AzTrials
AzTrials

Intraocular MelanomaPhase 2NCT00072345

Temozolomide, Thalidomide, and Lomustine in Treating Patients With Unresectable Stage III or Stage IV Melanoma

A Phase 2 study testing lomustine, temozolomide and thalidomide in people with Intraocular Melanoma and Melanoma (Skin), run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as temozolomide and lomustine, use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Thalidomide may stop the growth of cancer by stopping blood flow to the tumor. Combining temozolomide and thalidomide with lomustine may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Intraocular Melanoma, Melanoma (Skin)
What is being tested?
lomustine, temozolomide and thalidomide
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Jul 2003to Aug 2004
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed metastatic malignant melanoma
  • Unresectable stage III OR stage IV disease
  • Ocular, mucosal, and cutaneous melanoma allowed
  • Measurable disease
  • Indicator lesions within a prior radiotherapy field must have recent evidence of disease progression
  • Indicator lesions must be distinct from the surgical and/or radiation changes induced by prior local therapies
  • No more than 2 symptomatic hemorrhagic lesions in the brain
  • No hemorrhagic lesion(s) greater than 1 cm in diameter

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • Karnofsky 80-100%

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute granulocyte count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin no greater than 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • SGOT and SGPT no greater than 2 times ULN
  • Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 2 times ULN
  • Lactic dehydrogenase no greater than 2 times ULN

Renal

  • Creatinine no greater than 2 mg/dL

Cardiovascular

  • No history of severe cardiovascular disease
  • No myocardial infarction within the past 6 months
  • No unstable angina
  • No New York Heart Association class III or IV congestive heart failure
  • No ventricular arrhythmia
  • No uncontrolled arrhythmia

Gastrointestinal

  • No frequent vomiting
  • No other medical condition that would preclude oral medication intake (e.g., partial bowel obstruction)

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective barrier contraception during and for 4 weeks after study participation
  • HIV negative
  • No AIDS-related illness
  • No serious infection requiring IV antibiotics
  • No other uncontrolled medical illness that would preclude study participation
  • No other malignancy within the past 2 years except nonmelanoma skin cancer, carcinoma in situ of the cervix, or T1a or b prostate cancer meeting all of the following criteria:
  • Detected incidentally at transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP)
  • Comprises less than 5% of resected tissue
  • Prostate-specific antigen normal since TURP

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • At least 3 weeks since prior immunotherapy or biologic therapy
  • No concurrent immunotherapy

Chemotherapy

  • No prior systemic chemotherapy for melanoma
  • No other concurrent chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 3 weeks since prior focused radiotherapy for brain metastases
  • At least 3 weeks since prior radiosurgery
  • At least 4 weeks since prior whole brain radiotherapy
  • At least 3 weeks since prior interstitial brachytherapy
  • No concurrent radiotherapy

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 3 weeks since prior surgery for brain metastases
  • At least 3 weeks since prior surgery requiring general anesthesia

Other

  • Recovered from all prior therapies

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10021

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Study of Temozolomide, Thalidomide, and Lomustine in the Treatment of Advanced Melanoma

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as temozolomide and lomustine, use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Thalidomide may stop the growth of cancer by stopping blood flow to the tumor. Combining temozolomide and thalidomide with lomustine may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining temozolomide and thalidomide with lomustine in treating patients who have unresectable stage III or stage IV melanoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the antitumor activity of temozolomide, thalidomide, and lomustine, in terms of objective response rate, in patients with unresectable stage III or stage IV melanoma.

Secondary

  • Determine the toxicity profile of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the duration of response and overall survival of patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: Patients receive oral temozolomide on days 1-42, oral thalidomide on days 1-56, and oral lomustine on days 1 and 29. Courses repeat every 8 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 12-35 patients will be accrued for this study within 2 years.

Being tested
lomustine, temozolomide, thalidomide
Keywords
stage III melanoma, stage IV melanoma, recurrent melanoma, iris melanoma, ciliary body and choroid melanoma, medium/large size, ciliary body and choroid melanoma, small size, extraocular extension melanoma, recurrent intraocular melanoma
Medical subject headings
Uveal Melanoma, Melanoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted6 Nov 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJul 2003
  3. Primary completionAug 2004

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Masking
None (open label)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00072345
Sponsor's protocol ID
03-084
Other IDs
P30CA008748, MSKCC-03084
Status last verified
Jan 2013
First submitted
4 Nov 2003
Last updated
18 Jan 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing lomustine, temozolomide and thalidomide in people with Intraocular Melanoma and Melanoma (Skin), run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 18 Jan 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 18 Jan 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in