AzTrials
AzTrials

Lung CancerPhase 3NCT00091156

Gefitinib After Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Stage IIIB or Stage IV Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing gefitinib and adjuvant therapy in people with Lung Cancer, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC at 28 sites in 5 countries.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Gefitinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for their growth. It is not yet known whether giving gefitinib after initial chemotherapy is effective in delaying the recurrence of non-small cell lung cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lung Cancer
What is being tested?
gefitinib and adjuvant therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
598 participants
Where
28 sitesin 5 countries
Study dates
May 2004to Jul 2008
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed non-small cell lung cancer meeting 1 of the following stage criteria:
  • Stage IIIB
  • Pleural fluid and/or supraclavicular nodes allowed provided patient is not eligible for consolidation radiotherapy
  • Stage IV disease
  • No disease progression after 2-6 courses of prior platinum-containing first-line palliative induction chemotherapy
  • Brain metastases allowed provided patients are asymptomatic after cranial irradiation completed at least 4 weeks ago

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • WHO 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Not specified

Pulmonary

  • No history, signs, or symptoms of clinically active interstitial lung disease
  • Patients with chronic, stable, asymptomatic radiographic changes are eligible

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No psychological, familial, sociological, or geographical condition that would preclude study compliance and follow-up
  • No other malignant disease within the past 5 years except basal cell skin cancer or adequately treated superficial carcinoma of the cervix

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • No concurrent immunotherapy

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • Recovered from prior chemotherapy (alopecia allowed)
  • No concurrent chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • No prior epidermal growth factor receptor inhibitors
  • No concurrent administration of any of the following drugs:
  • Phenytoin
  • Carbamazepine
  • Rifampin
  • Phenobarbital
  • Hypericum perforatum (St. John's wort)
  • No other concurrent anticancer therapy
  • No other concurrent experimental drugs

Trial locations and contacts

28 sites in 5 countries.

28 sites in 5 countries

Italy17 sites
  • Ospedali Riuniti di Bergamo

    Bergamo, 24100

  • Ospedale Santa Croce

    Cuneo, 12100

  • Universita di Ferrara

    Ferrara, 44100

  • Presidio Ospedaliero di Livorno

    Livorno, 57100

  • Ospedale Luigi Sacco

    Milan, 20157

  • Ospedale Niguarda Ca'Granda

    Milan, 20162

  • Azienda Ospedaliera - Universitaria di Modena

    Modena, 41100

  • Azienda Ospedaliera Maggiore Della Carita

    Novara, 28100

  • Azienda Ospedale S. Luigi at University of Torino

    Orbassano, 10043

  • Azienda Ospedaliera Policlinico Paolo Giaccone

    Palermo, 90127

  • Azienda Ospedaliera Di Parma

    Parma, 43100

  • Azienda Ospedaliera "Santa Maria Degli Angeli"

    Pordenone, 33170

  • Ospedale Sta. Maria Delle Croci

    Ravenna, 48100

  • Arcispedale S. Maria Nuova

    Reggio Emilia, 42100

  • Azienda Ospedaliera S. Camillo-Forlanini

    Rome, 00152

  • Ospedale di Circolo e Fondazione Macchi

    Varese, 21100

  • Ospedale Civile Maggiore - Borgo Trento

    Verona, 37126

Other trials in Italy

Netherlands5 sites
  • Jeroen Bosch Ziekenhuis

    's-Hertogenbosch, 5211 NL

  • Rijnstate Hospital

    Arnhem, 6800 TA

  • Kennemer Gasthuis - Locatie EG

    Haarlem, 2000

  • Leiden University Medical Center

    Leiden, 2300 RC

  • St. Franciscus Gasthuis

    Rotterdam, 3045 PM

Other trials in Netherlands

Belgium4 sites
  • Ziekenhuis Netwerk Antwerpen Middelheim

    Antwerp, B-2020

  • Ghent University

    Ghent, B-9000

  • CHR - Clinique Saint Joseph - Hopital de Warqueguies

    Mons, B-7000

  • Clinique Sainte Elisabeth

    Namur, 5000

Other trials in Belgium

Cyprus1 site
  • Bank Of Cyprus Oncology Centre

    Nicosia, 2006 Strovolos

Other trials in Cyprus

Egypt1 site
  • National Cancer Institute of Egypt

    Cairo

Other trials in Egypt

About this study

Official title: A Randomized Phase III Study of Follow Up With or Without Adjuvant Gefitinib (Iressa™) Following Chemotherapy in Patients With Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

RATIONALE: Gefitinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for their growth. It is not yet known whether giving gefitinib after initial chemotherapy is effective in delaying the recurrence of non-small cell lung cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying gefitinib to see how well it works compared to placebo in delaying tumor recurrence in patients who have undergone initial chemotherapy for stage IIIB or stage IV non-small cell lung cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Compare overall survival of patients with stage IIIB or IV non-small cell lung cancer that did not progress on prior first-line palliative induction chemotherapy when treated with adjuvant gefitinib vs placebo.

Secondary

  • Compare progression-free survival of patients treated with these regimens.
  • Determine the safety and toxicity of gefitinib in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blind, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to initial disease stage (IIIB vs IV), WHO performance status at the end of prior first-line palliative induction chemotherapy (0-1 vs 2), best patient response to prior first-line palliative induction chemotherapy (objective response vs stable disease), and participating center. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive oral gefitinib once daily.
  • Arm II: Patients receive oral placebo once daily. In both arms, treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years and then every 6 months thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 598 patients (299 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 8.5 years.

Conditions
Lung Cancer
Keywords
stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer, stage IV non-small cell lung cancer
Medical subject headings
Lung Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Overall survival

Secondary outcomes (2)
  1. Progression-free survival

  2. Toxicity as assessed by CTC

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted8 Sep 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2004
  3. Primary completionJul 2008

Why it stopped: low accrual

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Masking
Double blind
Enrolment
598 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00091156
Sponsor's protocol ID
EORTC-08021
Other IDs
EORTC-08021, ILCP-01/03, 2004-001331-36, 2004
Status last verified
Jul 2012
First submitted
7 Sep 2004
Last updated
16 Jul 2012
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Gaafar RM, Surmont VF, Scagliotti GV, Van Klaveren RJ, Papamichael D, Welch JJ, Hasan B, Torri V, van Meerbeeck JP; EORTC Lung Cancer Group and the Italian Lung Cancer Project. A double-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled phase III intergroup study of gefitinib in patients with advanced NSCLC, non-progressing after first line platinum-based chemotherapy (EORTC 08021/ILCP 01/03). Eur J Cancer. 2011 Oct;47(15):2331-40. doi: 10.1016/j.ejca.2011.06.045. Epub 2011 Jul 28.

    PubMed 21802939

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing gefitinib and adjuvant therapy in people with Lung Cancer, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC at 28 sites in 5 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 16 Jul 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 28 sites in Italy, Netherlands, Belgium, Cyprus, Egypt. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early (reason given: low accrual). Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Overall survival. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00091156, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 16 Jul 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in