Liver CancerPhase 2NCT00095992
SB-715992 in Treating Patients With Locally Advanced, Recurrent, or Metastatic Liver Cancer
A Phase 2 study testing ispinesib in people with Liver Cancer, run by NCIC Clinical Trials Group at 4 sites in Canada.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as SB-715992, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well SB-715992 works in treating patients with locally advanced, recurrent, or metastatic liver cancer. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 to 120 years
- Conditions the study is for
- Liver Cancer
- What is being tested?
- ispinesib
- Type of treatment
- Injection or infusion
- How many people
- 15 participants
- Where
- 4 sitesCanada
- Study dates
- 8 Mar 2005to 22 Sep 2008
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 to 120 years
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically or cytologically confirmed hepatocellular carcinoma
- Locally advanced, recurrent, or metastatic disease
- Histologically confirmed disease must have archival paraffin-fixed tumor specimen available
- Measurable disease
- At least 1 unidimensionally measurable site of disease ≥ 20 mm by x-ray, physical exam, or non-spiral CT scan OR ≥ 10 mm by spiral CT scan
- Outside of previously irradiated area
- Patients whose sole site of disease is in a previously irradiated field are eligible provided there is evidence of disease progression OR new lesions documented in the irradiated field
- Bone metastases are not considered measurable disease
- Not curable by standard therapies
- No cholangiocarcinoma
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age
- 18 and over
Performance status
- ECOG 0-2
Life expectancy
- At least 12 weeks
Hematopoietic
- Absolute granulocyte count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
- Platelet count ≥ 80,000/mm^3
Hepatic
- Bilirubin ≤ 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
- AST ≤ 5 times ULN
- Must have hepatic reserve of Child-Turcotte-Pugh class A or better
Renal
- Creatinine clearance ≥ 60 mL/min
Cardiovascular
- No myocardial infarction within the past 6 months
- No symptomatic congestive heart failure
- No unstable angina pectoris
- No cardiac arrhythmia
- No active cardiomyopathy
- No uncontrolled hypertension
Other
- Not pregnant or nursing
- Negative pregnancy test
- Fertile patients must use effective contraception
- No clinical evidence of encephalopathy
- No ongoing or active infection
- No history of allergic reaction attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biological composition to SB-715992
- No psychiatric illness or social situation that would preclude study compliance
- No other uncontrolled illness
- No other malignancies within the past 5 years except adequately treated nonmelanoma skin cancer, curatively treated carcinoma in situ of the cervix, or other curatively treated solid tumors with no evidence of disease for at least 5 years
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy
- Not specified
Chemotherapy
- At least 4 weeks since prior intra-hepatic chemotherapy as a component of trans-arterial chemoembolization and recovered
- Documented disease progression
- No prior systemic chemotherapy
Endocrine therapy
- Not specified
Radiotherapy
- See Disease Characteristics
- At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy
- Exceptions may be made for low-dose, nonmyelosuppressive radiotherapy
Surgery
- At least 4 weeks since prior major surgery
- Prior liver transplantation allowed
Other
- No other prior systemic therapy
- At least 4 weeks since prior local ablative therapy (e.g., radiofrequency ablation or ethanol injection) and recovered
- Documented disease progression
- More than 28 days since prior investigational agents
- More than 14 days since prior and no concurrent use of any of the following CYP3A4 inhibitors or inducers:
- Clarithromycin
- Erythromycin
- Troleandomycin
- Itraconazole
- Ketoconazole
- Fluconazole (dose > 200 mg/day)
- Voriconazole
- Nefazodone
- Fluvoxamine
- Verapamil
- Diltiazem
- Grapefruit juice
- Bitter orange
- Phenytoin
- Carbamazepine
- Phenobarbital
- Oxcarbazepine
- Rifampin
- Rifabutin
- Rifapentine
- Hypericum perforatum (St. John's wort)
- Modafinil
- At least 6 months since prior and no concurrent amiodarone
- No concurrent combination antiretroviral therapy for HIV-positive patients
- No other concurrent anticancer therapy
- No other concurrent investigational agents
Trial locations and contacts
4 sites in 1 country.
