AzTrials
AzTrials

Lung CancerNCT00104728

Neoadjuvant IRESSA As Single Agent PreopTherapy for NSCLC With Molecular Correlates

A study testing ZD1839 in people with Lung Cancer, run by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute at 1 site in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Gefitinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Giving gefitinib before surgery may shrink the tumor so it can be removed. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lung Cancer
What is being tested?
ZD1839
Type of treatment
Pill or oral medicine
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
42 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Oct 2004to Mar 2009
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed resectable non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC), meeting 1 of the following clinical staging criteria:
  • Stage IA or IB (T1-2, N0)
  • Stage II (T1-2, N1 with negative mediastinoscopy or T3, N0)
  • Stage IIIA (T3, N1 with negative mediastinoscopy)
  • Level 10 hilar nodes may be positive provided mediastinoscopy is negative
  • The following are not allowed (as evidenced by clinical staging criteria [CT scan, positron-emission tomography (PET) scan, or mediastinoscopy):
  • Positive N2 lymph nodes (ipsilateral/subcarinal mediastinal lymph nodes)
  • Positive N3 lymph nodes (contralateral mediastinal/hilar and supraclavicular/scalene lymph nodes)
  • T4 primary tumor (malignant pleural effusion or mediastinal invasion)
  • Symptomatic tumors (T3, N0-1) involving the superior sulcus (i.e., Pancoast tumors)
  • Measurable disease by contrast-enhanced CT scan
  • No metastatic disease (except peribronchial or hilar lymph node involvement [N1]) by fludeoxyglucose F 18 PET scan
  • No malignant pleural effusion by preoperative evaluation
  • Pleural effusions visible only on CT scan that are not large enough for safe thoracentesis are allowed
  • No exudative effusions (even if cytologically negative), as evidenced by any of the following:
  • Ratio of pleural fluid protein to serum protein > 0.5
  • Ratio of pleural fluid lactic dehydrogenase (LDH) to serum LDH ≥ 0.6
  • Pleural fluid LDH > 200 IU/L
  • No superior vena cava syndrome
  • No spinal cord compression

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) 0-1

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • WBC ≥ 4,000/mm^3
  • Absolute granulocyte count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • AST or ALT ≤ 2 times ULN
  • Alkaline phosphatase ≤ 2 times ULN

Renal

  • Creatinine < 1.5 times ULN

Cardiovascular

  • No uncontrolled ventricular arrhythmia
  • No myocardial infarction within the past 3 months

Pulmonary

  • Pre-resection FEV_1 > 2.0 L OR
  • Predicted post-resection FEV_1 > 1.0 L
  • No clinically active interstitial lung disease
  • Chronic stable asymptomatic radiographic changes allowed
  • No post-obstructive pneumonia

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • Willing to provide tumor biopsy pre- and post-gefitinib administration AND undergo PET scan
  • No known severe hypersensitivity to study drug or any of its excipients
  • No uncontrolled major seizure disorder
  • No unstable or uncontrolled diabetes mellitus
  • No serious infection requiring IV antibiotics
  • No grade 3 neuropathy
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No other unstable or serious medical condition that would preclude study treatment or surgery
  • No psychiatric disorder that would preclude giving informed consent
  • No psychological, familial, sociological, or geographical condition that would preclude study compliance and follow up
  • No other significant clinical disorder or laboratory finding that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No prior or concurrent systemic chemotherapy for NSCLC

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • No prior or concurrent radiotherapy for NSCLC

Surgery

  • Recovered from prior oncologic or other major surgery
  • At least 5 years since prior resection of lung disease
  • No prior surgery for NSCLC
  • No concurrent ophthalmic surgery

Other

  • More than 30 days since prior non-approved or investigational drugs
  • No other concurrent therapy for NSCLC
  • No other concurrent investigational therapy
  • No concurrent use of any of the following medications:
  • Phenytoin
  • Carbamazepine
  • Barbiturates (e.g., phenobarbital)
  • Rifampin
  • Hypericum perforatum (St. John's wort)

