AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00078845

Amifostine in Treating Peripheral Neuropathy Caused by Paclitaxel in Patients With Solid Tumors

A Phase 2 study testing Amifostine in people with Breast Cancer and Lung Cancer, run by M.D. Anderson Cancer Center at 15 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Amifostine may be effective in reducing pain, numbness, tingling, and other symptoms of peripheral neuropathy. PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well amifostine works in reducing pain, numbness, tingling, and other symptoms of peripheral neuropathy in patients who have received paclitaxel for… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer, Lung Cancer, Neurotoxicity
What is being tested?
Amifostine
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
24 participants
Where
15 sitesUnited States
Study dates
May 2004to May 2007
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of a solid tumor, including, but not limited to the following:
  • Ovarian cancer
  • Lung cancer
  • Prostate cancer
  • Breast cancer
  • Previously treated with paclitaxel
  • Peripheral neuropathy (e.g., numbness, tingling, and/or pain in distal extremities) believed to be caused by paclitaxel only or the combination of paclitaxel and carboplatin
  • At least 18 out of 44 on the FACT-GOG-NTX scale
  • Persistent neuropathy for at least 2, but no more than 12 months after chemotherapy
  • Not improving
  • No other possible cause of neuropathy (e.g., alcoholism, diabetes, or peripheral vascular disease)
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Sex

  • Not specified

Menopausal status

  • Not specified

Performance status

  • Karnofsky 50-100%

Life expectancy

  • More than 2 months

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin ≤ 2.0 mg/dL

Renal

  • Creatinine ≤ 2.0 mg/dL
  • Calcium ≥ lower limit of normal

Cardiovascular

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior cerebrovascular accident

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No other significant comorbid medical condition that would preclude study participation
  • No known sensitivity to aminothiol compounds

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior cisplatin
  • No chemotherapy during and for at least 3 months after study participation

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • No concurrent monoamine oxidase inhibitors

Trial locations and contacts

15 sites in 1 country.

15 sites in 1 country

United States15 sites
  • Christus St. Frances Cabrini Center for Cancer Care

    Alexandria, Louisiana, 71301

  • CCOP - Columbus

    Columbus, Ohio, 43215

  • CCOP - Central Illinois

    Decatur, Illinois, 62526

  • CCOP - Grand Rapids

    Grand Rapids, Michigan, 49503

  • University of Texas M.D. Anderson CCOP Research Base

    Houston, Texas, 77030-4009

  • CCOP - Kalamazoo

    Kalamazoo, Michigan, 49007-3731

  • CCOP - Kansas City

    Kansas City, Missouri, 64131

  • CCOP - Marshfield Clinic Research Foundation

    Marshfield, Wisconsin, 54449

  • All Saints Cancer Center at Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare

    Racine, Wisconsin, 53405

  • CCOP - Upstate Carolina

    Spartanburg, South Carolina, 29303

  • Cancer Research for the Ozarks

    Springfield, Missouri, 65807

  • CCOP - Northwest

    Tacoma, Washington, 98405-0986

  • CCOP - Scott and White Hospital

    Temple, Texas, 76508

  • CCOP - Carle Cancer Center

    Urbana, Illinois, 61801

  • CCOP - Wichita

    Wichita, Kansas, 67214-3882

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase II Trial Of Subcutaneous Amifostine For Reversal Of Persistent Paclitaxel-Induced Peripheral Neuropathy

RATIONALE: Amifostine may be effective in reducing pain, numbness, tingling, and other symptoms of peripheral neuropathy.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well amifostine works in reducing pain, numbness, tingling, and other symptoms of peripheral neuropathy in patients who have received paclitaxel for solid tumors.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the percentage of patients with solid tumors who have persistent paclitaxel-induced peripheral neuropathy who benefit, defined as a decrease of at least 20% on their FUNCTIONAL ASSESSMENT OF CANCER THERAPY/ GYNECOLOGIC ONCOLOGY GROUP NEUROTOXICITY (FACT/GOG-Ntx) FACT-GOG-NTX score, from treatment with subcutaneous amifostine.
  • Determine whether there is sufficient evidence of reversal activity of this drug in these patients to justify a phase III study.

Secondary

  • Compare the acute toxic effects of this drug administered subcutaneously in these patients vs IV administrations of this drug historically and/or during the GOG-0192 study.
  • Determine the capability of the Weinstein Enhanced Sensory Test to provide objective, quantitative evidence for improvement in patients who have subjective improvement as self-reported on the FACT-GOG-NTX scale.
  • Determine whether any benefit in patients treated with this drug is transient or lasts at least 8 weeks.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label, multicenter study.

Patients receive amifostine subcutaneously three times weekly for 4 weeks in the absence of symptom progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients achieving a complete or partial response receive an additional 4 weeks of therapy.

Neuropathy symptoms are assessed using the FACT-GOG-NTX questionnaire administered at baseline, weekly during therapy, and at 12 weeks and the Weinstein Enhanced Sensory Test administered at baseline and at 4, 8, and 12 weeks.

Patients are followed at 12 weeks.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 20-40 patients will be accrued for this study within 10-20 months.

Being tested
Amifostine
Keywords
neurotoxicity, unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific, recurrent prostate cancer, stage I prostate cancer, stage IIB prostate cancer, stage IIA prostate cancer, stage III prostate cancer, stage IV prostate cancer, recurrent non-small cell lung cancer, stage I non-small cell lung cancer, stage II non-small cell lung cancer, stage IIIA non-small cell lung cancer, stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer, stage IV non-small cell lung cancer, limited stage small cell lung cancer, extensive stage small cell lung cancer, recurrent small cell lung cancer, recurrent breast cancer, stage I breast cancer, stage II breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Lung Neoplasms, Neurotoxicity Syndromes, Ovarian Neoplasms, Prostatic Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung, Small Cell Lung Carcinoma, Carcinoma, Ovarian Epithelial

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • AmifostineDrug

    Also called amifostine trihydrate

    500 mg three times a week.

Study groups in NCT00078845
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
AmifostineExperimental500 mg subcutaneous three times a week on Monday, Wednesday and Friday for 4 weeks.
Receives: Drug: Amifostine

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Neurotoxicity secondary to cancer therapy as measured by FACT-GOG-NTX scale

    11-item FACT/GOG-NTX questionnaire completed weekly following chemotherapy treatment.

    Measured: 12 weeks

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted9 Mar 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2004
  3. Primary completionMay 2007
  4. Study completionMay 2007

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Supportive care
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
24 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00078845
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000330006
Other IDs
MDA-CCC-0223, MDA-CCC-0203, MDA-2003-0789
Status last verified
Oct 2012
First submitted
8 Mar 2004
Last updated
17 Oct 2012
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing Amifostine in people with Breast Cancer and Lung Cancer, run by M.D. Anderson Cancer Center at 15 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 17 Oct 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 15 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Neurotoxicity secondary to cancer therapy as measured by FACT-GOG-NTX scale (time frame: 12 weeks). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 17 Oct 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in