AzTrials
AzTrials

Lung CancerPhase 2NCT00087438

Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Inoperable Stage I or Stage II Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing stereotactic body radiation therapy in people with Lung Cancer, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group at 2 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Stereotactic body radiation therapy may be able to deliver x-rays directly to the tumor and cause less damage to normal tissue. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lung Cancer
What is being tested?
stereotactic body radiation therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
59 participants
Where
2 sitesUnited States
Study dates
May 2004to Dec 2016
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC)
  • The following primary cancer subtypes are eligible:
  • Squamous cell carcinoma
  • Adenocarcinoma
  • Large cell carcinoma
  • Bronchoalveolar cell carcinoma
  • Non-small cell carcinoma not otherwise specified
  • Stage I or II disease based on 1 of the following tumor node metastasis (TNM) stage criteria:
  • T1, N0, M0
  • T2 (≤ 5 cm), N0, M0
  • T3 (≤ 5 cm), N0, M0 (chest wall primary tumors only)
  • No primary tumor of any T-stage within or touching the zone of the proximal bronchial tree* NOTE: *Defined as a volume 2 cm in all directions around the proximal bronchial tree (carina, right and left main bronchi, right and left upper lobe bronchi, intermedius bronchus, right middle lobe bronchus, lingular bronchus, and right and left lower lobe bronchi)
  • No primary T3 tumors involving the central chest (≤ 2 cm toward carina invasion) or structures of the mediastinum
  • Any hilar or mediastinal lymph nodes > 1 cm on CT scan OR demonstrating suspicious uptake on positron-emission tomography scan must be biopsied and confirmed negative for NSCLC
  • The primary tumor must be deemed technically resectable with a reasonable possibility of obtaining a gross total resection with negative margins (defined as a potentially curative resection (PCR))
  • Deemed medically inoperable based on pulmonary function for surgical resection of NSCLC secondary to an underlying physiological problem, including any of the following medical conditions*:
  • Baseline forced expiratory volume (FEV)_1< 40% of predicted
  • Postoperative predicted FEV_1 < 30% of predicted
  • Severely reduced diffusion capacity
  • Baseline hypoxemia and/or hypercapnia
  • Exercise oxygen consumption < 50% of predicted
  • Severe pulmonary hypertension
  • Diabetes mellitus with severe end organ damage
  • Severe cerebral, cardiac, or peripheral vascular disease
  • Severe chronic heart disease NOTE: *Patients who refuse a PCR due to preference, ideology, emotional or psychological issues, mental illness, or inability to give informed consent are not eligible
  • No evidence of regional or distant metastases

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • Zubrod 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Not specified

Cardiovascular

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No active pericardial infection

Pulmonary

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No active pulmonary infection

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No active systemic infection
  • No other concurrent illness that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • No concurrent biologic therapy
  • No concurrent vaccine therapy

Chemotherapy

  • No concurrent chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • No prior lung or mediastinal radiotherapy
  • No concurrent standard fractionated radiotherapy
  • No concurrent intensity modulated radiotherapy
  • No concurrent cobalt-60 or charged particle beams (including electrons, protons, or heavier ions)

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No concurrent surgery

Other

  • No other concurrent antineoplastic therapy

Trial locations and contacts

2 sites in 1 country.

United States2 sites
  • M.D. Anderson Cancer Center at University of Texas

    Houston, Texas, 77030-4009

  • James P. Wilmot Cancer Center at University of Rochester Medical Center

    Rochester, New York, 14642

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Trial of Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy (SBRT) in the Treatment of Patients With Medically Inoperable Stage I/II Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Stereotactic body radiation therapy may be able to deliver x-rays directly to the tumor and cause less damage to normal tissue.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well stereotactic body radiation therapy works in treating patients with inoperable stage I or stage II non-small cell lung cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine whether treatment with stereotactic body radiotherapy results in acceptable local control (i.e., ≥ 80%) in patients with medically inoperable stage I or II non-small cell lung cancer.

