AzTrials
AzTrials

Prostate CancerPhase 2NCT00085228

Docetaxel With or Without Oblimersen in Treating Patients With Hormone-Refractory Adenocarcinoma (Cancer) of the Prostate

A Phase 2 study testing oblimersen sodium and docetaxel in people with Prostate Cancer, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC at 16 sites in 11 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as docetaxel, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Oblimersen may increase the effectiveness of docetaxel by making tumor cells more sensitive to the drug. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older, men only
Conditions the study is for
Prostate Cancer
What is being tested?
oblimersen sodium and docetaxel
How many people
116 participants
Where
16 sitesin 11 countries
Study dates
Apr 2004to Jan 2006
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • Men only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the prostate
  • Hormone-refractory disease
  • Disease progression after prior hormonal therapy with luteinizing hormone-releasing hormone (LH-RH) analogues or orchiectomy and antiandrogens (given together or consecutively)
  • Prostate-specific antigen (PSA) progression documented by at least 2 increases in PSA values over previous PSA reference value
  • Must demonstrate continued PSA elevation for at least 6 weeks after discontinuation of antiandrogen therapy
  • PSA ≥ 5 ng/mL (Hybritech or equivalent) within the past week
  • Testosterone ≤ 0.5 ng/mL* NOTE: *Patients with medical castration with LH-RH analogue must continue with LH-RH analogue throughout the study
  • No evidence of painful and/or destructive bone metastases requiring concurrent radiotherapy, bisphosphonates, or bone-seeking radionuclides
  • Other bone metastases allowed
  • No clinical evidence of brain metastases

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • WHO 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
  • WBC ≥ 3,500/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 10 g/dL

Hepatic

  • AST and ALT ≤ 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Bilirubin ≤ ULN
  • PTT and PT ≤ 1.5 times ULN OR
  • INR ≤ 1.3

Renal

  • Creatinine ≤ 1.5 times ULN OR
  • Creatinine clearance ≥ 50 mL/min

Cardiovascular

  • No unstable angina
  • No uncontrolled hypertension
  • No deep venous thrombosis within the past 6 months
  • No cerebrovascular accident, transient ischemic attack, or myocardial infarction within the past 6 months

Pulmonary

  • No pulmonary embolism
  • No history of interstitial pneumonitis
  • No history of pulmonary fibrosis

Other

  • Adequate venous access
  • HIV negative
  • No active infection
  • No pre-existing neuropathy
  • No hypersensitivity to phosphorothioates
  • No hypersensitivity to oligonucleotides or any other component of the oblimersen formulation or to drugs formulated with polysorbate
  • No psychological, familial, sociological, or geographical condition that would preclude study compliance
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated superficial urothelial or skin cancer

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • Prior estramustine allowed
  • No other prior chemotherapy
  • No concurrent estramustine

Endocrine therapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 6 weeks since prior flutamide, bicalutamide, or nilutamide
  • More than 6 weeks since prior hormonal manipulation with PC-SPES
  • Concurrent LH-RH agonist allowed
  • No concurrent antiandrogens

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior radiotherapy involving > 25% of marrow-producing area
  • No prior bone-seeking radionuclides
  • No concurrent radiotherapy (including palliative therapy for painful bone metastases)
  • No concurrent bone-seeking radionuclides

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics

Other

  • Prior bisphosphonates allowed
  • No concurrent anticoagulation except for low-dose warfarin (1 mg/day)
  • No concurrent regular (daily) intake of opioid analgesics
  • No other concurrent experimental drugs or anticancer drugs
  • No concurrent bisphosphonates

Trial locations and contacts

16 sites in 11 countries.

16 sites in 11 countries

Belgium5 sites
  • Onze Lieve Vrouw Ziekenhuis Aalst

    Aalst, B-9300

  • Institut Jules Bordet

    Brussels, 1000

  • Cliniques Universitaires Saint-Luc

    Brussels, 1200

  • Universitair Ziekenhuis Gent

    Ghent, B-9000

  • U.Z. Gasthuisberg

    Leuven, B-3000

Other trials in Belgium

United Kingdom2 sites
  • Western Infirmary

    Glasgow, Scotland, G11 6NT

  • Saint Bartholomew's Hospital

    London, England, EC1A 7BE

Other trials in United Kingdom

Austria1 site
  • Kaiser Franz Josef Hospital

    Vienna, A-1100

Other trials in Austria

Denmark1 site
  • Rigshospitalet - Copenhagen University Hospital

    Copenhagen, 2100

Other trials in Denmark

France1 site
  • CHU de Grenoble - Hopital de la Tronche

    Grenoble, 38043

Other trials in France

Israel1 site
  • Assaf Harofeh Medical Center

    Tsrifin, 70300

Other trials in Israel

Italy1 site
  • Ospedale S. Camillo-Forlanini

    Rome, 00152

Other trials in Italy

Netherlands1 site
  • Academisch Medisch Centrum at University of Amsterdam

    Amsterdam, 1105 AZ

Other trials in Netherlands

Poland1 site
  • Maria Sklodowska-Curie Memorial Cancer Center and Institute of Oncology

