AzTrials
AzTrials

SarcomaNCT00075777

Valproic Acid in Treating Patients With Kaposi's Sarcoma

A study testing valproic acid in people with Sarcoma, run by AIDS Malignancy Consortium at 13 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Valproic acid may help stop the growth of Kaposi's sarcoma cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for tumor cell growth. PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying valproic acid in treating patients with HIV-related Kaposi's sarcoma. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Sarcoma
What is being tested?
valproic acid
Type of treatment
Pill or oral medicine
How many people
19 participants
Where
13 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Feb 2005to Feb 2008
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed HIV-related Kaposi's sarcoma (KS)
  • Disease involving the skin and/or lymph nodes
  • No symptomatic visceral disease
  • No oral KS as the only site of disease
  • Slowly progressive or stable disease allowed
  • Slow progression defined as fewer than 5 new lesions per month
  • Must have documented HIV infection by positive ELISA, western Blot, or viral load determination
  • CD4 T-cell count > 50/mm^3

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • Karnofsky 60-100%

Life expectancy

  • At least 3 months

Hematopoietic

  • Hemoglobin ≥ 8.0 g/dL
  • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 750/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 75,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)*
  • AST and ALT ≤ 3 times ULN
  • Albumin > 2.5 g/dL NOTE: *Elevated total bilirubin (≤ 3.5 mg/dL) secondary to indinavir therapy allowed provided the direct bilirubin is normal

Renal

  • Creatinine < 1.5 times ULN

Cardiovascular

  • No prior myocardial infarction
  • No evidence of cardiac ischemia

Other

  • Not pregnant
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 3 months after study participation
  • No prior lactic acidosis > 2.0 mmoles/L
  • No prior lipoatrophy or hypercholesterolemia secondary to retroviral treatment
  • No concurrent, acute, active opportunistic infection other than oral thrush or genital herpes within the past 14 days
  • No other concurrent neoplasm requiring cytotoxic therapy

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • More than 2 weeks since prior biologic therapy for KS

Chemotherapy

  • More than 2 weeks since prior chemotherapy for KS
  • No concurrent systemic cytotoxic chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • More than 2 weeks since prior radiotherapy for KS

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • More than 2 weeks since other prior antineoplastic or local therapy for KS
  • More than 2 weeks since prior investigational therapy for KS
  • More than 60 days since prior local therapy to a KS-marker lesion unless lesion has clearly progressed since therapy
  • More than 1 year since prior valproic acid
  • Concurrent antiretroviral therapy allowed provided regimen has been stable for at least 4 weeks
  • No concurrent zidovudine
  • No other concurrent KS-specific therapy
  • No other concurrent investigational drugs, other than IND-approved antiretroviral agents

Trial locations and contacts

13 sites in 1 country.

13 sites in 1 country

United States13 sites
  • Georgia Cancer Center for Excellence at Grady Memorial Hospital

    Atlanta, Georgia, 30303

  • Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21231-2410

  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02215

  • Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center at Northwestern University

    Chicago, Illinois, 60611-3013

  • Case Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44106-5065

  • Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center at UCLA

    Los Angeles, California, 90095-1781

  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10021

  • Joan Karnell Cancer Center at Pennsylvania Hospital

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19106

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - San Diego

    San Diego, California, 92161

  • UCSF Comprehensive Cancer Center

    San Francisco, California, 94143-0324

  • Floyd & Delores Jones Cancer Institute at Virginia Mason Medical Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98111

  • Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital

    St Louis, Missouri, 63110

  • Albert Einstein Cancer Center at Albert Einstein College of Medicine

    The Bronx, New York, 10461

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Pilot Trial Of Valproic Acid In Patients With Kaposi's Sarcoma

RATIONALE: Valproic acid may help stop the growth of Kaposi's sarcoma cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for tumor cell growth.

PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying valproic acid in treating patients with HIV-related Kaposi's sarcoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the safety of valproic acid in patients with Kaposi's sarcoma.
  • Determine the effects of this drug on human herpes virus 8 (KSHV) gene expression using polymerase chain reaction and immunohistochemistry in these patients.

Secondary

  • Determine the effects of this drug on HIV, KSHV, and Epstein-Barr virus viral loads in the plasma and peripheral blood mononuclear cells of these patients.
  • Determine clinical response in patients treated with this drug.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label, pilot, multicenter study.

Patients receive oral valproic acid twice daily on days 1-28 followed by a drug taper over 2 weeks. Treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Patients are followed monthly for 6 months.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 15-30 patients will be accrued for this study within 1 year.

Conditions
Sarcoma
Being tested
valproic acid
Keywords
recurrent Kaposi sarcoma, AIDS-related Kaposi sarcoma
Medical subject headings
Sarcoma, Sarcoma, Kaposi, AIDS-related Kaposi sarcoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • valproic acidDrug

    Also called Depakene

    250 mg by mouth twice a day

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Toxicity-related discontinuation rate

    Measured: 28 days

  2. Lytic induction rate

    Measured: 28 days

  3. Clinical response rate

    Measured: 28 days

  4. Accelerated KS progression rate

    Measured: 28 days

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted13 Jan 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startFeb 2005
  3. Primary completionJul 2007
  4. Study completionFeb 2008

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
19 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00075777
Sponsor's protocol ID
AMC-038
Other IDs
U01CA070019, CDR0000349348
Status last verified
Aug 2014
First submitted
9 Jan 2004
Last updated
29 Aug 2014
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing valproic acid in people with Sarcoma, run by AIDS Malignancy Consortium at 13 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 29 Aug 2014. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 13 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Toxicity-related discontinuation rate (time frame: 28 days). The study lists 4 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 29 Aug 2014.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in