Lymphoma, B CellPhase 2NCT00210379
Phase II Study of Combined Modality Treatment in Primary Testicular Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma
A Phase 2 study testing rituximab, CHOP and intrathecal methotrexate in people with Lymphoma, B Cell, run by International Extranodal Lymphoma Study Group (IELSG) at 1 site in Switzerland.
Trial summary
The primary objective assess the clinical activity of combination doxorubicin-containing chemotherapy plus monoclonal antibody anti-CD20 (Rituximab) plus intrathecal prophylactic chemotherapy and loco-regional radiotherapy in primary localised testicular DLCL and to assess the toxicity of this therapeutic strategy Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older, men only
- Conditions the study is for
- Lymphoma, B Cell
- What is being tested?
- rituximab, CHOP and intrathecal methotrexate
- Type of treatment
- Surgery or procedure
- How many people
- 64 participants
- Where
- 1 siteSwitzerland
- Study dates
- Nov 2000to Mar 2007
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- Men only
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
Who may be able to join
- age = 18 years.
- ECOG performance status 0-2
- Histologically proven primary testicular CD20-positive diffuse large B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, untreated
- Ann Arbor stage IE or IIE. Bilateral testicular involvement at presentation will not be considered stage IV. In these patients the final Ann Arbor stage will be determined by the extent of nodal involvement.
- Bidimensionally measurable or evaluable disease. Patients who have had all disease removed by surgery are eligible.
- Adequate bone marrow reserve (ANC > 1.000/L, Plt > 100.000/L)
Show all 11Show fewer
- Cardiac ejection fraction ≥ 50% by MUGA scan or echocardiography
- No previous therapy with monoclonal antibody anti-CD20.
- No psychiatric illness that precludes understanding concepts of the trial or signing informed consent
- No other major life-threatening illnesses that may preclude chemotherapy
- Have given written informed consent prior to any program-specific screening procedure, with the understanding that the consent may be withdrawn by the patient at any time without prejudice
Who cannot join
- impairment of renal function (creatinine > 2 mg/dl) or liver function (bilirubin > 2 mg/dl) unless due to lymphoma involvement
- HIV positive patients
- evolutive malignancy within 5 years with the exception of localized non-melanomatous skin cancer
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
Switzerland1 site
Oncology Institute of Southern Switzerland (IOSI)
Bellinzona, 6500
About this study
Official title: A Phase II Study of CHOP + Rituximab, With Intrathecal Methotrexate Followed by Radiotherapy in Patients With Primary Testicular Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma
The primary objective assess the clinical activity of combination doxorubicin-containing chemotherapy plus monoclonal antibody anti-CD20 (Rituximab) plus intrathecal prophylactic chemotherapy and loco-regional radiotherapy in primary localised testicular DLCL and to assess the toxicity of this therapeutic strategy
- Conditions
- Lymphoma, B Cell
- Being tested
- rituximab, CHOP, intrathecal methotrexate, radiotherapy
- Medical subject headings
- Lymphoma, B-Cell
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
rituximabDrug
CHOPDrug
intrathecal methotrexateDrug
radiotherapyProcedure or surgery
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Disease-free survival
Progression-free survival
Event-free survival
Secondary outcomes (1)
Overall survival will be a secondary end-point because post-relapse therapy is not specified in this protocol and is expected to be highly variable
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted21 Sep 2005 (estimated)
- Study startNov 2000
- Primary completionNov 2004
- Study completionMar 2007
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Lymphoma, B CellStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Non-randomised
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 64 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- International Extranodal Lymphoma Study Group (IELSG)
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Investigators
- Andreas Sarris, MD, Study chair, International Extranodal Lymphoma Study GroupEmanuele Zucca, MD, Study chair, International Extranodal Lymphoma Study Group/Oncology Institute of Southern Switzerland (IOSI)Mary Gospodarowicz, MD, Study chair, Radiation Oncology. Princess Margareth Hospital. TorontoUmberto Vitolo, MD, Study chair, Hematology Division. Ospedale San Giovanni Battista. Torino
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00210379
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- IELSG10
- Status last verified
- Jul 2009
- First submitted
- 13 Sep 2005
- Last updated
- 22 Jul 2009
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 22 Jul 2009. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Phase II Study of CHOP + Rituximab, With Intrathecal Methotrexate Followed by Radiotherapy in Patients With Primary Testicular Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00210379
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- IELSG10
- Conditions
- Lymphoma, B Cell
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 64 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- International Extranodal Lymphoma Study Group (IELSG)University, hospital or other
- Study start
- Nov 2000
- Primary completion
- Nov 2004 (actual)
- Study completion
- Mar 2007 (actual)
- First posted
- 21 Sep 2005 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
The primary objective assess the clinical activity of combination doxorubicin-containing chemotherapy plus monoclonal antibody anti-CD20 (Rituximab) plus intrathecal prophylactic chemotherapy and loco-regional radiotherapy in primary localised testicular DLCL and to assess the toxicity of this therapeutic strategy
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Non-randomised
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- Male only
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Key inclusion criteria (11 listed)
- age = 18 years.
