LymphomaPhase 1/2NCT00134082
Rituximab and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Vaccine Therapy in Treating Patients With Relapsed Hodgkin Lymphoma
A Phase 1/2 study testing KGEL vaccine, Filgrastim and Rituximab in people with Lymphoma, run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins at 1 site in United States.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies, such as rituximab, can block cancer growth in different ways. Some block the ability of cancer cells to grow and spread. Others find cancer cells and help kill them or carry cancer-killing substances to them. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 to 120 years
- Conditions the study is for
- Lymphoma
- What is being tested?
- KGEL vaccine, Filgrastim and Rituximab
- Type of treatment
- Vaccines
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 31 participants
- Where
- 1 siteUnited States
- Study dates
- Nov 2005to Jan 2013
- Phase
- Phase 1/2
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 to 120 years
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed classical Hodgkin's lymphoma
- Relapsed disease with achievement of at least a partial response or a metabolic response to most recent salvage therapy
- No primary induction failure, defined as disease progression during or within 2 months after completion of first-line therapy
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age
- 18 and over
Performance status
- ECOG 0-1
Life expectancy
- Not specified
Hematopoietic
- Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,000/mm^3
- Platelet count ≥ 75,000/mm^3
Hepatic
- Bilirubin ≤ 2.0 mg/dL* NOTE: *Unless due to lymphoma or Gilbert's syndrome
Renal
- Creatinine ≤ 2.0 mg/dL
Cardiovascular
- Ejection fraction ≥ 45% by echocardiogram or MUGA
Pulmonary
- DLCO ≥ 50% of predicted (corrected for alveolar volume)
Immunologic
- No known HIV positivity
- No active infection requiring oral or IV antibiotics
- No autoimmune or other disease requiring long-term systemic steroids or other long-term immunosuppressants
Other
- Not pregnant or nursing
- Negative pregnancy test
- Fertile patients must use effective contraception
- Able to tolerate high-dose therapy
- No other malignancy within the past 3 years except basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy
- Not specified
Chemotherapy
- No prior bone marrow transplantation
Endocrine therapy
- Not specified
Radiotherapy
- Concurrent radiotherapy for disease progression after high-dose cyclophosphamide allowed at the discretion of the principal investigator
Surgery
- Not specified
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
United States1 site
Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins
Baltimore, Maryland, 21231-2410
About this study
Official title: Pilot Study of Rituximab, High Dose Cyclophosphamide, and GM-CSF Based Immunotherapy for Relapsed Hodgkin's Lymphoma
RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies, such as rituximab, can block cancer growth in different ways. Some block the ability of cancer cells to grow and spread. Others find cancer cells and help kill them or carry cancer-killing substances to them. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cyclophosphamide, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Vaccines made from another person's cancer cells may help the body build an effective immune response to kill cancer cells. Giving rituximab together with chemotherapy and vaccine therapy may kill more cancer cells
PURPOSE: This phase I/II trial is studying how well giving rituximab together with cyclophosphamide and vaccine therapy works in treating patients with relapsed Hodgkin lymphoma.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
Primary
- Determine the safety and tolerability of rituximab and high-dose cyclophosphamide followed by vaccine therapy comprising an allogeneic vaccine that expresses Hodgkin's tumor antigens and sargramostim (GM-CSF) (KGEL vaccine) as salvage therapy in patients with relapsed Hodgkin lymphoma.
- Determine the immunologic response to this vaccine in these patients.
Secondary
- Determine the 3-year relapse-free and overall survival of patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the patterns of cellular immune reconstitution in patients treated with this regimen.
OUTLINE: This is an open-label study.
Patients receive rituximab IV on days -10 and -7 and then on days 29, 36, 43, and 50 (weeks 4-7) and high-dose (transplant-dose) cyclophosphamide IV on days -3 to 0 without stem cell rescue. Patients receive filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously once daily beginning on day 6 and continuing until blood counts recover. Patients also receive vaccine therapy comprising an allogeneic vaccine that expresses Hodgkin's tumor antigens and sargramostim (GM-CSF) (KGEL vaccine) intradermally on day 1, and weeks 4, 8, 12, 16, and 24.
