AzTrials
AzTrials

LeukemiaPhase 2NCT00112775

BMS-354825 or Imatinib Mesylate in Treating Patients With Chronic Phase Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia That Did Not Respond to Previous Imatinib Mesylate

A Phase 2 study testing dasatinib and imatinib mesylate in people with Leukemia, run by Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: BMS-354825 and imatinib mesylate may stop the growth of cancer cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is studying BMS-354825 to see how well it works compared to imatinib mesylate in treating patients with chronic phase chronic myelogenous… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Leukemia
What is being tested?
dasatinib and imatinib mesylate
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Mar 2005to not given
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of chronic phase chronic myelogenous leukemia (CML), meeting all of the following criteria:
  • Less than 15% blasts in peripheral blood and bone marrow
  • Less than 20% basophils in peripheral blood
  • Less than 30% blasts and promyelocytes in peripheral blood and bone marrow
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3 (unless thrombocytopenia is due to recent therapy)
  • No extramedullary involvement (other than liver or spleen)
  • Philadelphia chromosome (Ph)-positive disease by cytogenetic analysis
  • Must have developed resistant disease during prior treatment with imatinib mesylate* at a dose of 400-600 mg/day**, as defined by 1 of the following:
  • Loss of major cytogenetic response (MCyR)
  • Achieved a confirmed MCyR and subsequently no longer meets the MCyR criteria
  • Documented increase in Ph-positive metaphases by 30% on 2 cytogenetic analyses performed ≥ 4 weeks apart during treatment with imatinib mesylate
  • Loss of complete hematologic response (CHR)
  • Achieved a confirmed CHR and subsequently no longer meets the CHR criteria on all asessments over a consecutive 2-week period during treatment with imatinib mesylate
  • Continuously increasing WBC count on ≥ 2 consecutive evaluations ≥ 2 weeks apart with the final assessment showing a doubling of WBC from the nadir to ≥ 20,000/mm^3 OR an absolute increase in WBC by > 50,000/mm^3 above the lowest count after starting imatinib mesylate
  • No CHR after 3 months of treatment with imatinib mesylate at a dose of 400-600 mg/day
  • No cytogenetic response after 6 months of treatment with imatinib mesylate at a dose of 400-600 mg/day
  • No MCyR after 12 months of treatment with imatinib mesylate at a dose of 400-600 mg/day NOTE: *Imatinib mesylate does not need to be the most recent treatment for CML

NOTE: **Imatinib mesylate dose ≤ 600 mg/day

  • Able to tolerate chronic administration of imatinib mesylate at the highest dose received during prior treatment
  • No imatinib mesylate-related non-hematologic toxicity ≥ grade 3
  • No grade 4 imatinib mesylate-related hematologic toxicity lasting more than 7 days
  • No imatinib mesylate-related toxicity that led to discontinuation or disruption of dosing for > 4 weeks
  • No previously identified BCR-ABL mutation of 1 of the following types:
  • L248V
  • G250E
  • Q252H/R
  • Y253H/F
  • E255K/V
  • T315I/D
  • F317L
  • H369P/R
  • No prior diagnosis of accelerated phase or blast crisis CML
  • Patients who previously met the criteria for accelerated phase or blast crisis CML who achieved CHR during treatment with imatinib mesylate and then subsequently progressed to chronic phase CML are not eligible
  • Ineligible for or unwilling to undergo hematopoietic stem cell transplantation

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-1

Life expectancy

  • At least 3 months

Hematopoietic

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No history of a significant bleeding disorder unrelated to CML, including any of the following:
  • Congenital bleeding disorder (e.g., von Willebrand's disease)
  • Acquired bleeding disorder diagnosed within the past year (e.g. acquired anti-factor VIII antibodies)

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin ≤ 2.0 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • ALT and AST ≤ 2.5 times ULN

Renal

  • Creatinine ≤ 1.5 times ULN
  • Total serum or ionized calcium normal (supplementation allowed)

