AzTrials
AzTrials

LeukemiaPhase 1NCT00124644

Combination Chemotherapy and Tipifarnib in Treating Patients With Newly Diagnosed Acute Myeloid Leukemia

A Phase 1 study testing cytarabine, daunorubicin hydrochloride and etoposide in people with Leukemia, run by Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cytarabine, daunorubicin, and etoposide, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Tipifarnib may stop the growth of cancer cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 59 years
Conditions the study is for
Leukemia
What is being tested?
cytarabine, daunorubicin hydrochloride and etoposide
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
30 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Mar 2006to Jan 2008
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 59 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed acute myeloid leukemia (AML) according to the WHO classification system
  • High-risk disease
  • Newly diagnosed disease
  • Patients with secondary AML due to prior chemotherapy for a different malignancy are eligible
  • No known inv(16), t(8;21), or t(15;17) cytogenetic abnormality
  • No acute promyelocytic leukemia
  • No CNS leukemia

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 to 59

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • More than 6 months

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • AST and ALT ≤ 2.5 times upper limit of normal
  • Bilirubin normal

Renal

  • Creatinine normal OR
  • Creatinine clearance ≥ 60 mL/min

Cardiovascular

  • Ejection fraction > 50% by echocardiogram or MUGA
  • No symptomatic congestive heart failure
  • No unstable angina pectoris
  • No cardiac arrhythmia

Immunologic

  • No known HIV positivity
  • No history of allergic reactions attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biological composition to tipifarnib
  • No allergy to imidazoles (e.g., clotrimazole, ketoconazole, miconazole, or econazole)
  • No ongoing or active infection

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No other uncontrolled illness
  • No psychiatric illness or social situation that would preclude study compliance

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • No concurrent epoetin alfa

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior chemotherapy for AML or myelodysplastic syndromes except hydroxyurea

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • No concurrent palliative radiotherapy

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • More than 30 days since prior investigational agents
  • No other concurrent investigational or commercial agents or therapies for the malignancy

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute at Ohio State University Medical Center

    Columbus, Ohio, 43210-1240

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase I Study of R115777 (Zarnestra) in Combination With Induction Chemotherapy in Patients With Newly Diagnosed, High Risk Acute Myeloid Leukemia

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cytarabine, daunorubicin, and etoposide, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Tipifarnib may stop the growth of cancer cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Giving combination chemotherapy together with tipifarnib may kill more cancer cells.

PURPOSE: This phase I trial is studying the side effects and best dose of tipifarnib when given together with combination chemotherapy in treating patients with newly diagnosed acute myeloid leukemia.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the maximum tolerated dose of tipifarnib when given in combination with induction therapy comprising cytarabine, daunorubicin, and etoposide followed by consolidation therapy comprising high-dose cytarabine in patients with newly diagnosed high-risk acute myeloid leukemia.

Secondary

  • Determine the qualitative and quantitative toxic effects of this regimen, in terms of organ specificity, time course, predictability, and reversibility, in these patients.
  • Determine the rate of complete remission in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the remission duration, overall survival, and relapse-free and event-free survival of patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the pharmacokinetics of this regimen in these patients.
  • Correlate pharmacodynamic measurements and levels of tumor necrosis factor-alpha with clinical response in patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study of tipifarnib.

  • Induction therapy: Patients receive cytarabine IV continuously on days 1-7; daunorubicin IV and etoposide IV over 2 hours on days 5-7; and oral tipifarnib twice daily on days 5-12.

Patients undergo bone marrow biopsy on day 17 OR days 17 and 24 (if day 17 bone marrow biopsy shows suspicious disease). Patients achieving a complete remission (CR) proceed to consolidation therapy. Patients with residual disease, defined as > 5% leukemic blasts in a bone marrow of ≥ 20% cellularity, receive a second course of induction therapy comprising cytarabine IV continuously on days 1-5; daunorubicin IV and etoposide IV over 2 hours on days 4 and 5; and oral tipifarnib twice daily on days 4-9. Patients achieving a CR after a second course of induction therapy proceed to consolidation therapy. Patients not achieving a CR after a second course of induction therapy are removed from the study.

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of tipifarnib until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 3 or 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity. An additional 12 patients are treated at the MTD.

  • Consolidation therapy: Patients receive high-dose cytarabine IV twice daily on days 1, 3, and 5. Treatment repeats approximately every 6-8 weeks for 4 courses.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed every 3-6 months for up to 5 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A maximum of 30 patients will be accrued for this study within 10-15 months.

Conditions
Leukemia
Being tested
cytarabine, daunorubicin hydrochloride, etoposide, tipifarnib, chemotherapy
Keywords
adult acute myeloid leukemia with 11q23 (MLL) abnormalities, adult acute myeloid leukemia with t(16;16)(p13;q22), untreated adult acute myeloid leukemia, secondary acute myeloid leukemia
Medical subject headings
Leukemia, Congenital Abnormalities

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • cytarabineDrug

  • daunorubicin hydrochlorideDrug

  • etoposideDrug

  • tipifarnibDrug

  • chemotherapyProcedure or surgery

  • enzyme inhibitor therapyProcedure or surgery

  • high-dose chemotherapyProcedure or surgery

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted28 Jul 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startMar 2006
  3. Primary completionDec 2007
  4. Study completionJan 2008

Why it stopped: Withdrawn due to "toxicity" problems

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Enrolment
30 participants
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00124644
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000437105
Other IDs
OSU-05020, OSU-2005C0024, NCI-6623
Status last verified
Jan 2008
First submitted
26 Jul 2005
Last updated
3 May 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing cytarabine, daunorubicin hydrochloride and etoposide in people with Leukemia, run by Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 3 May 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early (reason given: Withdrawn due to "toxicity" problems). Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 3 May 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in