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute

    Tampa, Florida, 33612-9497

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Pilot Neoadjuvant Study of ZD1839 (IRESSA®) as Single Agent Preoperative Therapy for Clinical Stage 1A and 1B (T1-2N0), II (T1-2N1, T3N0) and Selected IIIA (T3N1) Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) With Molecular Correlates

RATIONALE: Gefitinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Giving gefitinib before surgery may shrink the tumor so it can be removed.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well gefitinib works in treating patients who are undergoing surgery for stage I, stage II, or stage III non-small cell lung cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the effects of neoadjuvant gefitinib on downstream signaling pathways, including Src-Stat3, PI3K/Akt, ERK activity, and Bcl-2 family members in patients with resectable stage I-IIIA non-small cell lung cancer.
  • Determine the effects of this drug on cell cycle and apoptosis within the primary tumor, by measuring changes in pre- and post-treatment Ki-67, Mcm2, cleaved caspase-3, and ApoTag, in these patients.

Secondary

  • Determine the clinical response rate in patients treated with this drug.
  • Determine the pathological response rate, defined as > 95% necrosis or fibrosis in the pathological specimen, in patients treated with this drug.
  • Determine the metabolic activity of this drug in these patients.
  • Determine the safety, tolerability, and feasibility of this drug, in terms of toxicity and post-treatment resectability, in these patients.
  • Correlate plasma and tumor concentrations of this drug with changes in post-treatment molecular markers in these patients.
  • Identify a gene profile that predicts response to this drug in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label, pilot study.

Patients receive oral gefitinib once daily for 4 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Within 3 days after completion of gefitinib, patients undergo restaging evaluation. Patients whose disease is still considered resectable proceed to surgery. Patients undergo thoracotomy with lobectomy or pneumonectomy OR sleeve resection. Patients also undergo mediastinal lymph node dissection. After surgical resection, treatment with gefitinib may continue off study at the discretion of the principal investigator.

After completion of study therapy, patients are followed at 30 days, every 4 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 1 year, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 50 patients will be accrued for this study within 12.5 months.

Conditions
Lung Cancer
Being tested
ZD1839
Keywords
stage II non-small cell lung cancer, stage IIIA non-small cell lung cancer, stage IA non-small cell lung cancer, stage IB non-small cell lung cancer
Medical subject headings
Lung Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • ZD1839Drug

    Also called IRESSA®, gefitinib

Study groups in NCT00104728
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Neoadjuvant ZD1839 Preoperative TherapyExperimentalThe ZD1839 250-mg tablet will be taken once a day, every day about the same time. It can be taken with or without food. At the time of surgery, investigators will collect tissue from the participant's tumor once it has been removed. This tissue will be used to study the effect of ZD1839 on tumor growth.
Receives: Drug: ZD1839

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Overall Response Rate (ORR)

    Objective Response Rate according to Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria. Investigators planned to use this pilot study of neoadjuvant ZD1839 in patients with resectable NSCLC to specifically correlate molecular parameters to the primary clinical study endpoint clinical response assessed by CT response and PET scan response of the primary tumor.

    Measured: 3 years

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Frequency of Toxicity Related to Study Treatment

    Review of adverse events utilizing Common Toxicity Criteria (CTC) V3. To estimate the safety, tolerability, and feasibility of preoperative ZD1839 in patients with resectable Stage IA/IB, II and selected IIIA NSCLC by evaluating toxicity and operability after preoperative ZD1839.

    Measured: 3 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted4 Mar 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startOct 2004
  3. Primary completionMay 2008
  4. Study completionMar 2009

Why it stopped: Early Stopping Rule: Would not meet interim analysis goal to proceed with enrollment

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
42 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00104728
Sponsor's protocol ID
MCC-13922
Other IDs
IRUSIRES0256
Status last verified
Sep 2012
First submitted
3 Mar 2005
Last updated
31 Oct 2012
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing ZD1839 in people with Lung Cancer, run by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 31 Oct 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 31 Oct 2012). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Overall Response Rate (ORR) (time frame: 3 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 31 Oct 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in