AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 2NCT00101101

Universal Granulocyte Macrophage-colony Stimulating Factor (GM-CSF)-Producing and GM.CD40L for Autologous Tumor Vaccine in Mantle Cell Lymphoma

A Phase 2 study testing Cyclophosphamide, Doxorubicin and Vincristine in people with Lymphoma, run by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Vaccines made from gene-modified cells and a person's cancer cells may make the body build an effective immune response to kill cancer cells. Interleukin-2 (IL-2) may stimulate the white blood cells to kill cancer cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
Cyclophosphamide, Doxorubicin and Vincristine
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
43 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Jul 2004to 14 Jun 2021
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed mantle cell lymphoma
  • Stage II, III, or IV disease
  • Relapsed or de novo disease
  • No symptomatic brain metastasis

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • White blood count (WBC) > 3,000/mm^3
  • Absolute neutrophil count > 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count > 100,000/mm^3
  • Hematocrit > 25%
  • Hemoglobin > 8 g/dL

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin < 2.0 mg/dL

Renal

  • Creatinine < 2.0 mg/dL OR
  • Creatinine clearance > 60 mL/min

Immunologic

  • No serious ongoing infection
  • No known HIV infection
  • No other pre-existing immunodeficiency condition

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception for 1 month before, during, and for 3 months after study treatment

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • No other concurrent immunotherapy

Chemotherapy

  • More than 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy
  • No other concurrent chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • More than 4 weeks since prior steroids
  • No concurrent corticosteroids except as replacement doses in patients who are hypoadrenal

Radiotherapy

  • More than 2 weeks since prior radiotherapy
  • No concurrent radiotherapy

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • No other concurrent immunosuppressive therapy

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute

    Tampa, Florida, 33612-9497

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Trial Using a Universal GM-CSF-Producing and CD40L-Expressing Bystander Cell Line (GM.CD40L) in the Formulation of Autologous Tumor Cell-Based Vaccines for Patients With Mantle Cell Lymphoma

RATIONALE: Vaccines made from gene-modified cells and a person's cancer cells may make the body build an effective immune response to kill cancer cells. Interleukin-2 (IL-2) may stimulate the white blood cells to kill cancer cells. Giving booster vaccinations may make a stronger immune response and prevent or delay the recurrence of cancer. Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more cancer cells. Giving vaccine therapy together with IL-2 after combination chemotherapy may be a more effective treatment for mantle cell lymphoma.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well giving vaccine therapy together with IL-2 after combination chemotherapy works in treating patients with relapsed or de novo stage II, stage III, or stage IV mantle cell lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

Patients were treated with 3-6 cycles of chemotherapy +/- rituximab, with type and duration at the discretion of the individual clinician. Evaluation for response was performed 1 month after completing chemotherapy, and included computed tomography (CT) scan, bone marrow biopsy, endoscopy, and colonoscopy. Minimal residual disease (MRD) was assessed qualitatively on bone marrow specimens using polymerase chain reaction (PCR) with standardized primers for evaluation for B-cell receptor gene rearrangement. Responses were defined according to revised Cheson criteria. Patients with successful lymph node harvest who had obtained complete or partial response could proceed to bystander vaccination.

The GM.CD40L bystander vaccine administered intradermally into the bilateral axillary and inguinal nodal basins via eight separate injections (0.125 ml / injection). Low dose IL-2 (0.5 x 10^6 units) was given subcutaneously twice daily for 14 days following vaccination. Patients were restaged with CT and/or CT/PET and bone marrow biopsy every 6 months, beginning from the last date of chemotherapy. Follow-up bone marrow biopsy evaluation included an assessment for MRD as described above. Patients without disease progression or toxicity attributable to the vaccine were eligible for 4 monthly booster vaccines at 12 months and 24 months.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Keywords
recurrent mantle cell lymphoma, contiguous stage II mantle cell lymphoma, noncontiguous stage II mantle cell lymphoma, stage III mantle cell lymphoma, stage IV mantle cell lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Lymphoma, Mantle-Cell

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • CyclophosphamideDrug

    Also called Cytoxan

    Participants receive conventional chemotherapy comprising 6 courses of cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone (CHOP) OR 3 courses of hyperfractionated cyclophosphamide, vincristine, doxorubicin, and dexamethasone alternating with high-dose methotrexate and cytarabine (hyper-CVAD) for patients who have relapsed after CHOP.

  • DoxorubicinDrug

    Also called adriamycin, Rubex

    Participants receive conventional chemotherapy comprising 6 courses of cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone (CHOP) OR 3 courses of hyperfractionated cyclophosphamide, vincristine, doxorubicin, and dexamethasone alternating with high-dose methotrexate and cytarabine (hyper-CVAD) for patients who have relapsed after CHOP.

  • VincristineDrug

    Also called Oncovin, leurocristine, VCR

    Participants receive conventional chemotherapy comprising 6 courses of cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone (CHOP) OR 3 courses of hyperfractionated cyclophosphamide, vincristine, doxorubicin, and dexamethasone alternating with high-dose methotrexate and cytarabine (hyper-CVAD) for patients who have relapsed after CHOP.

