AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 2NCT00104819

Vaccine Therapy and GM-CSF in Treating Patients With Progressive Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma

A Phase 2 study testing autologous immunoglobulin idiotype-KLH conjugate vaccine and sargramostim in people with Lymphoma, run by Favrille at 51 sites in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Vaccines made from a person's cancer cells may make the body build an effective immune response to kill cancer cells. Colony-stimulating factors, such as GM-CSF, may increase the number of immune cells found in bone marrow or peripheral blood and may stimulate the immune system in different ways and stop… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
autologous immunoglobulin idiotype-KLH conjugate vaccine and sargramostim
Type of treatment
Vaccines
How many people
238 participants
Where
51 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Sep 2004to Jun 2011
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed follicular B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma (NHL)
  • Grade 1, 2, or 3
  • Progressive disease AND did not receive autologous immunoglobulin idiotype-KLH conjugate vaccine (FavId™) while enrolled on protocol FAV-ID-06
  • Meets 1 of the following criteria:
  • Received salvage therapy after completion of protocol FAV-ID-06
  • At least 4 weeks, but no more than 4 months, since prior salvage therapy
  • Did not receive salvage therapy after completion of protocol FAV-ID-06
  • At least 4 weeks, but no more than 4 months, since completion of prior treatment on protocol FAV-ID-06
  • No history of CNS lymphoma OR meningeal lymphomatosis

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Not specified

Cardiovascular

  • No history of congestive heart failure

Pulmonary

  • No history of compromised pulmonary function

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • HIV negative
  • No active bacterial, viral, or fungal infection
  • No psychiatric disorder
  • No other serious nonmalignant disease that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior allogeneic transplantation*
  • No prior rituximab regimen* other than that administered on protocol FAV-ID-06 (rituximab 375 mg/m^2 IV weekly for 4 weeks)

Chemotherapy

  • No prior purine analogues* (e.g., fludarabine or cladribine)

Endocrine therapy

  • No prior or concurrent steroids (e.g., steroid doses in excess of daily replacement)

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • Recovered from prior salvage therapy
  • No prior or concurrent immunosuppressive therapy
  • No prior investigational agents*
  • No other concurrent antilymphoma therapy NOTE: *As salvage therapy administered between completion of protocol FAV-ID-06 and enrollment onto this study

Trial locations and contacts

51 sites in 1 country.

51 sites in 1 country

United States51 sites
  • New Mexico Cancer Center

    Albuquerque, New Mexico, 87109

  • Greater Baltimore Medical Center Cancer Center

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21204

  • Tower Cancer Research Foundation

    Beverly Hills, California, 90211

  • UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Birmingham, Alabama, 35294

  • Mid Dakota Clinic, PC

    Bismarck, North Dakota, 58501

  • Center for Hematology-Oncology - Boca Raton

    Boca Raton, Florida, 33486

  • Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center at Dana Farber Cancer Institute

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02115

  • University of Virginia Cancer Center

    Charlottesville, Virginia, 22908

  • Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center at Northwestern University

    Chicago, Illinois, 60611

  • Rush Cancer Institute at Rush University Medical Center

    Chicago, Illinois, 60612

  • Charles M. Barrett Cancer Center at University Hospital

    Cincinnati, Ohio, 45219

  • Case Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44106-5065

  • Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44195

  • Kootenai Cancer Center - Coeur d'Alene

    Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, 83814

  • Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute at Ohio State University Medical Center

    Columbus, Ohio, 43210-1240

  • Geisinger Cancer Institute at Geisinger Health

    Danville, Pennsylvania, 17822-0001

  • Rocky Mountain Cancer Centers - Denver Midtown

    Denver, Colorado, 80218

  • Josephine Ford Cancer Center at Henry Ford Hospital

    Detroit, Michigan, 48202-2608

  • Roger Maris Cancer Center at MeritCare Hospital

    Fargo, North Dakota, 58122

  • Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center

    Indianapolis, Indiana, 46202-5289

  • Kansas Masonic Cancer Research Institute at the University of Kansas Medical Center

    Kansas City, Kansas, 66160-7357

  • Rebecca and John Moores UCSD Cancer Center

    La Jolla, California, 92093-0960

  • Lucille P. Markey Cancer Center at University of Kentucky

    Lexington, Kentucky, 40536-0093

  • Samuel Oschin Comprehensive Cancer Institute at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

    Los Angeles, California, 90048

  • University of Wisconsin Paul P. Carbone Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Madison, Wisconsin, 53792-6164

