Brain and Central Nervous System TumorsPhase 3NCT00104936
Radiotherapy or Radiosurgery Compared With Observation Alone in Treating Patients With Newly Diagnosed, Benign Meningioma That Has Been Partially Removed by Surgery
A Phase 3 study testing adjuvant therapy, radiation therapy and stereotactic radiosurgery in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC at 4 sites in 3 countries.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Radiosurgery may be able to send x-rays directly to the tumor and cause less damage to normal tissue. Giving radiation therapy or radiosurgery after surgery may kill any remaining tumor cells. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors
- What is being tested?
- adjuvant therapy, radiation therapy and stereotactic radiosurgery
- Type of treatment
- Surgery or procedure
- How many people
- 9 participants
- Where
- 4 sitesin 3 countries
- Study dates
- Dec 2004to Nov 2006
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed newly diagnosed benign intracranial meningioma
- WHO grade I
- Any location except orbital meningioma
- Mitotic index < 4 (total counts per 10 high-power field) AND MIB-1 labeling index < 4%
- The following histologies are not allowed (i.e., WHO grade II or III):
- Atypical
- Clear cell
- Choroid
- Rhabdoid
- Papillary
- Anaplastic
- Must have undergone non-radical resection* within the past 7 months
- Post-operative MRI (performed 4 months after surgery) demonstrating stages 3, 4, or 5 NOTE: *Biopsy only is considered non-radical resection and may be classified as stage 4 or 5 according to tumor volume
- No brain invasion
- No hemangiopericytoma
- No fibrous dysplasia or intra-osseous meningioma
- No multiple meningiomas or meningiomatosis
- Not part of neurofibromatosis type II
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age
- 18 and over
Performance status
- WHO 0-2
Life expectancy
- Not specified
Hematopoietic
- Not specified
Hepatic
- Not specified
Renal
- Not specified
Cardiovascular
- No serious congestive heart failure
Other
- HIV negative
- No other malignancy except basal cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
- No other disease that would preclude 5-year follow up after study completion
- No psychological, familial, sociological, or geographical condition that would preclude study compliance or study follow up
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy
- Not specified
Chemotherapy
- Not specified
Endocrine therapy
- Not specified
Radiotherapy
- No prior radiotherapy to the meninges or brain that would preclude study treatment
Surgery
- See Disease Characteristics
Other
- No prior randomization to this study
Trial locations and contacts
4 sites in 3 countries.
4 sites in 3 countries
Netherlands2 sites
Radiotherapeutisch Instituut-(Riso)
Deventer, 7400 AC
University Medical Center Rotterdam at Erasmus Medical Center
Rotterdam, 3000 CA
Germany1 site
University Hospital Schleswig-Holstein - Kiel Campus
Kiel, D-24105
Switzerland1 site
Hopital Cantonal Universitaire de Geneve
Geneva, CH-1211
About this study
Official title: Observation Versus Conventional-Fractionated Radiotherapy or Radiosurgery After Non-radical Surgery for Benign Intracranial Meningiomas: A Phase III Study
RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Radiosurgery may be able to send x-rays directly to the tumor and cause less damage to normal tissue. Giving radiation therapy or radiosurgery after surgery may kill any remaining tumor cells. It is not yet known whether radiation therapy or radiosurgery is more effective than observation alone in treating benign meningioma.
PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying radiation therapy or radiosurgery to see how well they work compared to observation alone in treating patients with newly diagnosed, benign meningioma that has been partially removed by surgery.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
Primary
- Compare progression-free survival of patients with newly diagnosed, incompletely resected, benign intracranial grade I meningioma treated with adjuvant conventional fractionated radiotherapy or radiosurgery vs observation only.
Secondary
- Compare the quality of life of patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare overall survival of patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare the incidence of a second surgery in patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare the incidence of acute and long-term neurotoxicity in patients treated with these regimens.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to post-surgery MRI staging (3 vs 4 vs 5), skull base location (yes vs no), age (< 60 vs ≥ 60), and participating center. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
- Arm I: Patients undergo observation only.
- Arm II: Within 4-7 months after surgery, patients undergo conventional fractionated radiotherapy once daily, 5 days a week for 6 weeks OR a single treatment of high-dose radiosurgery in the absence of unacceptable toxicity.
Quality of life is assessed at baseline, at 6 months after randomization, and then annually thereafter.
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed at 3 and 6 months after randomization and then annually thereafter.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 478 patients (239 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 3-4 years.
