AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 3NCT00068601

S0230 Goserelin in Preventing Ovarian Failure in Women Receiving Chemotherapy for Breast Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing cyclophosphamide and goserelin acetate in people with Breast Cancer and Infertility, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 34 sites in 6 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Goserelin blocks hormone production in the ovaries. It is not yet known whether ovarian suppression using goserelin will prevent ovarian failure (early menopause) in women receiving chemotherapy for breast cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 49 years, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer, Infertility, Menopausal Symptoms
What is being tested?
cyclophosphamide and goserelin acetate
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
257 participants
Where
34 sitesin 6 countries
Study dates
Oct 2003to Sep 2016
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 49 years
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed invasive breast cancer
  • Stage I-IIIA
  • Operable disease
  • Bilateral synchronous invasive breast cancer allowed provided primary tumors were diagnosed no more than 1 month apart and both tumors are hormone receptor negative
  • Must be planning to receive 3-8 months of a preoperative or postoperative chemotherapy regimen containing alkylating agents (anthracyclines or non-anthracyclines), meeting 1 of the following criteria:
  • 3-month/4-course anthracycline-based regimen
  • 6- to 8-month/course anthracycline-based regimen
  • 6- to 8-month/course non-anthracycline-based regimen
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Estrogen receptor negative
  • Progesterone receptor negative

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 to 49

Sex

  • Female

Menopausal status

  • Premenopausal

Performance status

  • Zubrod 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Not specified

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective barrier contraception
  • No other prior malignancy except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or any in situ cancer from which the patient has been disease-free for at least 5 years after treatment with curative intent

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior cytotoxic chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • No other concurrent hormonal therapy

Radiotherapy

  • Concurrent radiotherapy to the breast, chest wall, or lymph nodes allowed

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics

Other

  • Concurrent participation in other therapeutic clinical trials, including SWOG-S0221, allowed

Trial locations and contacts

34 sites in 6 countries.

34 sites in 6 countries

Australia14 sites
  • Royal Adelaide Hospital Cancer Centre

    Adelaide, South Australia, 5000

  • Ballarat Oncology and Haematology Services

    Ballarat, Victoria, 3350

  • Flinders Medical Centre

    Bedford Park, South Australia, 5042

  • Box Hill Hospital

    Box Hill, Victoria, 3128

  • Monash Medical Center - Clayton Campus

    Clayton, Victoria, 3168

  • Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

    East Melbourne, Victoria, 3002

  • Maroondah Hospital

    East Ringwood, Victoria, 3135

  • St. Vincent's Hospital - Melbourne

    Fitzroy, Victoria, 3065

  • Royal Hobart Hospital

    Hobart, Tasmania, 7000

  • Mater Hospital - North Sydney

    North Sydney, New South Wales, 2060

  • Royal Melbourne Hospital

    Parkville, Victoria, 3050

  • Royal Perth Hospital

    Perth, Western Australia, 6000

  • Royal North Shore Hospital

    St Leonards, New South Wales, 2065

  • Newcastle Mater Misericordiae Hospital

    Waratah, New South Wales, 2298

Other trials in Australia

Switzerland7 sites
  • Oncology Institute of Southern Switzerland

    Bellinzona, CH-6500

  • Inselspital Bern

    Bern, CH-3010

  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois

    Lausanne, 1011

  • Oncology Institute of Southern Switzerland - Locarno

    Locarno, CH-6601

  • Oncology Institute of Southern Switzerland - Lugano

    Lugano, CH-6900

  • Oncology Institute of Southern Switzerland - Mendrisio

    Mendrisio, CH-6850

  • Regionalspital

    Thun, 3600

Other trials in Switzerland

Belgium6 sites
  • Centre Hospitalier Hutois

    Huy, 4500

  • U.Z. Gasthuisberg

    Leuven, B-3000

  • Centre Hospitalier Regional de la Citadelle

    Liège, 4000

  • CHU Liege - Domaine Universitaire du Sart Tilman

    Liège, B-4000

  • AZ Damiaan

    Ostend, 8400

  • Centre Hospitalier Peltzer-La Tourelle

    Verviers, B-4800

Other trials in Belgium

Italy5 sites
  • Ospedali Riuniti di Bergamo

    Bergamo, 24100

  • Ospedale degli Infermi - ASL 12

    Biella, 13900

  • Ospedale Civile Ramazzini

    Carpi, 41012

  • Ospedale Alessandro Manzoni

    Lecco, 23900

  • European Institute of Oncology

    Milan, 20141

Other trials in Italy

Hungary1 site
  • National Institute of Oncology

    Budapest, 1122

Other trials in Hungary

New Zealand1 site
  • Auckland City Hospital

    Auckland, 1

Other trials in New Zealand

About this study

Official title: Phase III Trial of LHRH Analog Administration During Chemotherapy to Reduce Ovarian Failure Following Chemotherapy in Early Stage, Hormone-Receptor Negative Breast Cancer