After completion of high-dose cyclophosphamide, patients are followed every 3 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 25 patients will be accrued for this study.
- Conditions
- Lymphoma
- Being tested
- KGEL vaccine, Filgrastim, Rituximab, Cyclophosphamide
- Keywords
- recurrent adult Hodgkin lymphoma
- Medical subject headings
- Lymphoma, Hodgkin Disease
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
KGEL vaccineBiological
Vaccine was administered at weeks 0, 4, 8, 12, 16, and 24 at a dose of 1 x 10^8 cells per dose. The first dose was given on Day +1.
FilgrastimBiological
Also called G-CSF
5 mcg/kg/day starting on Day +6 until ANC is >= 1000/mcL.
RituximabBiological
Also called Rituxan
375 mg/m^2/day on Days -10, -7, and at weeks 4, 5, 6, and 7.
CyclophosphamideDrug
Also called Cytoxan
50 mg/kg/day on Day -3, -2, -1, and 0.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Immunotherapy | Experimental | All participants received two days of rituximab, then four days of high-dose cyclophosphamide followed by filgrastim. Participants then received six doses of KGEL vaccine over 24 weeks interspersed with four additional doses of rituximab. Receives: Biological: KGEL vaccine; Biological: Filgrastim; Biological: Rituximab; Drug: Cyclophosphamide |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Number of Participants With Grade 3-5 Adverse Events
Number of participants who experienced at least one grade 3-5 adverse event by CTCAE 3.0 that was attributed to protocol intervention.
Measured: Up to 36 months
Percentage of Participants With an Increase in Frequency of LMP2-specific CD8+ T Cells
Percentage of participants with an increase in frequency of LMP2-specific CD8+ T cells. Increase in frequency is defined as at least one order of magnitude higher than baseline measurement.
Measured: Change from 3 months to 6 months
Secondary outcomes (2)
Survival
Median number of months that participants were alive (overall survival) and alive without disease relapse or new diagnosis of myelodysplasia or acute leukemia (event-free survival).
Measured: Up to 6 years
Days to Neutrophil and Platelet Engraftment
Median number of days to absolute neutrophil count (ANC) >= 500/mcL and platelet count >=20000/mcL.
Measured: Up to 46 days
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted24 Aug 2005 (estimated)
- Study startNov 2005
- Primary completionJan 2013
- Study completionJan 2013
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Other trials for LymphomaStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns HopkinsThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 1/2
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 31 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Richard Ambinder, MD, Study chair, Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00134082
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- J0528
- Other IDs
- P50CA096888, P30CA006973, NA_00035358
- Status last verified
- Feb 2019
- First submitted
- 22 Aug 2005
- Last updated
- 26 Feb 2019
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
- Individual data sharing
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 26 Feb 2019. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Pilot Study of Rituximab, High Dose Cyclophosphamide, and GM-CSF Based Immunotherapy for Relapsed Hodgkin's Lymphoma
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00134082
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- J0528
- Conditions
- Lymphoma
- Keywords
- recurrent adult Hodgkin lymphoma
- Phase
- Phase 1/2
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 31 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns HopkinsUniversity, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Study start
- Nov 2005 (actual)
- Primary completion
- Jan 2013 (actual)
- Study completion
- Jan 2013 (actual)
- First posted
- 24 Aug 2005 (estimated)
- Results
- Posted 26 Feb 2019
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies, such as rituximab, can block cancer growth in different ways. Some block the ability of cancer cells to grow and spread. Others find cancer cells and help kill them or carry cancer-killing substances to them. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cyclophosphamide, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Vaccines made from another person's cancer cells may help the body build an effective immune response to kill cancer cells. Giving rituximab together with chemotherapy and vaccine therapy may kill more cancer cells
PURPOSE: This phase I/II trial is studying how well giving rituximab together with cyclophosphamide and vaccine therapy works in treating patients with relapsed Hodgkin lymphoma.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
Primary
- Determine the safety and tolerability of rituximab and high-dose cyclophosphamide followed by vaccine therapy comprising an allogeneic vaccine that expresses Hodgkin's tumor antigens and sargramostim (GM-CSF) (KGEL vaccine) as salvage therapy in patients with relapsed Hodgkin lymphoma.
- Determine the immunologic response to this vaccine in these patients.