Cardiovascular

  • Heart rate ≥ 50 beats/minute by EKG
  • No myocardial infarction within the past 6 months
  • No uncontrolled angina within the past 3 months
  • No congestive heart failure within the past 3 months
  • No diagnosed or suspected congenital long QT syndrome
  • No history of clinically significant ventricular arrhythmias (e.g., ventricular tachycardia, ventricular fibrillation, or torsades de Pointes)
  • No prolonged QTc interval (i.e., > 450 msec) by EKG using Bazett's correction
  • High Bazett's correction (i.e., > 450 msec) allowed provided Fridericia correction is ≤ 450 msec
  • No history of second or third degree heart block
  • Pacemaker allowed
  • No uncontrolled hypertension
  • No other uncontrolled or significant cardiovascular disease

Other

  • Not pregnant
  • No nursing during and for ≥ 3 months after study participation
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception for ≥ 1 month before, during, and for ≥ 3 months after study participation
  • Magnesium and potassium normal (supplementation allowed)
  • No serious uncontrolled medical disorder or active infection that would preclude study participation
  • No dementia or altered mental status that would preclude giving informed consent
  • No significant bleeding from the gastrointestinal tract within the past 6 months
  • No evidence of organ dysfunction or any clinically significant deviation from normal on physical examination, vital signs, EKG, or clinical laboratory determinations unrelated to CML that would preclude study participation
  • No prisoners or patients who are involuntarily incarcerated for treatment of either a psychiatric or physical (e.g., infectious disease) illness

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • More than 14 days since prior interferon

Chemotherapy

  • More than 14 days since prior cytarabine
  • Prior or concurrent hydroxyurea for elevated WBC (i.e., WBC > 50,000/mm^3) allowed

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • More than 7 days since prior imatinib mesylate
  • At least 7 days since prior and no concurrent low-dose aspirin (≤ 325 mg/day)
  • At least 14 days since prior and no concurrent high-dose aspirin (> 325 mg/day)
  • More than 14 days since prior targeted small molecule anticancer agents
  • More than 28 days since prior investigational or antineoplastic agents except hydroxyurea or anagrelide
  • At least 5 days or 5 half-lives (whichever is greater) since prior and no concurrent drugs that carry a risk of causing torsades de Pointes, including any of the following:
  • Quinidine
  • Procainamide
  • Disopyramide
  • Amiodarone
  • Sotalol
  • Ibutilide
  • Dofetilide
  • Erythromycin
  • Clarithromycin
  • Chlorpromazine
  • Haloperidol
  • Mesoridazine
  • Thioridazine
  • Pimozide
  • Ziprasidone
  • Cisapride
  • Bepridil
  • Droperidol
  • Methadone
  • Arsenic trioxide
  • Chloroquine
  • Domperidone
  • Halofantrine
  • Levomethadyl
  • Pentamidine
  • Sparfloxacin
  • Lidoflazine
  • At least 5 days or 5 half-lives (whichever is greater) since prior and no concurrent medication that directly inhibits platelet function (except anagrelide for thrombocytosis due to CML), including any of the following:
  • Dipyridamole
  • Epoprostenol
  • Epitifibatide
  • Clopidogrel
  • Cilostazol
  • Abciximab
  • Ticlopidine
  • At least 5 days or 5 half-lives (whichever is greater) since prior and no concurrent anticoagulants (e.g., warfarin, heparin, or low molecular weight heparin [e.g., danaparoid, dalteparin, tinzaparin, or enoxaparin])
  • Concurrent prophylactic low-dose warfarin for prevention of catheter thrombosis and heparin-flush for IV lines allowed
  • No prior BMS-354825
  • No concurrent CYP3A4 inhibitors or inducers, including any of the following:
  • Ketoconazole
  • Ritonavir
  • Rifampin
  • Efavirenz
  • No other concurrent therapy for CML

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center at UCLA

    Los Angeles, California, 90095-1781

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Randomized Multi-Center Open Label Study of BMS-354825 vs Imatinib Mesylate (Gleevec®) 800 mg/d in Subjects With Chronic Phase Philadelphia Chromosome-Positive Chronic Myeloid Leukemia Who Have Disease That is Resistant to Iamtinib at a Dose of 400-600 mg/d

RATIONALE: BMS-354825 and imatinib mesylate may stop the growth of cancer cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is studying BMS-354825 to see how well it works compared to imatinib mesylate in treating patients with chronic phase chronic myelogenous leukemia that did not respond to previous imatinib mesylate.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the 12-week major cytogenetic response (MCyR) rate in patients with imatinib mesylate-resistant Philadelphia chromosome-positive chronic phase chronic myelogenous leukemia treated with BMS-354825 vs imatinib mesylate.