Secondary

  • Determine treatment-related toxicity in patients treated with this therapy.
  • Determine disease-free survival, overall survival, and patterns of failure in patients treated with this therapy.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

Patients receive 3 fractions of stereotactic body radiotherapy over 8-14 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Patients are followed up at 6 and 12 weeks, every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 52 patients will be accrued for this study within 26 months.

Conditions
Lung Cancer
Keywords
stage I non-small cell lung cancer, stage II non-small cell lung cancer, squamous cell lung cancer, large cell lung cancer, adenocarcinoma of the lung, bronchoalveolar cell lung cancer
Medical subject headings
Lung Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung, Adenocarcinoma of Lung, Adenocarcinoma, Bronchiolo-Alveolar

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00087438
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT)Experimental20 Gy per fraction for 3 fractions over 1.5-2 weeks, for a total of 60 Gy
Receives: Radiation: stereotactic body radiation therapy

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Local Control at 2 Years

    Local control is defined as absence of local failure, which is defined as the combination of primary tumor failure (PTF) or involved lobe failure (ILF). PTF was defined based on meeting two criteria: 1. Local enlargement defined as ≥ 20% increase in the longest diameter of the gross tumor volume (GTV) per computerized tomography (CT), and 2. Evidence of tumor viability. Tumor viability could be affirmed by either demonstrating positron emission tomography (PET) imaging with uptake of a similar intensity as the pretreatment staging PET, or by repeat biopsy confirming carcinoma. PTF included marginal failures occurring within 1 cm of the planning target volume (PTV). ILF is defined as failure beyond the primary tumor but within the involved lobe. Local control time is defined as time from start of treatment to the the date of local recurrence, last known follow-up (censored), or death without local failure (censored). Rates are estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method.

    Measured: From the start of treatment to 2 years

Secondary outcomes (6)
  1. Proportion of Subjects With Specified Adverse Events

    Specified adverse events are defined as any treatment-related adverse events that are grade 4, grade 5, or any of the following treatment-related grade 3 adverse events:

    • Gastrointestinal: dysphagia, esophagitis, esophageal stricture, esophageal ulceration;
    • Cardiac: pericarditis, pericardial effusion, cardiomyopathy, ventricular dysfunction;
    • Neurologic: myelitis, neuropathy (cranial and motor)
    • Hemorrhage: pulmonary or upper respiratory
    • Pulmonary: decline in pulmonary function as measured by pulmonary function tests, pneumonitis, pulmonary fibrosis, hypoxemia, pleural effusion.

    Adverse events are graded using CTCAE v3.0. Grade refers to the severity of the AE. The Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v3.0 assigns Grades 1 through 5 with unique clinical descriptions of severity for each AE based on this general guideline: Grade 1 Mild AE, Grade 2 Moderate AE, Grade 3 Severe AE, Grade 4 Life-threatening or disabling AE, Grade 5 Death related to AE.

    Measured: From randomization to last follow-up. Analysis occurred after all patients had been on study for at least 2 years. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 4.2 years.

  2. Rate of Local Recurrence at 2 Years

    Local failure is defined as the combination of primary tumor failure (PTF) or involved lobe failure (ILF). PTF was defined based on meeting two criteria: 1. Local enlargement defined as ≥ 20% increase in the longest diameter of the gross tumor volume (GTV) per computerized tomography (CT), and 2. Evidence of tumor viability. Tumor viability could be affirmed by either demonstrating positron emission tomography (PET) imaging with uptake of a similar intensity as the pretreatment staging PET, or by repeat biopsy confirming carcinoma. PTF included marginal failures occurring within 1 cm of the planning target volume (PTV). ILF is defined as failure beyond the primary tumor but within the involved lobe. Time to local recurrence is defined as time from start of treatment to the the date of local recurrence, last known follow-up (censored), or death without local recurrence (censored).

