AzTrials
AzTrials

Prostate CancerPhase 2NCT00217464

Fulvestrant in Treating Patients With Recurrent Prostate Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing fulvestrant in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Roswell Park Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Estrogen may cause the growth of prostate cancer cells. Hormone therapy using fulvestrant may fight prostate cancer by blocking the use of estrogen by the tumor cells. PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well fulvestrant works in treating patients with recurrent prostate cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age, men only
Conditions the study is for
Prostate Cancer
What is being tested?
fulvestrant
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
17 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Jun 2004to Mar 2010
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • Men only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the prostate
  • Early recurrent disease, defined by 1 of the following criteria:
  • Prostate-specific antigen (PSA) ≥ 2.0 ng/mL AND clearly rising within the past 3 months for patients who underwent prior prostatectomy with or without radiotherapy
  • PSA ≥ 4.0 ng/mL AND clearly rising from the lowest value obtained within the past 6 months for patients who underwent prior definitive radiotherapy only
  • No evidence of clinical recurrence,* as defined by the following criteria:
  • Digital rectal exam negative
  • No local recurrence by CT scan or MRI of the pelvis
  • No evidence of bone metastasis by bone scan NOTE: *Prostascint scan results are not considered evidence of recurrence
  • Underwent prior curative treatment comprising radical prostatectomy with or without adjuvant radiotherapy OR definitive radiotherapy alone
  • Testosterone (total or free) > than lower limit of normal

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • Any age

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-1

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • WBC > 3,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count > 100,000/mm^3
  • No history of bleeding diathesis

Hepatic

  • INR < 1.6
  • Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • ALT or AST ≤ 2.5 times ULN
  • No severe hepatic impairment that would preclude study participation or compliance

Renal

  • Creatinine ≤ 2.0 mg/dL
  • No severe renal impairment that would preclude study participation or compliance

Cardiovascular

  • No unstable or uncompensated cardiac condition that would preclude study participation or compliance

Pulmonary

  • No unstable or uncompensated respiratory condition that would preclude study participation or compliance

Other

  • No history of hypersensitivity to active or inactive excipients of fulvestrant (e.g., castor oil)
  • No other severe condition that would preclude study compliance (e.g., abuse of alcohol or drugs or psychotic states) or participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy

  • More than 6 months since prior neoadjuvant or adjuvant androgen deprivation therapy or luteinizing hormone-releasing hormone antagonist therapy
  • No other prior or concurrent hormonal therapy

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No concurrent radiotherapy

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics

Other

  • More than 4 weeks since prior experimental drug treatment
  • No concurrent anticoagulant therapy except antiplatelet therapy
  • No other concurrent therapy for prostate cancer
  • No other concurrent therapy known or suspected of altering androgen metabolism or androgen levels

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Roswell Park Cancer Institute

    Buffalo, New York, 14263-0001

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Multicenter Study of Fulvestrant (Faslodex®) in Early, Recurrent Prostate Cancer Following Local Therapy: A Phase II Trial

RATIONALE: Estrogen may cause the growth of prostate cancer cells. Hormone therapy using fulvestrant may fight prostate cancer by blocking the use of estrogen by the tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well fulvestrant works in treating patients with recurrent prostate cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine whether fulvestrant can slow the rise of prostrate-specific antigen (PSA) level in patients with early recurrent adenocarcinoma of the prostate after radical prostatectomy or irradiation.

Secondary

  • Determine the utility of monitoring serum PSA in patients treated with this drug.
  • Determine the safety of this drug in these patients.
  • Determine changes in bone mineral density and markers of bone resorption in patients with PSA-only failure treated with this drug.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label, single group assignment study.

Patients receive fulvestrant intramuscularly on days 0, 14, and 28. Treatment repeats once a month in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed periodically.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 32 patients will be accrued for this study for 84 months.

Conditions
Prostate Cancer
Being tested
fulvestrant
Keywords
adenocarcinoma of the prostate, recurrent prostate cancer
Medical subject headings
Prostatic Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00217464
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
FulvestrantExperimentalFulvestrant will be provided as 250 mg in 5 mL as a pre-tilled syringe. Fulvestrant will be administered as 500 mg, that is, 2 injections of 5 mL, one into each buttock im on day 0. A single 250 mg in 5 mL injection will be administered on day 14 followed by a single 250 mg in 5 mL dose on day 28 and monthly thereafter.
Receives: Drug: fulvestrant

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Proportion of Patients Who Respond to Treatment.

    Response is defined to be the clear slowing of the rate of increase of PSA levels with time

    Measured: 90, 60, and 30 days pre-treatment, the day of start therapy (day 0) and 30, 60 and 90 days post-treatment

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Number of Participants With Progressive Disease at Day +90

    Progressive Disease is defined as failure to achieve a statistically significant decrease in PSA rise after the day +90 PSA value

    Measured: 90, 60, and 30 days pre-treatment, the day of start therapy (day 0) and 30, 60 and 90 days post-treatment

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted22 Sep 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startJun 2004
  3. Primary completionFeb 2010
  4. Study completionMar 2010

Why it stopped: Closed for futility

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
17 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00217464
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000441210
Other IDs
RPCI-I-17203, ZENECA-IRUSFULV0026
Status last verified
Mar 2015
First submitted
20 Sep 2005
Last updated
16 Apr 2015
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing fulvestrant in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Roswell Park Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 16 Apr 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 16 Apr 2015). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Proportion of Patients Who Respond to Treatment. (time frame: 90, 60, and 30 days pre-treatment, the day of start therapy (day 0) and 30, 60 and 90 days post-treatment). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 16 Apr 2015.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in