AzTrials
AzTrials

Anal CancerPhase 2/3NCT00068744

Radiation Therapy, Mitomycin, and Either Fluorouracil or Cisplatin in Treating Patients With Locally Advanced Anal Cancer

A Phase 2/3 study testing cisplatin, fluorouracil and mitomycin C in people with Anal Cancer, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC at 24 sites in 7 countries.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as mitomycin, fluorouracil, and cisplatin, use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining radiation therapy with chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 75 years
Conditions the study is for
Anal Cancer
What is being tested?
cisplatin, fluorouracil and mitomycin C
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
88 participants
Where
24 sitesin 7 countries
Study dates
Jul 2003to Nov 2007
Phase
Phase 2/3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 75 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed squamous cell anal carcinoma
  • Keratinizing or non-keratinizing
  • The following stages are eligible:
  • T2, N0, M0 with maximum tumor diameter at least 4 cm
  • T3-T4, N0, M0
  • Any T, N1-N3, M0
  • Tumor located in the anal canal OR in the anal margin and infiltrating the anal canal
  • No primary adenocarcinoma of the anus
  • Measurable disease

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 to 75

Performance status

  • WHO 0-1

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Granulocyte count greater than 2,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count greater than 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Creatinine less than 1.4 mg/dL

Cardiovascular

  • No grade I angina pectoris with clinical symptoms within the past 3 months
  • No grade II-IV angina pectoris within the past 3 months
  • No stage II or greater distal arteritis

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No other prior malignancy except adequately treated basal cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No psychological, familial, sociological, or geographical condition that would preclude study compliance and follow-up

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No other concurrent chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • No other concurrent radiotherapy

Surgery

  • No prior colostomy

Other

  • No prior treatment for anal cancer

Trial locations and contacts

24 sites in 7 countries.

24 sites in 7 countries

Belgium8 sites
  • Ziekenhuis Netwerk Antwerpen Middelheim

    Antwerp, B-2020

  • Institut Jules Bordet

    Brussels, 1000

  • Centre Hospitalier Lyon Sud

    Brussels, 1200

  • Cliniques Universitaires Saint-Luc

    Brussels, 1200

  • Universitair Ziekenhuis Antwerpen

    Edegem, B-2650

  • Cazk Groeninghe - Campus Maria's Voorzienigheid

    Kortrijk, B-8500

  • U.Z. Gasthuisberg

    Leuven, B-3000

  • Algemeen Ziekenhuis Sint-Augustinus

    Wilrijk, 2610

Other trials in Belgium

Germany7 sites
  • Urologische Klinik - Universitaetsklinikum Aachen

    Aachen, D-52074

  • Charite - Campus Charite Mitte

    Berlin, D-10117

  • Robert Roessle Comprehensive Cancer Center - Charite Campus Buch

    Berlin, D-13122

  • Universitaetsklinikum Essen

    Essen, D-45122

  • Universitaetsklinikum Halle

    Halle, D-06097

  • Onkologische Schwerpunktpraxis - Leer

    Leer, D-26789

  • Universitaetsklinikum Tuebingen

    Tübingen, D-72076

Other trials in Germany

France3 sites
  • Institut Sainte Catherine

    Avignon, 84082

  • Centre Hospitalier Regional de Besancon - Hopital Jean Minjoz

    Besançon, 25030

  • Centre de Lutte Contre le Cancer Georges-Francois Leclerc

    Dijon, 21079

Other trials in France

Italy2 sites
  • Ospedale Sant Anna

    Como, 22100

  • Ospedale Busonera - Divisione Oncologia Medica

    Padova, 35128

Other trials in Italy

Netherlands2 sites
  • Arnhems Radiotherapeutisch Instituut

    Arnhem, 6815 AD

  • Dr. Bernard Verbeeten Instituut

    Tilburg, 5042 SB

Other trials in Netherlands

Egypt1 site
  • National Cancer Institute of Egypt

    Cairo

Other trials in Egypt

Serbia1 site
  • Institute of Oncology and Radiology of Serbia

    Belgrade, 11000

Other trials in Serbia

About this study

Official title: Continuous Fluorouracil Plus Mitomycin C Versus Mitomycin C Plus Cisplatin As Chemotherapy Combination In Combined Radiochemotherapy For Locally Advanced Anal Cancer. A Phase II-III Study

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as mitomycin, fluorouracil, and cisplatin, use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining radiation therapy with chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known whether radiation therapy and mitomycin are more effective when combined with fluorouracil or with cisplatin in treating anal cancer .

