AzTrials
AzTrials

LeukemiaPhase 1/2NCT00112567

Total-Body Irradiation, Thiotepa, and Fludarabine in Treating Young Patients Who Are Undergoing a Donor Stem Cell Transplant for Hematologic Cancer

A Phase 1/2 study testing fludarabine phosphate, thiotepa and peripheral blood stem cell transplantation in people with Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndromes, run by Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center at 2 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Chemotherapy, such as fludarabine and thiotepa, and radiation therapy may destroy cancerous blood-forming cells (stem cells) in the blood and bone marrow. Giving healthy stem cells from a donor whose blood closely resembles the patient's blood will help the patient's bone marrow make new stem cells that… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 20 years
Conditions the study is for
Leukemia, Myelodysplastic Syndromes
What is being tested?
fludarabine phosphate, thiotepa and peripheral blood stem cell transplantation
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
20 participants
Where
2 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Apr 2003to Jul 2007
Phase
Phase 1/2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 20 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of a life-threatening hematologic malignancy, including any of the following:
  • Acute leukemia advanced beyond first remission
  • Acute leukemia in first remission* with very high-risk prognostic features, including any of the following:
  • Philadelphia chromosome-positive acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL)
  • ALL or acute myeloid leukemia (AML) with 11q23 chromosomal abnormality
  • Hypodiploid ALL
  • Failed to achieve first remission within 1 month after induction therapy
  • Secondary AML
  • Myelodysplastic syndromes with International Prognostic Index score > 1
  • Chronic myelogenous leukemia in accelerated or blast phase NOTE: *Must be approved by PCC
  • Haploidentical family donor available
  • No suitable HLA-matched related or unrelated donor available
  • No related donor mismatched for a single HLA-A, -B, -C, -DRB1, or -DQB1 antigen available

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • Under 21

Performance status

  • Not specified

Life expectancy

  • At least 6 months

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • SGPT and SGOT < 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN)*
  • Bilirubin < 2 times ULN* NOTE: *Unless due to malignancy

Renal

  • Not specified

Cardiovascular

  • Ejection fraction ≥ 45%

Pulmonary

  • DLCO ≥ 60% of predicted

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • HIV negative

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • No second bone marrow transplantation, after a first regimen containing total body irradiation
  • No concurrent growth factors until day 21 post-transplantation

Chemotherapy

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • See Biologic therapy

Surgery

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

2 sites in 1 country.

United States2 sites
  • Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98104

  • Seattle Cancer Care Alliance

    Seattle, Washington, 98109-1023

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase I/II Study of Total Body Irradiation, Thiotepa, and Fludarabine as Conditioning for Haploidentical CD34+ Purified Peripheral Blood Stem Cell Transplants

RATIONALE: Chemotherapy, such as fludarabine and thiotepa, and radiation therapy may destroy cancerous blood-forming cells (stem cells) in the blood and bone marrow. Giving healthy stem cells from a donor whose blood closely resembles the patient's blood will help the patient's bone marrow make new stem cells that become red blood cells, white blood cells, and platelets.

PURPOSE: This phase I/II trial is studying the side effects of total-body irradiation, fludarabine, and thiotepa and to see how well they work in treating young patients who are undergoing a donor stem cell transplant for hematologic cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the safety of a conditioning regimen without anti-thymocyte globulin comprising total body irradiation, thiotepa, and fludarabine followed by CD34-positive-selected haploidentical allogeneic peripheral blood stem cell transplantation in young patients with life-threatening hematologic malignancies.

Secondary

  • Determine the risk for severe graft-vs-host disease in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the kinetics of immune reconstitution in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the risk for life-threatening infections in patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE:

  • Conditioning regimen: Patients 7 years of age and under undergo total body irradiation twice daily on days -9 to -7. Patients over 7 years of age undergo total body irradiation once on day -7. All patients receive fludarabine IV once daily on days -6 to -2 and thiotepa IV over 2 hours twice on day -5.
  • CD34-positive (CD34+)-selected haploidentical allogeneic peripheral blood stem cell transplantation (PBSCT): Patients undergo CD34+-selected allogeneic PBSCT on days 0 and 2.

Patients with acute lymphoblastic leukemia or CNS disease also receive methotrexate intrathecally twice before transplantation and 4 times after day 35 post-transplantation. Male patients with lymphoid malignancies undergo additional radiotherapy to the testes.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed for at least 100 days, at 1 year, and then periodically thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 20 patients (10 patients ≤ 7 years of age and 10 patients > 7 years of age) will be accrued for this study within 3 years.

Keywords
recurrent childhood acute lymphoblastic leukemia, childhood myelodysplastic syndromes, childhood acute lymphoblastic leukemia in remission, recurrent childhood acute myeloid leukemia, childhood acute myeloid leukemia in remission, secondary acute myeloid leukemia, accelerated phase chronic myelogenous leukemia, blastic phase chronic myelogenous leukemia, childhood chronic myelogenous leukemia, relapsing chronic myelogenous leukemia, de novo myelodysplastic syndromes, secondary myelodysplastic syndromes, previously treated myelodysplastic syndromes
Medical subject headings
Leukemia, Myelodysplastic Syndromes, Precursor Cell Lymphoblastic Leukemia-Lymphoma, Leukemia, Myeloid, Accelerated Phase, Blast Crisis

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Safety

Secondary outcomes (3)
  1. Risk of severe graft-versus-host disease

  2. Kinetics of immune reconstitution

  3. Risk of life-threatening infections

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted3 Jun 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startApr 2003
  3. Study completionJul 2007

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1/2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
20 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00112567
Sponsor's protocol ID
1629.00
Other IDs
FHCRC-1629.00, CDR0000430650
Status last verified
Sep 2010
First submitted
2 Jun 2005
Last updated
21 Sep 2010
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1/2 study testing fludarabine phosphate, thiotepa and peripheral blood stem cell transplantation in people with Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndromes, run by Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center at 2 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 21 Sep 2010. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 2 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this combined phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Safety. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 21 Sep 2010.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in