AzTrials
AzTrials

LeukemiaPhase 2NCT00083187

VNP40101M in Treating Patients With Acute Myelogenous Leukemia or High-Risk Myelodysplasia

A Phase 2 study testing hydroxyurea and laromustine in people with Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndromes, run by Vion Pharmaceuticals at 5 sites in 3 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as VNP40101M and hydroxyurea, work in different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Hydroxyurea may help VNP40101M kill more cancer cells by making cancer cells more sensitive to the drug. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
What is being tested?
hydroxyurea and laromustine
How many people
230 participants
Where
5 sitesin 3 countries
Study dates
Nov 2005to Aug 2008
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed diagnosis of 1 of the following:
  • Acute myelogenous leukemia (AML), meeting the following criteria:
  • In first relapse after first treatment-induced complete remission (CR) (closed to accrual as of 06/09/05)
  • Duration of first CR less than 12 months
  • No prior treatment for first relapse except hydroxyurea
  • FAB type M0, M1, M2, M4-7
  • No acute promyelocytic leukemia
  • No prior treatment with a standard induction regimen containing cytotoxic agents* (for patients 60 years of age or older)
  • High-risk myelodysplasia, meeting the following criteria:
  • 60 years of age and over
  • No prior cytotoxic chemotherapy* except hydroxyurea
  • Prior gemtuzumab ozogamicin allowed
  • High risk defined as International Prognostic Scoring System score ≥ 1.5, defined by cytogenetics, % marrow blasts, and lineage cytopenias NOTE: *Prior low-dose, single-agent cytarabine, decitabine, or azacitidine not considered prior cytotoxic chemotherapy

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin ≤ 2.0 mg/dL
  • ALT or AST ≤ 5 times upper limit of normal
  • Chronic hepatitis allowed

Renal

  • Creatinine ≤ 2.0 mg/dL

Cardiovascular

  • No myocardial infarction within the past 3 months
  • No symptomatic coronary artery disease
  • No uncontrolled arrhythmias
  • No uncontrolled congestive heart failure
  • No other active heart disease

Other

  • No uncontrolled active infection
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Up to 4 leukapheresis procedures allowed during the first 15 days of study treatment

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • Concurrent additional hydroxyurea (maximum dose of 5 g daily for up to 4 days) allowed between days 4 and 15 of each study course to control elevated blast levels

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • Recovered from all prior therapy
  • At least 72 hours since prior anti-leukemic treatment with a non-cytotoxic agent
  • No concurrent disulfiram (Antabuse)
  • No other concurrent anticancer drugs except anagrelide within the first 15 days of study treatment to control elevated platelet counts
  • No other concurrent treatment for leukemia, except hydroxyurea used during study treatment
  • No other concurrent investigational drugs

Trial locations and contacts

5 sites in 3 countries.

5 sites in 3 countries

United States3 sites
  • Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21231

  • Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Durham, North Carolina, 27710

  • M.D. Anderson Cancer Center at University of Texas

    Houston, Texas, 77030-4009

Other trials in United States

France1 site
  • Marseille Institute of Cancer - Institut J. Paoli and I. Calmettes

    Marseille, 13273

Other trials in France

United Kingdom1 site
  • King's College Hospital

    London, England, SE5 8RX

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Study of VNP40101M For Patients With Acute Myelogenous Leukemia Or High-Risk Myelodysplasia

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as VNP40101M and hydroxyurea, work in different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Hydroxyurea may help VNP40101M kill more cancer cells by making cancer cells more sensitive to the drug.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well giving VNP40101M with hydroxyurea works in treating patients with acute myelogenous leukemia or high-risk myelodysplasia.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the complete response rate to VNP40101M in patients with acute myelogenous leukemia or high-risk myelodysplasia .
  • Determine the toxic effects of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the pharmacokinetics of this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label, multicenter study. Patients are stratified to acute myelogenous leukemia (AML) or high risk myelodysplasia (MDS) patients ≥ 60 years old with no prior treatment vs AML patients any age in first relapse. (AML patients any age in first relapse closed to accrual 06/09/05).

Patients receive VNP40101M IV over 30 minutes once on day 1 (course 1).

Four to five weeks after the first course, patients undergo bone marrow aspiration and biopsy. If the bone marrow is improved but contains residual leukemia, patients receive a second course of VNP40101M (at the same dose as in course 1). If patients achieve complete response (CR), or partial CR after the first or second course, a consolidation course may be given comprising VNP40101M at a reduced dose.

Patients are followed monthly for 6 months, every 2 months for 12 months, and then every 3 months for 18 months .

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 230 patients (100 with acute myelogenous leukemia (AML) or high-risk myelodysplasia and 130 with AML in first relapse) will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
hydroxyurea, laromustine
Keywords
recurrent adult acute myeloid leukemia, untreated adult acute myeloid leukemia, atypical chronic myeloid leukemia, BCR-ABL1 negative, chronic myelomonocytic leukemia, myelodysplastic/myeloproliferative neoplasm, unclassifiable, secondary myelodysplastic syndromes, de novo myelodysplastic syndromes, adult acute myeloid leukemia with t(8;21)(q22;q22), adult acute myeloid leukemia with t(16;16)(p13;q22), adult acute myeloid leukemia with inv(16)(p13;q22), adult acute myeloid leukemia with 11q23 (MLL) abnormalities, adult acute myeloid leukemia with t(15;17)(q22;q12)
Medical subject headings
Leukemia, Myelodysplastic Syndromes, Myelodysplastic-Myeloproliferative Diseases, Leukemia, Myeloid, Acute, Leukemia, Myeloid, Chronic, Atypical, BCR-ABL Negative, Leukemia, Myelomonocytic, Chronic, Myeloproliferative Disorders, Congenital Abnormalities

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • hydroxyureaDrug

  • laromustineDrug

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Complete response rate

  2. Toxic effects

  3. Pharmacokinetics

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted17 May 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2005
  3. Primary completionJan 2007
  4. Study completionAug 2008

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
230 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00083187
Sponsor's protocol ID
VION-CLI-033
Other IDs
CDR0000365510
Status last verified
Aug 2008
First submitted
14 May 2004
Last updated
18 Jul 2013
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Gerson SL, Karp J, Rizzieri D, et al.: Low levels of pre-treatment O6-alkylguanine transferase (AGT) in patients with AML correlate with response to Cloretazine® (VNP40101M) induction therapy. [Abstract] American Association for Cancer Research: 98th Annual Meeting, April 14-18, 2007, Los Angeles, CA. A-2640, 2007.

  • Giles F, Rizzieri D, Karp J, Vey N, Ravandi F, Faderl S, Khan KD, Verhoef G, Wijermans P, Advani A, Roboz G, Kantarjian H, Bilgrami SF, Ferrant A, Daenen SM, Karsten V, Cahill A, Albitar M, Mufti G, O'Brien S. Cloretazine (VNP40101M), a novel sulfonylhydrazine alkylating agent, in patients age 60 years or older with previously untreated acute myeloid leukemia. J Clin Oncol. 2007 Jan 1;25(1):25-31. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2006.07.0961. Epub 2006 Dec 4.

    PubMed 17146105

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing hydroxyurea and laromustine in people with Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndromes, run by Vion Pharmaceuticals at 5 sites in 3 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 18 Jul 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 5 sites in United States, France, United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Complete response rate. The study lists 3 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00083187, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 18 Jul 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in