Secondary
- Determine the 3-year relapse-free and overall survival of patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the patterns of cellular immune reconstitution in patients treated with this regimen.
OUTLINE: This is an open-label study.
Patients receive rituximab IV on days -10 and -7 and then on days 29, 36, 43, and 50 (weeks 4-7) and high-dose (transplant-dose) cyclophosphamide IV on days -3 to 0 without stem cell rescue. Patients receive filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously once daily beginning on day 6 and continuing until blood counts recover. Patients also receive vaccine therapy comprising an allogeneic vaccine that expresses Hodgkin's tumor antigens and sargramostim (GM-CSF) (KGEL vaccine) intradermally on day 1, and weeks 4, 8, 12, 16, and 24.
After completion of high-dose cyclophosphamide, patients are followed every 3 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 25 patients will be accrued for this study.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 1
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Immunotherapy | Experimental | Biological: KGEL vaccine, Biological: Filgrastim, Biological: Rituximab, Drug: CyclophosphamideAll participants received two days of rituximab, then four days of high-dose cyclophosphamide followed by filgrastim. Participants then received six doses of KGEL vaccine over 24 weeks interspersed with four additional doses of rituximab. |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 to 120 years
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| KGEL vaccineVaccine was administered at weeks 0, 4, 8, 12, 16, and 24 at a dose of 1 x 10^8 cells per dose. The first dose was given on Day +1. | Biological | Immunotherapy |
| FilgrastimAlso: G-CSF5 mcg/kg/day starting on Day +6 until ANC is >= 1000/mcL. | Biological | Immunotherapy |
| RituximabAlso: Rituxan375 mg/m^2/day on Days -10, -7, and at weeks 4, 5, 6, and 7. | Biological | Immunotherapy |
| CyclophosphamideAlso: Cytoxan50 mg/kg/day on Day -3, -2, -1, and 0. | Drug | Immunotherapy |
Primary outcome
Number of Participants With Grade 3-5 Adverse Events
Time frame: Up to 36 months
Number of participants who experienced at least one grade 3-5 adverse event by CTCAE 3.0 that was attributed to protocol intervention.
Percentage of Participants With an Increase in Frequency of LMP2-specific CD8+ T Cells
Time frame: Change from 3 months to 6 months
Percentage of participants with an increase in frequency of LMP2-specific CD8+ T cells. Increase in frequency is defined as at least one order of magnitude higher than baseline measurement.
2 secondary outcomes
Survival
Time frame: Up to 6 years
Days to Neutrophil and Platelet Engraftment
Time frame: Up to 46 days
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 26 Feb 2019.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
- Individual participant dataSharing planned: No
Related trials for Lymphoma
RecruitingPhase 2
Tafasitamab With Acalabrutinib and Venetoclax for the Treatment of Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia/Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma
Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia, Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia/Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma
RecruitingPhase 2
Ibrutinib Combination Therapy in Transplant Ineligible Individuals With Newly Diagnosed Primary CNS Lymphoma
Non-hodgkin Lymphoma
RecruitingObservational study
Blood, Urine, and Tissue Collection for Cutaneous Lymphoma, Eczema, and Atopic Dermatitis Research
Cutaneous T-cell Lymphoma, Sezary Syndrome
Not yet recruitingPhase 1
Testing the Addition of an Anti-Cancer Drug, Glofitamab, to the Usual Chemotherapy Treatment (Alternating R-CHOP/R-DHAP) for Previously Untreated Mantle Cell Lymphoma
Ann Arbor Stage II Mantle Cell Lymphoma, Ann Arbor Stage III Mantle Cell Lymphoma
Active, not recruitingPhase 2
Brentuximab Vedotin and Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With CD30-Positive Peripheral T-cell Lymphoma
Adult T-Cell Leukemia/Lymphoma, Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma, ALK-Negative
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Richard Ambinder, MD study chair
Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 1/2 study testing KGEL vaccine, Filgrastim and Rituximab in people with Lymphoma, run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins at 1 site in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 26 Feb 2019. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this combined phase mean?
Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 26 Feb 2019). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Number of Participants With Grade 3-5 Adverse Events (time frame: Up to 36 months). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 26 Feb 2019.