- ECOG performance status 0-2
- Histologically proven primary testicular CD20-positive diffuse large B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, untreated
- Ann Arbor stage IE or IIE. Bilateral testicular involvement at presentation will not be considered stage IV. In these patients the final Ann Arbor stage will be determined by the extent of nodal involvement.
- Bidimensionally measurable or evaluable disease. Patients who have had all disease removed by surgery are eligible.
Key exclusion criteria (3 listed)
- impairment of renal function (creatinine > 2 mg/dl) or liver function (bilirubin > 2 mg/dl) unless due to lymphoma involvement
- HIV positive patients
- evolutive malignancy within 5 years with the exception of localized non-melanomatous skin cancer
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| rituximab | Drug | – |
| CHOP | Drug | – |
| intrathecal methotrexate | Drug | – |
| radiotherapy | Procedure or surgery | – |
Primary outcome
Disease-free survival
Progression-free survival
Event-free survival
1 secondary outcome
Overall survival will be a secondary end-point because post-relapse therapy is not specified in this protocol and is expected to be highly variable
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 22 Jul 2009.
- Click here for more information about this studyLink provided by the sponsor.
Related trials for Lymphoma, B Cell
RecruitingPhase 2
Tafasitamab With Acalabrutinib and Venetoclax for the Treatment of Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia/Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma
Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia, Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia/Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma
Active, not recruitingPhase 1/2
Study of Oral MRT-2359 in Selected Cancer Patients
NSCLC, SCLC
Recruiting
A Multicenter Study to Evaluate Next-Generation Sequencing (NGS) Testing and Monitoring of B-Cell Recovery to Guide Management Following Chimeric Antigen Receptor T-cell (CART) Induced Remission in Children and Young Adults With B Lineage Acute Lymph...
B-All, Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia
Active, not recruitingPhase 2
A Study of Anakinra to Prevent or Treat Severe Side Effects for Patients Receiving CAR-T Cell Therapy
B Cell ALL, B-Cell Lymphoma
Active, not recruitingEarly Phase 1
Iomab-ACT: A Pilot Study of 131-I Apamistamab Followed by CD19-Targeted CAR T-Cell Therapy for Patients With Relapsed or Refractory B-Cell Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia or Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma
B-ALL, DLBCL
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Andreas Sarris, MD study chair
International Extranodal Lymphoma Study Group
Emanuele Zucca, MD study chair
International Extranodal Lymphoma Study Group/Oncology Institute of Southern Switzerland (IOSI)
Mary Gospodarowicz, MD study chair
Radiation Oncology. Princess Margareth Hospital. Toronto
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 2 study testing rituximab, CHOP and intrathecal methotrexate in people with Lymphoma, B Cell, run by International Extranodal Lymphoma Study Group (IELSG) at 1 site in Switzerland.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 11 inclusion and 3 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 22 Jul 2009. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in Switzerland. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Disease-free survival. The study lists 3 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 22 Jul 2009.