RATIONALE: Goserelin blocks hormone production in the ovaries. It is not yet known whether ovarian suppression using goserelin will prevent ovarian failure (early menopause) in women receiving chemotherapy for breast cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying how well giving goserelin together with chemotherapy works compared with chemotherapy alone in preventing early menopause in women with stage I, stage II, or stage IIIA breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Compare the rate of premature ovarian failure in women with stage I-IIIA hormone receptor-negative breast cancer treated with chemotherapy with vs without goserelin.

Secondary

  • Compare the rate of ovarian dysfunction in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare ovarian reserve in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Describe the pregnancy rates in patients treated with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized study. Patients are stratified according to age (under 40 vs 40 to 49) and planned chemotherapy regimen (3- to 4-month/course anthracycline-based vs 6- to 8-month/course anthracycline-based vs 3- to 4-month/course non-anthracycline-based vs 6- to 8-month/course non-anthracycline-based). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm 1: Patients receive cyclophosphamide-containing chemotherapy alone. Patients are followed at 1, 2, and 5 years.
  • Arm 2: Patients receive goserelin subcutaneously once every 4 weeks beginning 1 week before start of cyclophosphamide-containing chemotherapy. Treatment continues until completion of chemotherapy in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 416 patients (208 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 3 years.

Being tested
cyclophosphamide, goserelin acetate
Keywords
infertility, menopausal symptoms, stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer, stage IA breast cancer, stage IB breast cancer, estrogen receptor-negative breast cancer, progesterone receptor-negative breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Infertility

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • cyclophosphamideDrug

    Part of planned chemotherapy regimen

  • goserelin acetateDrug

    Given subcutaneously

Study groups in NCT00068601
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Standard ChemotherapyActive comparatorPatients receive cyclophosphamide-containing chemotherapy alone.
Receives: Drug: cyclophosphamide
Chemotherapy Plus GoserelinExperimentalPatients receive goserelin subcutaneously once every 4 weeks beginning 1 week before start of cyclophosphamide-containing chemotherapy. Treatment continues until completion of chemotherapy in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Receives: Drug: cyclophosphamide; Drug: goserelin acetate

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Rate of Premature Ovarian Failure at 2 Years

    Ovarian failure at two years is defined as amenorrhea (absence of menstrual bleeding) for the preceding six months AND the presence of follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH) in the post-menopausal range.

    Measured: 2 years

Secondary outcomes (2)
  1. Rate of Ovarian Dysfunction at 2 Years

    Ovarian dysfunction is defined as amenorrhea for the preceding three months and the presence of FSH, estradiol and/or inhibin B levels in the postmenopausal range.

    Measured: 2 years

  2. Rate of Ovarian Dysfunction at 1 Year

    Ovarian dysfunction is defined as amenorrhea for the preceding three months and the presence of FSH, estradiol and/or inhibin B levels in the postmenopausal range.

    Measured: 1 year

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted11 Sep 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startOct 2003
  3. Primary completionJan 2014
  4. Study completionSep 2016

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Supportive care
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
257 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00068601
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000327758
Other IDs
S0230, CALGB-40401, IBCSG-34-05, U10CA037429
Status last verified
Dec 2019
First submitted
10 Sep 2003
Last updated
30 Dec 2019
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Moore HC, Unger JM, Phillips KA, Boyle F, Hitre E, Porter D, Francis PA, Goldstein LJ, Gomez HL, Vallejos CS, Partridge AH, Dakhil SR, Garcia AA, Gralow J, Lombard JM, Forbes JF, Martino S, Barlow WE, Fabian CJ, Minasian L, Meyskens FL Jr, Gelber RD, Hortobagyi GN, Albain KS; POEMS/S0230 Investigators. Goserelin for ovarian protection during breast-cancer adjuvant chemotherapy. N Engl J Med. 2015 Mar 5;372(10):923-32. doi: 10.1056/NEJMoa1413204.

    PubMed 25738668

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing cyclophosphamide and goserelin acetate in people with Breast Cancer and Infertility, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 34 sites in 6 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 30 Dec 2019. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 34 sites in Australia, Switzerland, Belgium, Italy, Hungary and 1 more country. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 4 Apr 2017). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Rate of Premature Ovarian Failure at 2 Years (time frame: 2 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00068601, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 30 Dec 2019.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in