- Conditions
- Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors
- Being tested
- adjuvant therapy, radiation therapy, stereotactic radiosurgery
- Keywords
- adult grade I meningioma
- Medical subject headings
- Central Nervous System Neoplasms
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
adjuvant therapyProcedure or surgery
radiation therapyRadiation
stereotactic radiosurgeryRadiation
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Progression-free survival
Secondary outcomes (5)
Quality of life
Overall survival
Incidence of a second surgery
Acute neurotoxicity
Long-term neurotoxicity
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted4 Mar 2005 (estimated)
- Study startDec 2004
- Primary completionNov 2006
Why it stopped: low accrual
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Brain and Central Nervous System TumorsStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTCThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Enrolment
- 9 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Sponsor type
- Research network
- Collaborators
- NCIC Clinical Trials Group
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- John G. Wolbers, MD, PhD, Study chair, University Medical Center Rotterdam at Erasmus Medical CenterRaymond Miralbell, MD, Study chair, Hopital Cantonal Universitaire de GeneveRolando F. Del Maestro, MD, PhD, Study chair, Montreal Neurological Institute and HospitalLuis Souhami, MD, Study chair, McGill Cancer Centre at McGill University
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00104936
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- EORTC-26021 -22021
- Other IDs
- EORTC-26021, EORTC-22021, CAN-NCIC-EORTC-26021
- Status last verified
- Sep 2012
- First submitted
- 3 Mar 2005
- Last updated
- 24 Sep 2012
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 24 Sep 2012. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Observation Versus Conventional-Fractionated Radiotherapy or Radiosurgery After Non-radical Surgery for Benign Intracranial Meningiomas: A Phase III Study
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00104936
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- EORTC-26021 -22021
- Conditions
- Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors
- Keywords
- adult grade I meningioma
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- TerminatedReason stopped: low accrual
- Enrolment
- 9 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTCResearch network
- Collaborators
- NCIC Clinical Trials Group
- Study start
- Dec 2004
- Primary completion
- Nov 2006 (actual)
- First posted
- 4 Mar 2005 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Radiosurgery may be able to send x-rays directly to the tumor and cause less damage to normal tissue. Giving radiation therapy or radiosurgery after surgery may kill any remaining tumor cells. It is not yet known whether radiation therapy or radiosurgery is more effective than observation alone in treating benign meningioma.
PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying radiation therapy or radiosurgery to see how well they work compared to observation alone in treating patients with newly diagnosed, benign meningioma that has been partially removed by surgery.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
Primary
- Compare progression-free survival of patients with newly diagnosed, incompletely resected, benign intracranial grade I meningioma treated with adjuvant conventional fractionated radiotherapy or radiosurgery vs observation only.
Secondary
- Compare the quality of life of patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare overall survival of patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare the incidence of a second surgery in patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare the incidence of acute and long-term neurotoxicity in patients treated with these regimens.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to post-surgery MRI staging (3 vs 4 vs 5), skull base location (yes vs no), age (< 60 vs ≥ 60), and participating center. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
- Arm I: Patients undergo observation only.
- Arm II: Within 4-7 months after surgery, patients undergo conventional fractionated radiotherapy once daily, 5 days a week for 6 weeks OR a single treatment of high-dose radiosurgery in the absence of unacceptable toxicity.
Quality of life is assessed at baseline, at 6 months after randomization, and then annually thereafter.
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed at 3 and 6 months after randomization and then annually thereafter.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 478 patients (239 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 3-4 years.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| adjuvant therapy | Procedure or surgery | – |
| radiation therapy | Radiation | – |
| stereotactic radiosurgery | Radiation | – |
Primary outcome
Progression-free survival
5 secondary outcomes
Quality of life
Overall survival
Incidence of a second surgery
Acute neurotoxicity
Long-term neurotoxicity
Results and safety
The study was stopped early (reason given: low accrual). Results are not available in the source record.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 24 Sep 2012.
Related trials for Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors
Enrolling by invitationPhase 2
Tau PET Outcomes With Anti-amyloid Immunotherapies
Cognitive Impairment, Mild, Dementia, Mild
Not yet recruitingPhase 1/2
4SCAR-T Therapy Targeting GD2, PSMA and CD276 for Treating Neuroblastoma
Neuroblastoma
RecruitingPhase 2
A Study of VRT106 in Combination With Radiotherapy in Adult Patients With Diffuse Midline Glioma / Diffuse Intrinsic Pontine Glioma
Diffuse Midline Glioma, H3 K27M-Mutant, Diffuse Intrinsic Pontine Glioma
RecruitingPhase 1
A Study of RNA-lipid Particle (RNA-LP) Vaccines for Newly Diagnosed Pediatric High-Grade Gliomas (pHGG) and Adult Glioblastoma (GBM)
Adult Glioblastoma, High Grade Glioma
Not yet recruitingPhase 1
IL-8 Receptor-modified CD70 CAR T Cell Therapy in CD70+ Newly Diagnosed and Recurrent Pediatric High-grade Glioma (pHGG) and Newly Diagnosed Diffuse Intrinsic Pontine Glioma (ndDIPG)
High-grade Glioma, Diffuse Intrinsic Pontine Glioma
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
John G. Wolbers, MD, PhD study chair
University Medical Center Rotterdam at Erasmus Medical Center
Raymond Miralbell, MD study chair
Hopital Cantonal Universitaire de Geneve
Rolando F. Del Maestro, MD, PhD study chair
Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital
4 sites in 3 countries: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing adjuvant therapy, radiation therapy and stereotactic radiosurgery in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC at 4 sites in 3 countries.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 24 Sep 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 4 sites in Netherlands, Germany, Switzerland. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study was stopped early (reason given: low accrual). Results are not available in the source record.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Progression-free survival. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 24 Sep 2012.