AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 2NCT00072449

Rituximab in Treating Patients With Refractory or Relapsed Primary CNS Lymphoma

A Phase 2 study testing rituximab in people with Lymphoma, run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins at 9 sites in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies, such as rituximab, can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of rituximab in treating patients who have refractory or relapsed primary CNS lymphoma. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
rituximab
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
12 participants
Where
9 sitesUnited States
Study dates
May 2004to Jun 2010
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed primary CNS lymphoma based on 1 of the following:
  • Histologically confirmed non-Hodgkin's B-cell lymphoma by brain biopsy or resection
  • Positive cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) cytology or immunohistochemical diagnosis of CSF monoclonality with or without measurable intracranial disease
  • Histologically confirmed vitreal lymphoma with measurable intracranial tumor
  • CD20 positive by brain biopsy
  • Measurable (greater than 1 cm in diameter) tumor by CT scan or MRI
  • Progressed during first-line chemotherapy and/or radiotherapy OR relapsed after initial successful treatment
  • No systemic lymphoma by CT scan of the chest, abdomen, and pelvis with contrast
  • No leptomeningeal lymphoma by lumbar puncture for CNS cytology/flow cytometry
  • No ocular lymphoma by slit lamp examination

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • Karnofsky 60-100%

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin at least 9.0 g/dL

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin less than 1.5 mg/dL
  • Transaminases less than 4 times upper limit of normal

Renal

  • Creatinine less than 1.5 mg/dL

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 1 year after study participation
  • HIV negative
  • Mini mental status examination score at least 15
  • No concurrent serious infection
  • No other medical illness that would preclude study treatment
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except curatively treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • More than 90 days since prior biologic therapy
  • No prior rituximab
  • No concurrent prophylactic growth factors (e.g., filgrastim [G-CSF] or sargramostim [GM-CSF])

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 3 weeks since prior chemotherapy (6 weeks for nitrosoureas)

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 3 months since prior radiotherapy

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • Recovered from prior therapy
  • More than 90 days since prior investigational drugs
  • More than 90 days since prior use of a therapeutic device

Trial locations and contacts

9 sites in 1 country.

9 sites in 1 country

United States9 sites
  • Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University

    Atlanta, Georgia, 30322

  • Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21231-2410

  • Lurleen Wallace Comprehensive Cancer at University of Alabama - Birmingham

    Birmingham, Alabama, 35294

  • Massachusetts General Hospital

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02114

  • Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44195

  • Josephine Ford Cancer Center at Henry Ford Hospital

    Detroit, Michigan, 48202

  • Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104-4283

  • H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute at University of South Florida

    Tampa, Florida, 33612-9497

  • Wake Forest University Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Winston-Salem, North Carolina, 27157-1096

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Study Of Anti-CD20 Monoclonal Antibody (Rituximab) Therapy For Patients With Refractory Or Relapsed Primary CNS Lymphoma (PCNSL)

RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies, such as rituximab, can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of rituximab in treating patients who have refractory or relapsed primary CNS lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the radiographic response proportion in patients with refractory or recurrent primary CNS lymphoma treated with rituximab.

Secondary

  • Determine the progression-free and overall survival of patients treated with this drug.
  • Determine the toxicity profile of this drug in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

Patients receive rituximab IV on days 1, 8, 15, and 22. Treatment repeats every 28 days for 2 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients may receive additional courses of rituximab off study at the discretion of the treating physician.

Patients are followed every 2 months.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 15-25 patients will be accrued for this study within 5-9 months.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Being tested
rituximab
Keywords
primary central nervous system non-Hodgkin lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00072449
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Rituximab monotherapyExperimentalRituximab administered at a dose of 375mg/m2 as a single IV infusion every week for up to 8 weeks
Receives: Biological: rituximab

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Radiographic Response

    it at any time point patient progresses no more scans are required, patient is off study

    Measured: 1 month, 2 months and then q3months

Secondary outcomes (3)
  1. Progression-free Survival

    pt had MRI every 3 months

    Measured: pt had MRI q3months

  2. Overall Survival

    survival was evaluated q 2months

    Measured: 47 months

  3. Toxicity

    patients only received drug for 8 weeks

    Measured: 8 weeks - 2 cycles

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted6 Nov 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2004
  3. Primary completionMar 2009
  4. Study completionJun 2010

Why it stopped: slow accrual and lack of resources and priority due to combining 2 consortia

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
12 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00072449
Sponsor's protocol ID
NABTT-2201 CDR0000339737
Other IDs
U01CA062475, NABTT-2201
Status last verified
Jun 2013
First submitted
4 Nov 2003
Last updated
28 Aug 2013

Publications

  • Batchelor TT, Grossman SA, Mikkelsen T, Ye X, Desideri S, Lesser GJ. Rituximab monotherapy for patients with recurrent primary CNS lymphoma. Neurology. 2011 Mar 8;76(10):929-30. doi: 10.1212/WNL.0b013e31820f2d94. No abstract available.

    PubMed 21383331

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing rituximab in people with Lymphoma, run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins at 9 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 28 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 9 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 28 Aug 2013). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Radiographic Response (time frame: 1 month, 2 months and then q3months). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00072449, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 28 Aug 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in