AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 1NCT00096057

Monoclonal Antibody HuHMFG1 in Treating Women With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Breast Cancer

A Phase 1 study testing monoclonal antibody HuHMFG1 in people with Breast Cancer, run by Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center at 3 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies such as HuHMFG1 can locate tumor cells and either kill them or deliver tumor-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. PURPOSE: This phase I trial is studying the side effects and best dose of monoclonal antibody HuHMFG1 in treating women with locally advanced or… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
monoclonal antibody HuHMFG1
How many people
24 participants
Where
3 sitesUnited States
Study dates
May 2004to Dec 2007
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed breast cancer
  • Locally advanced or metastatic disease
  • No inflammatory breast cancer
  • Measurable (RECIST) or evaluable disease (e.g., cytologically or radiologically detectable disease that does not fulfill RECIST criteria)
  • Failed prior OR not a candidate for OR refused anthracycline- and taxane-containing chemotherapy
  • Patients whose tumor overexpresses HER-2 must have failed prior trastuzumab (Herceptin®)
  • No known CNS metastases
  • No metastases accessible to complete surgical resection
  • Unstained slides cut from formalin-fixed and paraffin-embedded tumor blocks available
  • Appropriate tumor block also acceptable
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Sex

  • Female

Menopausal status

  • Not specified

Performance status

  • WHO 0-1

Life expectancy

  • At least 4 months

Hematopoietic

  • Hemoglobin ≥ 10 g/dL
  • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • WBC ≥ 1,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 mg/dL
  • ALT or AST ≤ 2.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN) (< 5 times ULN in patients with liver metastases) OR
  • Alkaline phosphatase ≤ 2.5 times ULN (< 5 times ULN in patients with liver metastases)
  • Any degree of elevated alkaline phosphatase allowed provided it is due to bone metastases

Renal

  • Creatinine ≤ 1.5 times ULN OR
  • Creatinine clearance > 60 mL/min
  • Uric acid < 1.25 times ULN (for patients with hyperuricemia only)
  • Calcium (corrected for serum albumin) < 11.5 mg/dL (for patients with hypercalcemia only)

Cardiovascular

  • LVEF ≥ 45% by MUGA or echocardiogram within the past 4 weeks

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective barrier contraception
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated nonmelanoma skin cancer or cervical intra-epithelial neoplasia
  • No other uncontrolled illness that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • Prior biological therapy allowed
  • More than 2 weeks since prior blood transfusions or growth factors to aid hematological recovery
  • No other concurrent antitumor immunotherapy

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • More than 4 weeks since prior cytotoxic chemotherapy
  • No more than 3 prior chemotherapy regimens, including adjuvant/neoadjuvant therapy
  • No concurrent antitumor chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Prior hormonal therapy allowed
  • No concurrent corticosteroids except as physiologic replacement and/or for acute short-term treatment of, or prophylaxis against, infusion reactions
  • No concurrent antitumor hormonal therapy

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • More than 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy (except for palliative radiotherapy)
  • No concurrent antitumor radiotherapy, except for palliation to non-study lesions
  • Irradiated area should be as small as possible and involve ≤ 10% of the bone marrow in any given 4-week period

Surgery

  • More than 4 weeks since prior major surgery

Other

  • More than 30 days since prior investigational agents
  • No other concurrent investigational agents

Trial locations and contacts

3 sites in 1 country.

United States3 sites
  • University of Colorado Cancer Center at UC Health Sciences Center

    Aurora, Colorado, 80045

  • M.D. Anderson Cancer Center at University of Texas

    Houston, Texas, 77030-4009

  • Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center at UCLA

    Los Angeles, California, 90095-1781

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: An Open Label Phase I Study of Humanized Human Milk Fat Globule-1 (huHMFG1) Antibody in Patients With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Breast Cancer (TOPCAT)

RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies such as HuHMFG1 can locate tumor cells and either kill them or deliver tumor-killing substances to them without harming normal cells.

PURPOSE: This phase I trial is studying the side effects and best dose of monoclonal antibody HuHMFG1 in treating women with locally advanced or metastatic breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the safety and tolerability of monoclonal antibody HuHMFG1 in women with locally advanced or metastatic breast cancer.
  • Determine a safe recommended dose and schedule of this drug in these patients.
  • Determine the pharmacokinetic profile, in the absence of any other chemotherapy or endocrine agent, of this drug in these patients.
  • Determine the antitumor activity of this drug in these patients.
  • Determine time to progression in patients treated with this drug.
  • Assess immunological markers (e.g., granzyme B, gamma interferon, and C1Q) for determining response to this drug in these patients.
  • Assess markers of immunogenicity (e.g., human anti-human antibody) of this drug in these patients.
  • Assess tumor markers (e.g., CA15.3 and CEA) in patients treated with this drug.
  • Correlate, preliminarily, soluble HMFG1 antigen levels with pharmacokinetic data for this drug in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label, non-randomized, dose-escalation study.

Patients in cohorts 1 and 2 receive monoclonal antibody HuHMFG1 IV over 1-3 hours once every 21 days for doses 1 and 2. All subsequent dose intervals are based on individual half-life value of the drug, to be within 3 days of the estimated half-life in multiples of 7 days. Patients in cohorts 3 and 4 receive monoclonal antibody HuHMFG1 at the dosing interval determined in the first 2 cohorts. Treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Cohorts of 6 patients receive escalating doses of monoclonal antibody HuHMFG1 until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which at least 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity.

All patients are followed at 4 weeks and then every 6 weeks for 6 months. Patients with an antitumor response or stable disease are followed every 12 weeks until disease progression or initiation of another antitumor treatment.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 6-24 patients will be accrued for this study within 18 months.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
monoclonal antibody HuHMFG1
Keywords
recurrent breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer, stage IIIB breast cancer, stage IIIC breast cancer, stage IV breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • monoclonal antibody HuHMFG1Biological

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted9 Nov 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2004
  3. Study completionDec 2007

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
24 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00096057
Sponsor's protocol ID
ROCHE-NP17787
Other IDs
UCLA-0402065-01, CDR0000391212
Status last verified
Apr 2007
First submitted
9 Nov 2004
Last updated
26 Jun 2013
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Pegram MD, Borges VF, Ibrahim N, Fuloria J, Shapiro C, Perez S, Wang K, Schaedli Stark F, Courtenay Luck N. Phase I dose escalation pharmacokinetic assessment of intravenous humanized anti-MUC1 antibody AS1402 in patients with advanced breast cancer. Breast Cancer Res. 2009;11(5):R73. doi: 10.1186/bcr2409.

    PubMed 19811637

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing monoclonal antibody HuHMFG1 in people with Breast Cancer, run by Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center at 3 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 26 Jun 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 3 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00096057, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 26 Jun 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in