AzTrials
AzTrials

Multiple MyelomaPhase 2NCT00216151

Zoledronic Acid in the Management of Patients With Asymptomatic/Early Stage Multiple Myeloma

A Phase 2 study testing Zoledronic Acid in people with Multiple Myeloma, run by Hoosier Cancer Research Network at 8 sites in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

Evidence for the beneficial effects of bisphosphonates on bone resorption in multiple myeloma has been reported extensively, showing reductions in skeletal events and improvement of several biochemical variables in bone resorption. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Multiple Myeloma
What is being tested?
Zoledronic Acid
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
3 participants
Where
8 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Jun 2005to Mar 2007
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Diagnosis of asymptomatic multiple myeloma as defined by the criteria below:
  • Presence of bone marrow clonal plasma cells (more than 10%)
  • Presence of an M-protein in serum and/or urine (no concentration specified)
  • Serum calcium < 12 mg/dl within 14 days prior to registration. Less than 3 lytic lesions, no pathologic fractures and no osteopenia noted on skeletal survey
  • No symptoms of hyperviscosity, amyloidosis or recurrent infection
  • Bone mineral density with a T score higher than -2.0 standard deviation (not have osteoporosis) within 28 days prior to registration
  • Negative pregnancy test

Who cannot join

  • No previous treatment with bisphosphonates
  • No disorders of the parathyroid or thyroid glands
  • No current breastfeeding
  • No prior malignancy is allowed except for adequately treated in situ cervical cancer, Gleason < grade 7 prostate cancers

Trial locations and contacts

8 sites in 1 country.

8 sites in 1 country

United States8 sites
  • Elkhart Clinic

    Elkhart, Indiana, 46515

  • Oncology Hematology Associates of SW Indiana

    Evansville, Indiana, 47714

  • Indiana University Cancer Center

    Indianapolis, Indiana, 46202

  • Quality Cancer Center (MCGOP)

    Indianapolis, Indiana, 46202

  • Arnett Cancer Care

    Lafayette, Indiana, 47904

  • Northern Indiana Cancer Research Consortium

    South Bend, Indiana, 46601

  • Providence Medical Group

    Terre Haute, Indiana, 47802

  • AP&S Clinic

    Terre Haute, Indiana, 47804

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Randomized Phase II Study of Bisphosphonate: Zoledronic Acid (Zometa) in the Management of Asymptomatic/Early Stage Multiple Myeloma: Hoosier Oncology Group MM02-35

Evidence for the beneficial effects of bisphosphonates on bone resorption in multiple myeloma has been reported extensively, showing reductions in skeletal events and improvement of several biochemical variables in bone resorption. Zoledronic acid (Zometa®, CGP42446) is the most potent clinically available bisphosphonates, with the largest therapeutic ratio between the desired inhibition of calcium resorption and the unwanted inhibition of mineralization in vitro of all the bisphosphonates.

This trial will investigate the efficacy of zoledronic acid in preventing skeletal events in patients with asymptomatic/early stage Multiple Myeloma

Read the detailed description

OUTLINE: This is a multi-center study.

  • Patients will be randomly assigned by study number to receive 4mg of zoledronic acid every three months or to be observed.

Performance status: ECOG performance status 0-3 (KPS 30 - 100)

Life expectancy: 12 months

Hematopoietic:

  • Hb >10 g/dl within 14 days prior to registration

Hepatic:

  • Not specified

Renal:

  • Serum creatinine < 2 mg/dl within 14 days prior to registration

Cardiovascular:

  • Not specified

Pulmonary:

  • Not specified
Being tested
Zoledronic Acid
Keywords
Multiple Myeloma, Bisphosphonates
Medical subject headings
Multiple Myeloma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00216151
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
AActive comparatorPatients will be randomly assigned by study number to receive 4mg of zoledronic acid every three months.
Receives: Drug: Zoledronic Acid
BNo interventionPatients will be randomly assigned by study number to observation only.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. · To examine the effect of intravenous zoledronic acid at the dose of 4 mg given every three months compared with observation, on percent change in bone mineral density of the spine at one year in patients with asymptomatic, smoldering and stage I MM.

    Measured: 18 months

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. · To examine the effect of intravenous zoledronic acid at the above schedule on percent change in bone mineral density of the total hip and femur.

    Measured: 18 months

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted22 Sep 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startJun 2005
  3. Primary completionMar 2007
  4. Study completionMar 2007

Why it stopped: Study terminated due to low patient enrollment.

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Prevention
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
3 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00216151
Sponsor's protocol ID
HOG MM02-35
Status last verified
Apr 2011
First submitted
12 Sep 2005
Last updated
2 May 2011
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing Zoledronic Acid in people with Multiple Myeloma, run by Hoosier Cancer Research Network at 8 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 7 inclusion and 4 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 2 May 2011. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 8 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early (reason given: Study terminated due to low patient enrollment.). Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

· To examine the effect of intravenous zoledronic acid at the dose of 4 mg given every three months compared with observation, on percent change in bone mineral density of the spine at one year in patients with asymptomatic, smoldering and stage I MM. (time frame: 18 months). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 2 May 2011.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in