Secondary

  • Determine the MCyR rate prior to crossover in patients treated with these drugs.
  • Determine the durability of MCyR and time to MCyR prior to crossover in patients treated with these drugs.
  • Determine the complete hematologic response (CHR) rate prior to crossover in patients treated with these drugs.
  • Determine the durability of CHR and time to CHR prior to crossover in patients treated with these drugs.
  • Determine the major molecular response rate prior to crossover, as determined by BCR-ABL transcripts in blood during treatment using quantitative reverse transcriptase polymerase chain reaction, in patients treated with these drugs.
  • Determine post-crossover efficacy endpoints in patients treated with these drugs who crossover.
  • Assess health-related quality of life prior to crossover in patients treated with these drugs.
  • Determine the safety and tolerability of BMS-354825 in these patients.
  • Determine the pharmacokinetics of BMS-354825 in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label, multicenter, randomized, crossover study. Patients are stratified according to study site and cytogenetic response to prior imatinib mesylate (yes vs no). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive oral BMS-354825 twice daily in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients experiencing disease progression or persistent intolerance to BMS-354825 cross over to arm II after a 2-day washout period. After crossover, patients receive oral imatinib mesylate twice daily in the absence of further disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
  • Arm II: Patients receive oral imatinib mesylate twice daily in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients experiencing disease progression, intolerance to imatinib mesylate, lack of major cytogenetic response at 12 weeks, or < 30% absolute reduction in Philadelphia chromosome-positive metaphases at 12 weeks cross over to arm I after a 1-week washout period. After crossover, patients receive oral BMS-354825 twice daily in the absence of further disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Quality of life is assessed at baseline, at day 29, every 4 weeks for 24 weeks, every 12 weeks for the remainder of study treatment, and then at the completion of study treatment.

After the completion of study treatment, patients are followed for at least 30 days.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A minimum of 150 patients (100 in arm I and 50 in arm II) will be accrued for this study within 6-12 months.

Conditions
Leukemia
Being tested
dasatinib, imatinib mesylate
Keywords
chronic phase chronic myelogenous leukemia, chronic myelogenous leukemia, BCR-ABL1 positive, relapsing chronic myelogenous leukemia
Medical subject headings
Leukemia, Leukemia, Myeloid, Chronic-Phase, Leukemia, Myelogenous, Chronic, BCR-ABL Positive

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Major cytogenic response (MCyR) rate at 12 weeks

Secondary outcomes (4)
  1. MCyR at any time

  2. Duration of MCyR

  3. Time to MCyR

  4. Complete hematologic response rate

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted3 Jun 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startMar 2005

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Masking
None (open label)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00112775
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000428457
Other IDs
UCLA-0501047-01, BMS-CA180017, EUDRACT-2004-004450-96
Status last verified
Apr 2006
First submitted
2 Jun 2005
Last updated
7 Jun 2011
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Kantarjian H, Pasquini R, Levy V, Jootar S, Holowiecki J, Hamerschlak N, Hughes T, Bleickardt E, Dejardin D, Cortes J, Shah NP. Dasatinib or high-dose imatinib for chronic-phase chronic myeloid leukemia resistant to imatinib at a dose of 400 to 600 milligrams daily: two-year follow-up of a randomized phase 2 study (START-R). Cancer. 2009 Sep 15;115(18):4136-47. doi: 10.1002/cncr.24504.

    PubMed 19536906
  • Kantarjian H, Pasquini R, Hamerschlak N, Rousselot P, Holowiecki J, Jootar S, Robak T, Khoroshko N, Masszi T, Skotnicki A, Hellmann A, Zaritsky A, Golenkov A, Radich J, Hughes T, Countouriotis A, Shah N. Dasatinib or high-dose imatinib for chronic-phase chronic myeloid leukemia after failure of first-line imatinib: a randomized phase 2 trial. Blood. 2007 Jun 15;109(12):5143-50. doi: 10.1182/blood-2006-11-056028. Epub 2007 Feb 22.

    PubMed 17317857

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing dasatinib and imatinib mesylate in people with Leukemia, run by Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 7 Jun 2011. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Major cytogenic response (MCyR) rate at 12 weeks. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00112775, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 7 Jun 2011.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in