  • PrednisoneDrug

    Also called Deltasone, Liquid Pred, Meticorten, Orasone

    Participants receive conventional chemotherapy comprising 6 courses of cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone (CHOP) OR 3 courses of hyperfractionated cyclophosphamide, vincristine, doxorubicin, and dexamethasone alternating with high-dose methotrexate and cytarabine (hyper-CVAD) for patients who have relapsed after CHOP.

  • DexamethasoneDrug

    Also called Decadron, Dexasone, Diodex, Hexadrol

    Participants receive conventional chemotherapy comprising 6 courses of cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone (CHOP) OR 3 courses of hyperfractionated cyclophosphamide, vincristine, doxorubicin, and dexamethasone alternating with high-dose methotrexate and cytarabine (hyper-CVAD) for patients who have relapsed after CHOP.

  • Autologous Tumor Cell-Based VaccineBiological

    Participants receive vaccine comprising autologous tumor cells and GM.CD40L intradermally on day 1 and low-dose interleukin-2 (IL-2) subcutaneously twice daily on days 1-14. Treatment repeats every 28 days for 4 courses. Patients who have stable or responding disease at 12 months receive 4 additional courses of booster vaccine and low-dose IL-2 as above.

  • IL-2Drug

    Also called interleukin-2, cytokine, aldesleukin

    Participants receive vaccine comprising autologous tumor cells and GM.CD40L intradermally on day 1 and low-dose interleukin-2 (IL-2) subcutaneously twice daily on days 1-14. Treatment repeats every 28 days for 4 courses. Patients who have stable or responding disease at 12 months receive 4 additional courses of booster vaccine and low-dose IL-2 as above.

Study groups in NCT00101101
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Vaccine and Conventional TherapyExperimentalPatients were treated with 3-6 cycles of chemotherapy +/- rituximab, with type and duration at the discretion of the individual clinician. Chemotherapy: 6 courses of cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone (CHOP) OR 3 courses of hyperfractionated cyclophosphamide, vincristine, doxorubicin, and dexamethasone alternating with high-dose methotrexate and cytarabine (hyper-CVAD) for patients who have relapsed after CHOP. Patients who achieve a partial or complete response after completion of chemotherapy proceed to autologous tumor cell-based vaccine therapy. Patients who have stable or responding disease at 12 months receive 4 additional courses of booster vaccine and low-dose IL-2. Treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Receives: Drug: Cyclophosphamide; Drug: Doxorubicin; Drug: Vincristine; Drug: Prednisone; Drug: Dexamethasone; Biological: Autologous Tumor Cell-Based Vaccine; Drug: IL-2

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Rate of Immunological Response to Vaccination

    Immunological response to vaccination, as measured by in vitro testing of peripheral blood mononuclear cells (PBMCs) for interferon gamma secretion, delayed type hypersensitivity reaction (DTH) in response to irradiated autologous tumor cells, and lymphocyte accumulation at DTH and vaccine injection sites.

    DTH Skin Testing was performed within 2 weeks prior to first vaccine, and again after fourth vaccine was administered. Aliquots containing 10^6 irradiated autologous tumor cells were re-suspended in 0.2 mL of Plasma-Lyte A and injected intradermally in the forearm and marked. 48 hours later, injection site was inspected for induration and erythema.

    3mm punch biopsy of DTH injection site and vaccine site was obtained 48 hours after administration of irradiated tumor cells before and after the vaccine series. Vaccine site biopsy was obtained 2-5 days after the second vaccine had been given. Granulocytic and lymphocytic accumulation at these sites was graded by a pathologist.

    Measured: 4 months per participant

Secondary outcomes (2)
  1. Occurrence of Related Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)

    Patients were monitored for toxicity every 4 weeks in clinic throughout the 4-month vaccination phase. This included clinical and laboratory evaluation (CBC, blood urea nitrogen (BUN), creatinine, electrolytes, liver function test (LFT), and serum LDH). Toxicity was defined according to the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE-3) Version 3.0 (www.ctep.cancer.gov). Grade 3 or higher SAEs attributed to vaccination: Toxicity was assessed in the 23 patients who received at least one vaccine injection.

    Measured: 4 months per participant

  2. Median Event Free Survival (EFS)

    Vaccine Response - EFS among participants who received vaccination. Event free survival (EFS) was calculated from date of enrollment until progression or death from any cause. Progressive disease (PD): At least a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter (LD) of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum LD recorded since the treatment started or the appearance of one or more new lesions.

    Measured: 18 months

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted10 Jan 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startJul 2004
  3. Primary completionOct 2012
  4. Study completion14 Jun 2021

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
43 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00101101
Sponsor's protocol ID
MCC-13840
Other IDs
0406-654
Status last verified
Aug 2023
First submitted
7 Jan 2005
Last updated
22 Aug 2023
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing Cyclophosphamide, Doxorubicin and Vincristine in people with Lymphoma, run by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 22 Aug 2023. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 4 Sep 2013). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Rate of Immunological Response to Vaccination (time frame: 4 months per participant). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 22 Aug 2023.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in