  • Don Monti Comprehensive Cancer Center at North Shore University Hospital

    Manhasset, New York, 11030

  • Montana Cancer Specialists at Montana Cancer Center

    Missoula, Montana, 59807-7877

  • Sarah Cannon Cancer Center at Centennial Medical Center

    Nashville, Tennessee, 37203

  • Ochsner Cancer Institute at Ochsner Clinic Foundation

    New Orleans, Louisiana, 70121

  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10065

  • Helen F. Graham Cancer Center at Christiana Hospital

    Newark, Delaware, 19713

  • Fox Chase Cancer Center - Philadelphia

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19111-2497

  • Western Pennsylvania Cancer Institute at Western Pennsylvania Hospital

    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15224

  • Providence Cancer Center at Providence Portland Medical Center

    Portland, Oregon, 97213

  • Kaiser Permanente Medical Office - Interstate Medical Office Central

    Portland, Oregon, 97227

  • Knight Cancer Institute at Oregon Health and Science University

    Portland, Oregon, 97239-3098

  • Mayo Clinic Cancer Center

    Rochester, Minnesota, 55905

  • James P. Wilmot Cancer Center at University of Rochester Medical Center

    Rochester, New York, 14642

  • Cancer Care Centers of South Texas - Medical Center

    San Antonio, Texas, 78229

  • Kaiser Permanente Medical Center - Kaiser Foundation Hospital - San Diego

    San Diego, California, 92120

  • Sharp Memorial Hospital Cancer Center

    San Diego, California, 92123

  • UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

    San Francisco, California, 94143-0324

  • Swedish Cancer Institute at Swedish Medical Center - First Hill Campus

    Seattle, Washington, 98104

  • Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital - Saint Louis

    St Louis, Missouri, 63110

  • Stanford Cancer Center

    Stanford, California, 94305-5824

  • H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute at University of South Florida

    Tampa, Florida, 33612-9497

  • Our Lady of Mercy Medical Center Comprehensive Cancer Center

    The Bronx, New York, 10466-2604

  • Kaiser Permanente Medical Center - Vallejo

    Vallejo, California, 94589

  • Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center at Georgetown University Medical Center

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20007

  • Wake Forest University Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Winston-Salem, North Carolina, 27157-1096

  • North Star Lodge Cancer Center at Yakima Valley Memorial Hospital

    Yakima, Washington, 98902

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase II Trial of FavId™ (Patient-Specific Idiotype/KLH) and GM-CSF in Subjects Who Demonstrated Progressive Disease and Did Not Receive FavId on Study FavId-06

RATIONALE: Vaccines made from a person's cancer cells may make the body build an effective immune response to kill cancer cells. Colony-stimulating factors, such as GM-CSF, may increase the number of immune cells found in bone marrow or peripheral blood and may stimulate the immune system in different ways and stop cancer cells from growing.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well giving vaccine therapy together with GM-CSF works in treating patients with progressive B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Provide treatment with autologous immunoglobulin idiotype-KLH conjugate vaccine (FavId)™ and sargramostim (GM-CSF) to patients with progressive grade 1, 2, or 3 follicular B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma who did not receive FavId™ while enrolled on protocol FAV-ID-06.

Secondary

  • Determine the response rate and duration of response in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the response rate and response rate improvement after best response to prior salvage therapy in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the time to progression in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the safety of this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients are assigned to 1 of 2 groups according to timing of disease progression while enrolled on protocol FAV-ID-06 (disease progression after prior rituximab AND never randomized vs disease progression after randomization to placebo arm).

Patients receive autologous immunoglobulin idiotype-KLH vaccine subcutaneously (SC) on day 1. Patients also receive sargramostim (GM-CSF) SC on days 1-4. Treatment repeats monthly for 6 months in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with stable or responding disease may receive additional treatment as above every 2 months for 1 year (6 treatments) and every 3 months until disease progression.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed for 30 days or until the start of subsequent treatment.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 238 patients (67 in group I and 171 in group II) will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Being tested
autologous immunoglobulin idiotype-KLH conjugate vaccine, sargramostim
Keywords
recurrent grade 1 follicular lymphoma, recurrent grade 2 follicular lymphoma, recurrent grade 3 follicular lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Lymphoma, Follicular

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • autologous immunoglobulin idiotype-KLH conjugate vaccineBiological

  • sargramostimBiological

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Autologous immunoglobulin idiotype-KLH conjugate vaccine (FavId)™ provided to patients who did not receive autologous immunoglobulin idiotype-KLH conjugate vaccine (FavId)™ during participation on study Favld-06

Secondary outcomes (4)
  1. Response rate by modified Cheson Criteria

  2. Duration of response by modified Cheson Criteria

  3. Time to progression

  4. Response rate improvement

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted4 Mar 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startSep 2004
  3. Primary completionJun 2011 (estimated)

Why it stopped: Withdrawn as company has shut down and filed for bankruptcy

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
238 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00104819
Sponsor's protocol ID
FAV-ID-09
Other IDs
CDR0000415573, CWRU-FVID-2404, CWRU-100415, CASE-2404, FAV-WIRB-20041124
Status last verified
Aug 2008
First submitted
3 Mar 2005
Last updated
2 Aug 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing autologous immunoglobulin idiotype-KLH conjugate vaccine and sargramostim in people with Lymphoma, run by Favrille at 51 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 2 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 51 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early (reason given: Withdrawn as company has shut down and filed for bankruptcy). Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Autologous immunoglobulin idiotype-KLH conjugate vaccine (FavId)™ provided to patients who did not receive autologous immunoglobulin idiotype-KLH conjugate vaccine (FavId)™ during participation on study Favld-06. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 2 Aug 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in