AzTrials
AzTrials

Central Nervous System TumorsNCT00109798

Temozolomide and Topotecan in Treating Patients With Primary CNS Lymphoma

A study testing temozolomide and topotecan hydrochloride in people with Central Nervous System Tumors and Lymphoma, run by The Methodist Hospital Research Institute.

Withdrawn

Withdrawn. The study stopped before anyone enrolled.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as temozolomide and topotecan, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more cancer cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 75 years
Conditions the study is for
Central Nervous System Tumors, Lymphoma
What is being tested?
temozolomide and topotecan hydrochloride
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
0 participants
Where
No sites listed yet
Study dates
Mar 2005to Jul 2006
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 75 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
  • Histologically confirmed primary CNS lymphoma at initial diagnosis
  • Measurable tumor by radiography
  • Failed* OR is not a candidate for first-line high-dose systemic methotrexate-based chemotherapy with or without radiotherapy NOTE: *Failure is defined as relapse, progression, or failure to achieve a complete response
  • PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
  • Age
Show all 47Show fewer
  • 18 and over
  • Performance status
  • Karnofsky 50-100%
  • Life expectancy
  • Not specified
  • Hematopoietic
  • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 9 g/dL
  • Hepatic
  • SGOT and SGPT ≤ 3 times upper limit of normal
  • Bilirubin ≤ 2.0 mg/dL
  • Renal
  • Creatinine clearance > 40 mL/min
  • Other
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • HIV negative
  • No known allergy to temozolomide or topotecan
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or stage I or II cancer in complete remission
  • No other major medical illness or psychiatric impairment that would preclude study participation
  • PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
  • Biologic therapy
  • No concurrent prophylactic growth factors
  • Chemotherapy
  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 6 weeks since prior nitrosoureas
  • At least 2 weeks since prior methotrexate
  • Endocrine therapy
  • Not specified
  • Radiotherapy
  • See Disease Characteristics
  • Surgery
  • Not specified
  • Other
  • Recovered from all prior therapy
  • At least 4 weeks since prior non-nitrosourea cytotoxic drugs (except methotrexate)
  • At least 4 weeks since prior systemic investigational agents
  • At least 2 weeks since prior non-cytotoxic antitumor drugs
  • No other concurrent antitumor therapy

Who cannot join

  • Patients who are pregnant or breastfeeding, or females of childbearing potential not using adequate contraception.
  • Known allergy to temozolomide or topotecan.
  • Severe vomiting or other inability to administer medications orally.
  • Major medical illnesses or psychiatric impairment that in the investigator's opinion will prevent administration or completion of the protocol therapy and/or will interfere with follow-up.

About this study

Official title: Phase II Trial of Salvage Chemotherapy With Temozolomide in Combination With Topotecan for Primary CNS Lymphoma

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as temozolomide and topotecan, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more cancer cells.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well giving temozolomide together with topotecan works in treating patients with primary CNS lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the complete radiologic response rate in patients with primary CNS lymphoma treated with salvage chemotherapy comprising temozolomide and topotecan.

Secondary

  • Determine the median and failure-free survival of patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the toxicity of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the overall response rate in patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label study.

Patients receive oral temozolomide once daily on days 1-5 and topotecan IV over 30 minutes once daily on days 2-6. Treatment repeats every 28 days for 6-8 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year, every 4 months for 1 year, and then every 6 months for 3 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 6-25 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
temozolomide, topotecan hydrochloride
Keywords
primary central nervous system non-Hodgkin lymphoma, primary central nervous system Hodgkin lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Central Nervous System Neoplasms, Lymphoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • temozolomideDrug

    Also called Temodar

    Patient will take drug on day 1-5 of 28 day schedule

  • topotecan hydrochlorideDrug

    Also called Topotecan

    Patient will have IV on days 2-6 on a 28-day schedule

Study groups in NCT00109798
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Temozolomide, TopotecanExperimentalPatient will take on days 1-5 of a 28-days schedule. Take Topotecan on days 2-6 of the 28 day schedule
Receives: Drug: temozolomide; Drug: topotecan hydrochloride

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Rate of complete radiologic response (CR)

    Measured: July 2006

Secondary outcomes (4)
  1. Median overall survival

    Measured: July 2006

  2. Failure-free survival

    Measured: July 2006

  3. Toxicity

    Measured: July 2006

  4. Overall response rate (CR and partial response)

    Measured: July 2006

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted4 May 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startMar 2005
  3. Primary completionJul 2006
  4. Study completionJul 2006

Why it stopped: Sub-Investigator reloacted to another institution

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
0 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00109798
Sponsor's protocol ID
BCM IRB#H-16155
Other IDs
CDR0000427313
Status last verified
Sep 2017
First submitted
3 May 2005
Last updated
19 Sep 2017
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No
Individual data sharing
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing temozolomide and topotecan hydrochloride in people with Central Nervous System Tumors and Lymphoma, run by The Methodist Hospital Research Institute.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 47 inclusion and 4 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: withdrawn, as of the sponsor's last update on 19 Sep 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study was withdrawn before enrolling participants, so there are no results.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Rate of complete radiologic response (CR) (time frame: July 2006). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 19 Sep 2017.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in