AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 1NCT00103246

Photodynamic Therapy Using Silicon Phthalocyanine 4 in Treating Patients With Actinic Keratosis, Bowen's Disease, Skin Cancer, or Stage I or Stage II Mycosis Fungoides

A Phase 1 study testing silicon phthalocyanine 4 in people with Lymphoma and Non-melanomatous Skin Cancer, run by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Photodynamic therapy uses a drug that becomes active when it is exposed to a certain kind of light. When the drug is active, tumor cells are killed. Photodynamic therapy using silicon phthalocyanine 4 may be effective against skin cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
What is being tested?
silicon phthalocyanine 4
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
43 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Sep 2004to Aug 2010
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed diagnosis of 1 of the following:
  • Actinic keratosis
  • Bowen's disease
  • Squamous cell skin cancer
  • Basal cell skin cancer
  • Clinical stage IA, IB, IIA, or IIB mycosis fungoides
  • Fitzpatrick skin type I-IV

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Not specified

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patient must use effective contraception
  • No diabetes mellitus
  • No known hypersensitivity to ethanol or propylene glycol
  • No significant history of photosensitivity, including diagnosis of any of the following:
  • Porphyria
  • Lupus erythematosus
  • Xeroderma pigmentosum
  • Severe polymorphous light eruption
  • Solar urticaria

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No concurrent chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • More than 2 weeks since prior anticancer radiotherapy
  • No concurrent radiotherapy

Surgery

  • Lesions must be healed after prior biopsy

Other

  • More than 2 weeks since prior topical, local, or systemic anticancer therapy
  • More than 2 weeks since prior anticancer phototherapy
  • More than 2 weeks since prior photosensitizing medications, including any of the following:
  • Tetracyclines
  • Quinolones
  • Psoralens
  • Hydrochlorothiazide
  • Furosemide
  • Trimethoprim-sulfamethoxazole
  • Griseofulvin
  • Nalidixic acid
  • Amiodarone
  • Phenothiazines
  • High-dose nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs
  • No other concurrent photosensitizing medications
  • No concurrent therapeutic dose of warfarin that may cause excessive bleeding during skin biopsy

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Case Medical Center, University Hospitals Seidman Cancer Center, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44106-5065

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase I Clinical Trial Using Topical Silicon Phthalocyanine (Pc 4) Photodynamic Therapy (PDT) for the Treatment of Pre-Malignant and Malignant Skin Conditions

RATIONALE: Photodynamic therapy uses a drug that becomes active when it is exposed to a certain kind of light. When the drug is active, tumor cells are killed. Photodynamic therapy using silicon phthalocyanine 4 may be effective against skin cancer.

PURPOSE: This phase I trial is studying the side effects and best dose of photodynamic therapy using silicon phthalocyanine 4 in treating participants with actinic keratosis, Bowen's disease, skin cancer, or stage I or stage II mycosis fungoides.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the maximum tolerated dose of photodynamic therapy using topically delivered silicon phthalocyanine 4 in participants with actinic keratosis, Bowen's disease, squamous cell or basal cell skin cancer, or stage IA, IB, IIA, or IIB mycosis fungoides.
  • Determine the safety and toxicity of this therapy with emphasis on whether it induces photosensitivity in non-treated sites in these participants .
  • Determine the antitumor mechanism of this therapy, by monitoring tissue changes via clinical, histological, immunohistochemical, and other biochemical markers, in these participants.
  • Determine, preliminarily, the dose of this therapy that results in highest clearing rates in these participants.

OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study.

Participants receive topical silicon phthalocyanine 4 (Pc 4). One hour later, participants undergo photodynamic therapy. Treatment repeats weekly for up to 3 weeks (up to 3 total treatments for the same lesion OR up to 3 lesions treated if multiple lesions are present).

Cohorts of 3 participants receive escalating doses of Pc 4 and visible light until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 1 of 3 participants experiences dose-limiting toxicity. Three additional participants are treated at the MTD.

After completion of study therapy, participants are followed for up to 2 weeks.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 16-45 participants will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
silicon phthalocyanine 4
Keywords
skin cancer, squamous cell carcinoma of the skin, basal cell carcinoma of the skin, recurrent skin cancer, recurrent mycosis fungoides/Sezary syndrome, stage I mycosis fungoides/Sezary syndrome, stage II mycosis fungoides/Sezary syndrome, actinic keratosis, recurrent cutaneous T-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma, stage I cutaneous T-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma, stage II cutaneous T-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Precancerous Conditions, Skin Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Basal Cell, Mycosis Fungoides, Sezary Syndrome, Keratosis, Actinic, Lymphoma, T-Cell, Cutaneous

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • silicon phthalocyanine 4Drug

    Also called Pc 4

    Participants receive topical silicon phthalocyanine 4 (Pc 4). One hour later, participants undergo photodynamic therapy. Treatment repeats weekly for up to 3 weeks (up to 3 total treatments for the same lesion OR up to 3 lesions treated if multiple lesions are present).Cohorts of 3 participants receive escalating doses of Pc 4 and visible light until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined.

Study groups in NCT00103246
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Topical silicon phthalocyanine 4 (Pc 4) + photodynamic therapyExperimentalTopical silicon phthalocyanine 4 (Pc 4) followed by photodynamic therapy.
Receives: Drug: silicon phthalocyanine 4

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Maximum tolerated dose

    Measured: Treatment repeats weekly for up to 3 weeks. Cohorts of 3 participants receive escalating doses of Pc 4 and visible light until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined.

  2. Local toxicity as measured by physical exam and punch biopsy

    Measured: at 24 hours and 2 weeks after the start of study treatment

  3. Treatment efficacy as measured by physical exam and punch biopsy

    Measured: at 24 hours and 2 weeks after the start of study treatment

  4. Systemic photosensitivity as measured by minimum erythema dose (MED) testing

    Measured: at 2, 24, and 48 hours after completion of photodynamic therapy

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted8 Feb 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startSep 2004
  3. Primary completionDec 2008
  4. Study completionAug 2010

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
43 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00103246
Sponsor's protocol ID
CASE1Y04
Other IDs
P30CA043703, CASE-CWRU-1Y04, 10-03-01, CASE1Y04
Status last verified
Jan 2011
First submitted
7 Feb 2005
Last updated
22 Jan 2019
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing silicon phthalocyanine 4 in people with Lymphoma and Non-melanomatous Skin Cancer, run by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 22 Jan 2019. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Maximum tolerated dose (time frame: Treatment repeats weekly for up to 3 weeks. Cohorts of 3 participants receive escalating doses of Pc 4 and visible light until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined.). The study lists 4 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 22 Jan 2019.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in