Canada4 sites
Juravinski Cancer Centre at Hamilton Health Sciences
Hamilton, Ontario, L8V 5C2
Cancer Centre of Southeastern Ontario at Kingston
Kingston, Ontario, K7L 5P9
Univ. Health Network-Princess Margaret Hospital
Toronto, Ontario, M5G 2M9
BCCA - Vancouver Cancer Centre
Vancouver, British Columbia, V5Z 4E6
About this study
Official title: A Phase II Study Of SB-715992 (NSC 727990) In Patients With Locally Advanced, Recurrent Or Metastatic Hepatocellular Carcinoma
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as SB-715992, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die.
PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well SB-715992 works in treating patients with locally advanced, recurrent, or metastatic liver cancer.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine the efficacy of SB-715992, in terms of response rate and stable disease rate, in patients with locally advanced, recurrent, or metastatic hepatocellular carcinoma.
- Determine the toxicity of this drug in these patients.
- Determine the early progression rate and response duration in patients treated with this drug.
- Determine the pharmacokinetics of this drug in these patients.
- Correlate pharmacokinetics with safety and efficacy of this drug in these patients.
- Correlate tumor expression of β-tubulin and kinesin spindle protein with clinical outcomes in patients treated with this drug.
OUTLINE: This is a non-randomized, multicenter study.
Patients receive SB-715992 IV over 1 hour on day 1. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
All patients are followed at 4 weeks. Patients with ongoing stable or responding disease are followed every 3 months until relapse.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 15-30 patients will be accrued for this study within 12-14 months.
- Conditions
- Liver Cancer
- Being tested
- ispinesib
- Keywords
- adult primary hepatocellular carcinoma, advanced adult primary liver cancer, localized unresectable adult primary liver cancer, recurrent adult primary liver cancer
- Medical subject headings
- Liver Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Hepatocellular
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
ispinesibDrug
SB-715992 will be given as a 1 hour intravenous infusion in a dose of 18 mg/m2 once every 3 weeks
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Response
Measured: 4 years
Secondary outcomes (3)
Toxicity
Measured: 4 years
Pharmacokinetics at day 1 of course 1 (day 1 of course 2 if dose is adjusted)
Measured: 4 years
Molecular correlates on archival tumor specimens and peripheral blood mononuclear cells (PBMCs)
Measured: 4 years
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted9 Nov 2004 (estimated)
- Study start8 Mar 2005
- Primary completion26 Sep 2006
- Study completion22 Sep 2008
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Publications (1)Papers the sponsor has linked to this study.
- Other trials for Liver CancerStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Non-randomised
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 15 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- NCIC Clinical Trials Group
- Sponsor type
- Research network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Jennifer Knox, MD, Study chair, Princess Margaret Hospital, CanadaSharlene Gill, MD, Study chair, British Columbia Cancer Agency
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00095992
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- I168
- Other IDs
- CAN-NCIC-IND168, CDR0000391839
- Status last verified
- Apr 2020
- First submitted
- 9 Nov 2004
- Last updated
- 4 Aug 2023
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
- FDA-regulated drug
- Yes
- FDA-regulated device
- No
- Individual data sharing
- No
Publications
Knox JJ, Gill S, Synold TW, Biagi JJ, Major P, Feld R, Cripps C, Wainman N, Eisenhauer E, Seymour L. A phase II and pharmacokinetic study of SB-715992, in patients with metastatic hepatocellular carcinoma: a study of the National Cancer Institute of Canada Clinical Trials Group (NCIC CTG IND.168). Invest New Drugs. 2008 Jun;26(3):265-72. doi: 10.1007/s10637-007-9103-2. Epub 2008 Jan 15.
