AzTrials
AzTrials

Prostate CancerPhase 1NCT00217516

Selenium in Treating Patients Who Are Undergoing Brachytherapy for Stage I or Stage II Prostate Cancer

A Phase 1 study testing selenium in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Roswell Park Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: The use of nutritional supplements, such as selenium, may stop prostate cancer from growing. Internal radiation, such as brachytherapy, uses radioactive material placed directly into or near a tumor to kill tumor cells. Giving selenium before brachytherapy may be an effective treatment for prostate cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age, men only
Conditions the study is for
Prostate Cancer
What is being tested?
selenium
Type of treatment
Pill or oral medicine
Could I receive a placebo?
Yes, some participants may receive a placebo
How many people
18 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Mar 2005to Oct 2008
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • Men only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the prostate
  • Must have undergone ≥ a sextant biopsy
  • Clinical stage T1a-T2a disease
  • Gleason score < 8
  • Prostate-specific antigen < 20 ng/mL

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • Not specified

Performance status

  • Not specified

Life expectancy

  • More than 5 years

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Not specified

Other

  • No other prior malignancy except nonmelanoma skin cancer

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy

  • No prior hormonal therapy

Radiotherapy

  • No prior radiotherapy

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • More than 30 days since prior and no concurrent participation in another clinical trial involving a medical, surgical, nutritional, or lifestyle intervention (e.g., dietary modification or exercise)
  • No selenium at doses > 50 mcg/day as a dietary supplement, including multivitamin supplements

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Roswell Park Cancer Institute

    Buffalo, New York, 14263-0001

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Supplementation of L-Selenomethionine in Patients With Prostate Cancer Prior to Brachytherapy. Selenium Brachytherapy Trial: Phase I/Pilot Study

RATIONALE: The use of nutritional supplements, such as selenium, may stop prostate cancer from growing. Internal radiation, such as brachytherapy, uses radioactive material placed directly into or near a tumor to kill tumor cells. Giving selenium before brachytherapy may be an effective treatment for prostate cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase I trial is studying selenium to see how well it works compared to placebo in treating patients who are undergoing brachytherapy for stage I or stage II prostate cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Compare the effects of selenium vs placebo on tissue biomarkers of prostate cancer susceptibility, using tissue samples from biopsies before and after treatment, in patients undergoing brachytherapy for stage I or II prostate cancer.

Secondary

  • Determine the effects of selenium on antioxidant enzyme activities in these patients.
  • Determine, preliminarily, whether there is a threshold effect among patients with low baseline levels of selenium treated with this drug.

OUTLINE: Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive oral selenium for 3-6 weeks. Patients then undergo brachytherapy.
  • Arm II: Patients receive oral placebo for 3-6 weeks. Patients then undergo brachytherapy.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed at 1 and 6 months.

Conditions
Prostate Cancer
Being tested
selenium, placebo
Keywords
adenocarcinoma of the prostate, stage I prostate cancer, stage II prostate cancer
Medical subject headings
Prostatic Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • seleniumDrug

    Given orally

  • placeboOther

    Given orally

Study groups in NCT00217516
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Arm IExperimentalPatients receive oral selenium for 3-6 weeks.
Receives: Drug: selenium
Arm IIPlacebo comparatorPatients receive oral placebo for 3-6 weeks.
Receives: Other: placebo

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Effects of selenium vs placebo on tissue biomarkers of prostate cancer susceptibility at 1 and 6 months after completion of study treatment

    Measured: 1 and 6 months after completion of study treatment

Secondary outcomes (2)
  1. Effects of selenium on antioxidant enzyme activities at 1 and 6 months after completion of study treatment

    Measured: 1 and 6 months after completion of study treatment

  2. Threshold effect among patients with low baseline levels of selenium at 1 and 6 months after completion of study treatment

    Measured: 1 and 6 months after completion of study treatment

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted22 Sep 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startMar 2005
  3. Primary completionFeb 2008
  4. Study completionOct 2008

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomised
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
18 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00217516
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000441225
Other IDs
P30CA016056, RPCI-I-14603
Status last verified
Sep 2010
First submitted
20 Sep 2005
Last updated
9 Feb 2012
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing selenium in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Roswell Park Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 9 Feb 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. Some participants in this study may receive a placebo. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Effects of selenium vs placebo on tissue biomarkers of prostate cancer susceptibility at 1 and 6 months after completion of study treatment (time frame: 1 and 6 months after completion of study treatment). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 9 Feb 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in