PURPOSE: This randomized phase II/III trial is studying how well giving radiation therapy and mitomycin together with fluorouracil works compared to radiation therapy, mitomycin, and cisplatin in treating patients with locally advanced anal cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Phase II

  • Primary
  • Compare the early clinical response (tumor response at 8 weeks) of patients with locally advanced anal cancer treated with radiotherapy with mitomycin and cisplatin vs mitomycin and fluorouracil.
  • Secondary
  • Compare the feasibility of these regimens in these patients.
  • Compare the acute toxicity of these regimens in these patients.
  • Compare patient compliance to these regimens.

Phase III

  • Primary
  • Compare the event-free survival of patients treated with these regimens.
  • Secondary
  • Compare colostomy-free, disease-free, and overall survival of patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare locoregional control in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the late toxicity of these regimens in these patients.
  • Compare quality of life of patients treated with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to participating center, T stage (T2 vs T3 vs T4), and nodal status (N0 vs N+). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients undergo radiotherapy once daily 5 days a week on weeks 1-4, 7-8, and 3 days of week 9 (total of 33 fractions). Patients concurrently receive fluorouracil IV continuously on days 1-26 and 43-59 and mitomycin IV over 15 minutes on days 1 and 43.
  • Arm II: Patients receive radiotherapy and mitomycin as in arm I and cisplatin IV over 1 hour on days 1, 8, 15, 22, 43, 50, and 57.

In both arms, treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Quality of life is assessed at baseline, at weeks 12 and 26, and then every 6 months for 2 years.

Patients are followed every 2 weeks for 8 weeks, at week 26, and then every 6 months thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 678 patients (80 [40 per treatment arm] for phase II and 598 [299 per treatment arm] for phase III) will be accrued for this study within 2-5 years.

Conditions
Anal Cancer
Being tested
cisplatin, fluorouracil, mitomycin C, radiation therapy
Keywords
squamous cell carcinoma of the anus, stage II anal cancer, stage IIIA anal cancer, stage IIIB anal cancer
Medical subject headings
Anus Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Response as measured by RECIST at 8 weeks after completion of study treatment (Phase II)

  2. Event-free survival as measured by Logrank at 12 and 26 weeks, then every 6 months thereafter (Phase III)

Secondary outcomes (7)
  1. Acute toxicity and compliance to treatment as measured by CTC v 2.0 at completion of study treatment (Phase II)

  2. Colostomy-free survival as measured by Logrank at 12 and 26 weeks, then every 6 months thereafter (Phase III)

  3. Overall survival as measured by Logrank at 12 and 26 weeks, then every 6 months thereafter

  4. Disease-free survival as measured by Logrank at 12 and 26 weeks, then every 6 months thereafter

  5. Local control as measured by Gray at 12 and 26 weeks, then every 6 months thereafter

  6. Late toxicity as measured by RTOG and EROTC every 6 months after week 26

  7. Quality of life as measured by EORTC Quality of Life Questionnaire-C30 and ASCT at 12 and 26 weeks, then every 6 months for 2 years after entry

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted11 Sep 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJul 2003
  3. Primary completionNov 2007

Why it stopped: low accrual

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2/3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Enrolment
88 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00068744
Sponsor's protocol ID
EORTC-22011-40014
Other IDs
EORTC-22011, EORTC-40014
Status last verified
Sep 2012
First submitted
10 Sep 2003
Last updated
24 Sep 2012
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Matzinger O, Roelofsen F, Mineur L, Koswig S, Van Der Steen-Banasik EM, Van Houtte P, Haustermans K, Radosevic-Jelic L, Mueller RP, Maingon P, Collette L, Bosset JF; EORTC Radiation Oncology and Gastrointestinal Tract Cancer Groups. Mitomycin C with continuous fluorouracil or with cisplatin in combination with radiotherapy for locally advanced anal cancer (European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer phase II study 22011-40014). Eur J Cancer. 2009 Nov;45(16):2782-91. doi: 10.1016/j.ejca.2009.06.020. Epub 2009 Jul 28.

    PubMed 19643599

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2/3 study testing cisplatin, fluorouracil and mitomycin C in people with Anal Cancer, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC at 24 sites in 7 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 24 Sep 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 24 sites in Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Netherlands and 2 more countries. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this combined phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early (reason given: low accrual). Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Response as measured by RECIST at 8 weeks after completion of study treatment (Phase II). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00068744, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 24 Sep 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in