.
- Compare the prostate-specific antigen relapse-free, distant metastases-free, and overall survival of patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare the toxicity of these regimens in these patients.
- Compare the local control in patients treated with these regimens, based on post-treatment sextant biopsies performed 4 years after study completion.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized study. Patients are stratified according to prostate-specific antigen level, Gleason score, and clinical stage. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
- Arm I: Patients undergo high-dose intensity-modulated radiotherapy (IMRT) 4-5 times per week for 10 weeks (a total of 48 treatments).
- Arm II: Patients receive oral bicalutamide once daily for 18.5 weeks. Three to seven days after the initiation of bicalutamide, patients also receive goserelin subcutaneously monthly for 2 years. Beginning after 10 weeks of hormonal therapy, patients undergo concurrent high-dose IMRT 4-5 times per week for 8.5 weeks (a total of 42 treatments). Patients discontinue bicalutamide on or near the end of radiotherapy.
In both arms, treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Quality of life is assessed at baseline, every 3 months for 1.5 years after the completion of radiotherapy, then 6 months later, and then annually for 2 years.
Patients are followed every 6-8 months for 4 years and then annually for 2 years.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 400 patients (200 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 4-5 years.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 2
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| IMRT alone to 86.4 Gy | Experimental | Procedure: assessment of therapy complications, Procedure: quality-of-life assessment, Radiation: radiation therapyExternal radiotherapy is given for 10 weeks, Monday through Friday for a total of 48 sessions. The total dose of radiotherapy delivered during these 10 weeks is 86.4 Gy. The radiation treatments are delivered with a high precision technique called intensity modulated radiotherapy or IMRT. For this treatment, no hormonal therapy is required. |
| IMRT TO 75.6 Gy plus Adjuvant Androgen Deprivation | Experimental | Drug: bicalutamide, Drug: goserelin acetate, Procedure: assessment of therapy complications, Procedure: quality-of-life assessment, Radiation: radiation therapyPrior to a planned course of radiotherapy, which will last for eight and a half weeks, 10 weeks of hormonal therapy are given. The hormonal therapy will start with a daily pill called Casodex. Three to seven days after starting this pill, a Zoladex injection will be administered in addition to the Casodex pill. Zoladex hormonal therapy is given in the form of a monthly injection. After 10 weeks from the initiation of hormone therapy, you will begin external radiotherapy. For these treatments only 42 treatment sessions are given. The total dose of radiotherapy delivered during these 8.5 weeks is 75.6 Gy. The hormone injections continue during the radiation treatments and for 2 years after the radiation treatments. The pills are only taken for the 10 weeks before and also during the radiation treatments, however afterwards the pills are discontinued. |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 to 120 years
- Sex
- Male only
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| bicalutamide | Drug | IMRT TO 75.6 Gy plus Adjuvant Androgen Deprivation |
| goserelin acetate | Drug | IMRT TO 75.6 Gy plus Adjuvant Androgen Deprivation |
| assessment of therapy complications | Procedure or surgery | IMRT TO 75.6 Gy plus Adjuvant Androgen Deprivation, IMRT alone to 86.4 Gy |
| quality-of-life assessment | Procedure or surgery | IMRT TO 75.6 Gy plus Adjuvant Androgen Deprivation, IMRT alone to 86.4 Gy |
| radiation therapy | Radiation | IMRT TO 75.6 Gy plus Adjuvant Androgen Deprivation, IMRT alone to 86.4 Gy |
Primary outcome
compare the quality of life
Time frame: 2 years
2 secondary outcomes
response
Time frame: 2 years
toxicity
Time frame: 2 years
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 22 Dec 2015.
Related trials for Prostate Cancer
Active, not recruiting
Streamlined Geriatric and Oncological Evaluation Based On IC Technology
Breast Cancer, Comorbidities and Coexisting Conditions
Active, not recruitingObservational study
MRI Fusion Biopsy vs. Micro-Ultrasound Guided Biopsy
Prostate Cancer
Enrolling by invitationObservational study
Natural History Study of Early Life Exposures in Agriculture (ELEA)
Prostate Cancer, Leukemia
Not yet recruitingPhase 1/2
STAR0602 With Nivolumab in Non Small Cell Lung Cancer and in Metastatic Castrate-Resistant Prostate Cancer, and STAR0602 Alone in Thymic Carcinoma
NSCLC, Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Recruiting
Rehabilitation and Sex Therapy to Optimize Recovery After Prostate Cancer Treatment
Prostate Cancer, Urinary Incontinence
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Michael J. Zelefsky, MD principal investigator
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing bicalutamide, goserelin acetate and assessment of therapy complications in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 22 Dec 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
compare the quality of life (time frame: 2 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 22 Dec 2015.