    Measured: From the start of treatment to 2 years

  3. Rate of Regional Recurrence at 2 Years

    Regional recurrence is defined as hilar, mediastinal, and supraclavicular nodal failure.Time to regional recurrence is defined as time from start of treatment to the date of first regional recurrence, last known follow-up (censored), or death without regional recurrence (competing risk). Rates are estimated using the cumulative incidence method.

    Measured: From the start of treatment to 2 years

  4. Rate of Disseminated Recurrence at 2 Years

    Disseminated recurrence is defined as uninvolved lobe failures and failures beyond the lungs and regional lymph nodes. Time to disseminated recurrence is defined as time from start of treatment to the the date of disseminated recurrence, last known follow-up (censored), or death without disseminated recurrence (competing risk). Rates are estimated using the cumulative incidence method.

    Measured: From the start of treatment to 2 years

  5. Rate of Disease-free Survival at 2 Years

    Disease is defined as local or regional progression or development of distant metastases. Disease-free survival time is defined as time from start of treatment to the date of disease, death, or last known follow-up (censored). Disease-free survival rates are estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method.

    Measured: From the start of treatment to 2 years

  6. Rate of Overall Survival at 2 Years

    Overall survival time is defined as time from start of treatment to the date of death from any cause. Overall survival rates are estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. Patients last known to be alive are censored at the date of last contact.

    Measured: From the start of treatment to 2 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted12 Jul 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2004
  3. Primary completionMar 2010
  4. Study completionDec 2016

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
59 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00087438
Sponsor's protocol ID
RTOG-0236
Other IDs
CDR0000371578
Status last verified
Dec 2018
First submitted
8 Jul 2004
Last updated
16 Jan 2019
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Hurkmans CW, Cuijpers JP, Lagerwaard FJ, Widder J, van der Heide UA, Schuring D, Senan S. Dosimetric evaluation of heterogeneity corrections for RTOG 0236: stereotactic body radiotherapy of inoperable Stage I-II non-small-cell lung cancer. In reply to Dr. Xiao et al. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2009 Sep 1;75(1):318; author reply 318. doi: 10.1016/j.ijrobp.2009.05.050. No abstract available.

    PubMed 19695451
  • Timmerman R, Galvin J, Michalski J, Straube W, Ibbott G, Martin E, Abdulrahman R, Swann S, Fowler J, Choy H. Accreditation and quality assurance for Radiation Therapy Oncology Group: Multicenter clinical trials using Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy in lung cancer. Acta Oncol. 2006;45(7):779-86. doi: 10.1080/02841860600902213.

    PubMed 16982540
  • Timmerman R, Paulus R, Galvin J, Michalski J, Straube W, Bradley J, Fakiris A, Bezjak A, Videtic G, Johnstone D, Fowler J, Gore E, Choy H. Stereotactic body radiation therapy for inoperable early stage lung cancer. JAMA. 2010 Mar 17;303(11):1070-6. doi: 10.1001/jama.2010.261.

    PubMed 20233825
  • Xiao Y, Papiez L, Paulus R, Timmerman R, Straube WL, Bosch WR, Michalski J, Galvin JM. Dosimetric evaluation of heterogeneity corrections for RTOG 0236: stereotactic body radiotherapy of inoperable stage I-II non-small-cell lung cancer. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2009 Mar 15;73(4):1235-42. doi: 10.1016/j.ijrobp.2008.11.019.

    PubMed 19251095
  • Timmerman RD, Paulus R, Galvin J, et al.: Toxicity analysis of RTOG 0236 using stereotactic body radiation therapy to treat medically inoperable early stage lung cancer patients. [Abstract] Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys 69 (3 Suppl): A-151, S86, 2007.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing stereotactic body radiation therapy in people with Lung Cancer, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group at 2 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 16 Jan 2019. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 2 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 7 Apr 2014). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Local Control at 2 Years (time frame: From the start of treatment to 2 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00087438, which also lists 5 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 16 Jan 2019.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in