AzTrials
AzTrials

Fallopian Tube CancerPhase 2NCT00138242

Docetaxel and Carboplatin in Treating Patients With Ovarian Epithelial, Fallopian Tube, or Peritoneal Cavity Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin, docetaxel and adjuvant therapy in people with Fallopian Tube Cancer and Ovarian Cancer, run by Floyd & Delores Jones Cancer Institute at Virginia Mason Medical Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as docetaxel and carboplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older, women only
What is being tested?
carboplatin, docetaxel and adjuvant therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
30 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Dec 2004to Oct 2006
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or peritoneal cavity cancer
  • Stage IC-IV disease
  • No borderline or low malignant potential tumors of any stage
  • Underwent initial surgical management, including staging, of early stage disease or surgical debulking of advanced stage disease* NOTE: *Patients may delay surgical debulking, if clinically indicated, until after study entry; these patients may receive several courses of neoadjuvant chemotherapy prior to surgical debulking, but before study entry

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 8.0 g/dL
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin normal
  • Meets 1 of the following criteria:
  • Alkaline phosphatase (AP) normal AND AST or ALT ≤ 5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • AP ≤ 2.5 times ULN AND AST or ALT ≤ 1.5 times ULN
  • AP ≤ 5 times ULN AND AST or ALT normal

Renal

  • Not specified

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for ≥ 3 months after completion of study treatment
  • No peripheral neuropathy > grade 1
  • No prior malignancy with a poor prognosis that is at risk of relapse during study participation, as determined by the principal investigator
  • No history of severe hypersensitivity reaction to drugs formulated with polysorbate 80

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No concurrent chemotherapy for another malignancy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Floyd & Delores Jones Cancer Institute at Virginia Mason Medical Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98111-0900

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase II Trial of Weekly Docetaxel (Taxotere®) and Carboplatin as Initial Chemotherapy for Women With Ovarian Cancer and Similar Malignancies

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as docetaxel and carboplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well giving docetaxel together with carboplatin works in treating patients with ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or peritoneal cavity cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine whether weekly administration of docetaxel and carboplatin is safer than conventional three-week chemotherapy courses, in terms of reducing the rate of myelosuppression, in patients with stage IC-IV ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or peritoneal cavity cancer.

Secondary

  • Determine the quality of life of patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the toxic effects of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the efficacy of this regimen, in terms of clinical response rate, time to disease progression, and findings at second-look surgery, in these patients.

OUTLINE: Patients receive docetaxel IV and carboplatin IV on days 1, 8, 15. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients may then undergo optional second-look surgery. After completion of 6 courses of chemotherapy (and second-look surgery, if applicable), patients may receive consolidation and/or salvage therapy at the discretion of the investigator.

Quality of life is assessed at baseline, before each treatment course, at the completion of study treatment, and then annually for 2 years.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed annually for 2 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 30 patients will be accrued for this study within 2 years.

Keywords
stage I ovarian epithelial cancer, stage II ovarian epithelial cancer, stage III ovarian epithelial cancer, stage IV ovarian epithelial cancer, fallopian tube cancer, primary peritoneal cavity cancer
Medical subject headings
Fallopian Tube Neoplasms, Ovarian Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Ovarian Epithelial

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Reduction rate of myelosuppression

Secondary outcomes (5)
  1. Quality of life as assessed by the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy -Ovarian (FACT-O) questionnaire

  2. Toxicity

  3. Clinical response rate

  4. Findings at second look surgery

  5. Time to disease progression

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted30 Aug 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startDec 2004
  3. Study completionOct 2006

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
30 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00138242
Sponsor's protocol ID
VMRC-8837
Other IDs
CDR0000439927, AVENTIS-VMRC-8837
Status last verified
Oct 2006
First submitted
29 Aug 2005
Last updated
26 Jun 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin, docetaxel and adjuvant therapy in people with Fallopian Tube Cancer and Ovarian Cancer, run by Floyd & Delores Jones Cancer Institute at Virginia Mason Medical Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 26 Jun 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Reduction rate of myelosuppression. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 26 Jun 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in