PubMed 18196204
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 4 Aug 2023. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Phase II Study Of SB-715992 (NSC 727990) In Patients With Locally Advanced, Recurrent Or Metastatic Hepatocellular Carcinoma
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00095992
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- I168
- Conditions
- Liver Cancer
- Keywords
- adult primary hepatocellular carcinoma, advanced adult primary liver cancer, localized unresectable adult primary liver cancer, recurrent adult primary liver cancer
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 15 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- NCIC Clinical Trials GroupResearch network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Study start
- 8 Mar 2005 (actual)
- Primary completion
- 26 Sep 2006 (actual)
- Study completion
- 22 Sep 2008 (actual)
- First posted
- 9 Nov 2004 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as SB-715992, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die.
PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well SB-715992 works in treating patients with locally advanced, recurrent, or metastatic liver cancer.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine the efficacy of SB-715992, in terms of response rate and stable disease rate, in patients with locally advanced, recurrent, or metastatic hepatocellular carcinoma.
- Determine the toxicity of this drug in these patients.
- Determine the early progression rate and response duration in patients treated with this drug.
- Determine the pharmacokinetics of this drug in these patients.
- Correlate pharmacokinetics with safety and efficacy of this drug in these patients.
- Correlate tumor expression of β-tubulin and kinesin spindle protein with clinical outcomes in patients treated with this drug.
OUTLINE: This is a non-randomized, multicenter study.
Patients receive SB-715992 IV over 1 hour on day 1. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
All patients are followed at 4 weeks. Patients with ongoing stable or responding disease are followed every 3 months until relapse.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 15-30 patients will be accrued for this study within 12-14 months.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Non-randomised
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 to 120 years
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| ispinesibSB-715992 will be given as a 1 hour intravenous infusion in a dose of 18 mg/m2 once every 3 weeks | Drug | – |
Primary outcome
Response
Time frame: 4 years
3 secondary outcomes
Toxicity
Time frame: 4 years
Pharmacokinetics at day 1 of course 1 (day 1 of course 2 if dose is adjusted)
Time frame: 4 years
Molecular correlates on archival tumor specimens and peripheral blood mononuclear cells (PBMCs)
Time frame: 4 years
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 4 Aug 2023.
- Results publication: PubMed 18196204Knox JJ, Gill S, Synold TW, Biagi JJ, Major P, Feld R, Cripps C, Wainman N, Eisenhauer E, Seymour L. A phase II and pharmacokinetic study of SB-715992, in patients with metastatic hepatocellular carcinoma: a study of the National Cancer Institute of Canada Clinical Trials Group (NCIC CTG IND.168). Invest New Drugs. 2008 Jun;26(3):265-72. doi: 10.1007/s10637-007-9103-2. Epub 2008 Jan 15.
- Individual participant dataSharing planned: No
Related trials for Liver Cancer
Not yet recruitingPhase 1
Hepatic Artery Infusion of Carfilzomib in Participants With Liver Metastatic Disease Previously Treated With Hepatic Artery Infusion Pump Therapy
Colorectal Neoplasms, Neoplasms
RecruitingObservational study
Real-world Evaluation of the HistoSonics Edison System for Treatment of Liver Tumors Across Multidisciplinary Users (BOOMBOX: Master Study)
Liver Neoplasms, Primary Liver Cancer
Recruiting
The Vanguard Study: Testing a New Way to Screen for Cancer
Bladder Carcinoma, Breast Carcinoma
Not yet recruitingPhase 2
SAMe in Prevention of Oxaliplatin-associated Liver Injury
Colorectal Cancer, Liver Metastases
Active, not recruitingPhase 1
Prospective Exploratory Study of FAPi PET/CT With Histopathology Validation in Patients With Various Cancers
Bladder Carcinoma, Cervical Carcinoma
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Jennifer Knox, MD study chair
Princess Margaret Hospital, Canada
Sharlene Gill, MD study chair
British Columbia Cancer Agency
4 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 2 study testing ispinesib in people with Liver Cancer, run by NCIC Clinical Trials Group at 4 sites in Canada.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 4 Aug 2023. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 4 sites in Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Response (time frame: 4 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00095992, which also lists 1 linked publication.
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 4 Aug 2023.