    Warsaw, 02-781

Other trials in Poland

Portugal1 site
  • Hospital Desterro

    Lisbon, 2700

Other trials in Portugal

Spain1 site
  • Hospital General Universitari Vall d'Hebron

    Barcelona, 08035

Other trials in Spain

About this study

Official title: Randomized Phase II Trial of Docetaxel (Taxotere) and Oblimersen (Antisense Oligonucleotide Directed to BCL-2) Versus Taxotere Alone in Patients With Hormone-Refractory Prostate Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as docetaxel, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Oblimersen may increase the effectiveness of docetaxel by making tumor cells more sensitive to the drug.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is studying how well giving docetaxel together with oblimersen works compared to docetaxel alone in treating patients with hormone-refractory adenocarcinoma (cancer) of the prostate.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Compare the activity of docetaxel with or without oblimersen, in terms of prostate-specific antigen response, in patients with hormone-refractory adenocarcinoma of the prostate.
  • Compare the toxicity of these regimens in these patients.

Secondary

  • Compare the time to progression in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare survival of patients treated with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to participating center, metastatic disease (M0 vs M1 with non-measurable lesions only vs M1 with measurable lesions), prior estramustine (yes vs no), and prior bisphosphonates (yes vs no). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour on day 5 and oblimersen IV continuously on days 1-7.
  • Arm II: Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour on day 1. In both arms, treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 12 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Patients are followed every 8 weeks until progressive disease and then every 16 weeks thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 102 patients (51 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Prostate Cancer
Being tested
oblimersen sodium, docetaxel
Keywords
adenocarcinoma of the prostate, recurrent prostate cancer, stage IV prostate cancer
Medical subject headings
Prostatic Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Prostate-specific antigen response as measured by Bubley criteria every course until progression or after 12 courses

  2. Severe toxic events as measured by CTCAE v3.0 every course until progression or after 12 courses

Secondary outcomes (4)
  1. Time to progression as measured by RECIST and Bubley criteria every 3 courses, and then every 8 weeks until progression, and every 16 weeks from progression until death

  2. Toxicity as measured by CTCAE v3.0 every 3 courses, and then every 8 weeks until progression, and every 16 weeks from progression until death

  3. Objective response as measured by RECIST every 3 courses, and then every 8 weeks until progression, and every 16 weeks from progression until death

  4. Overall survival as measured by Logrank every 3 courses, and then every 8 weeks until progression, and every 16 weeks from progression until death

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted11 Jun 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startApr 2004
  3. Primary completionJan 2006

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Enrolment
116 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00085228
Sponsor's protocol ID
EORTC-30021
Other IDs
EORTC-30021, AVENTIS-AVE3139E/2501
Status last verified
Sep 2012
First submitted
10 Jun 2004
Last updated
24 Sep 2012
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Sternberg CN, Dumez H, Van Poppel H, Skoneczna I, Sella A, Daugaard G, Gil T, Graham J, Carpentier P, Calabro F, Collette L, Lacombe D; EORTC Genitourinary Tract Cancer Group. Docetaxel plus oblimersen sodium (Bcl-2 antisense oligonucleotide): an EORTC multicenter, randomized phase II study in patients with castration-resistant prostate cancer. Ann Oncol. 2009 Jul;20(7):1264-9. doi: 10.1093/annonc/mdn784. Epub 2009 Mar 17.

    PubMed 19297314
  • Sternberg CN, Dumez H, Van Poppel H, et al.: Multicenter randomized EORTC trial 30021 of docetaxel + oblimersen and docetaxel in patients (pts) with hormone refractory prostate cancer (HRPC). [Abstract] American Society of Clinical Oncology 2007 Prostate Cancer Symposium, 22-24 February 2007, Orlando, FL. A-144, 2007.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing oblimersen sodium and docetaxel in people with Prostate Cancer, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC at 16 sites in 11 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 24 Sep 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 16 sites in Belgium, United Kingdom, Austria, Denmark, France and 6 more countries. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Prostate-specific antigen response as measured by Bubley criteria every course until progression or after 12 courses. The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00085228, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 24 Sep 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in