AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 3NCT00227695

Rituximab in Treating Patients With Follicular Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma

A Phase 3 study testing rituximab in people with Lymphoma, run by Swiss Cancer Institute at 26 sites in 7 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies, such as rituximab, can block cancer growth in different ways. Some block the ability of cancer cells to grow and spread. Others find cancer cells and help kill them or carry cancer-killing substances to them. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
rituximab
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
270 participants
Where
26 sitesin 7 countries
Study dates
8 Jun 2004to 19 Dec 2017
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed follicular lymphoma
  • Grade 1, 2, 3a, or 3b disease by WHO staging system
  • CD20-positive by immunohistochemistry
  • Previously untreated disease OR meets 1 of the following criteria for response to prior treatment:
  • Chemotherapy-resistant disease
  • Relapsed or progressive disease
  • Stable disease
  • At least 12 weeks since prior systemic treatment
  • At least 1 bidimensionally measurable lesion ≥ 11 mm by CT scan or MRI
  • No transformation to high-grade lymphoma secondary to low-grade follicular lymphoma
  • No prior or current CNS disease (i.e., CNS lymphoma or lymphomatous meningosis) NOTE: A new classification scheme for adult non-Hodgkin's lymphoma has been adopted by PDQ. The terminology of "indolent" or "aggressive" lymphoma will replace the former terminology of "low", "intermediate", or "high" grade lymphoma. However, this protocol uses the former terminology.

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • WHO 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Not specified

Cardiovascular

  • Ejection fraction ≥ 50% by echocardiography or MUGA

Immunologic

  • No acute or ongoing infection
  • No HIV infection
  • No active autoimmune disease

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 12 months after completion of the study treatment
  • No uncontrolled diabetes mellitus
  • No other medical condition that would preclude study participation
  • No other malignancy except nonmelanoma skin cancer or adequately treated carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No other condition (e.g., geographic proximity) that would preclude study compliance and follow-up

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • See Radiotherapy
  • Prior rituximab allowed

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics

Endocrine therapy

  • More than 4 weeks since prior regular administration of corticosteroids
  • Dose equivalent to ≤ 20 mg/day prednisone allowed for conditions other than lymphoma or lymphoma-related symptoms
  • No concurrent corticosteroids for prevention or treatment of side effects except acute life-threatening side effects

Radiotherapy

  • Prior radiolabeled anti-CD20 therapy (administered alone or in combination with cytostatic drugs) allowed provided patient has achieved partial or complete response after the therapy
  • At least 12 months since prior anti-CD20 therapy

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • More than 30 days since prior systemic tumor therapy
  • More than 30 days since prior participation in another clinical trial
  • No other concurrent anticancer therapy

Trial locations and contacts

26 sites in 7 countries.

26 sites in 7 countries

Switzerland19 sites
  • Kantonspital Aarau

    Aarau, CH-5001

  • Kantonsspital Baden

    Baden, CH-5404

  • St. Claraspital AG

    Basel, CH-4016

  • Universitaetsspital Basel

    Basel, CH-4031

  • Istituto Oncologico della Svizzera Italiana - Ospedale Regionale Bellinzona e Valli

    Bellinzona, 6500

  • Inselspital Bern

    Bern, 3010

  • Breitenbach Praxis Dr. Haberthür

    Breitenbach, 4226

  • Kantonsspital Bruderholz

    Bruderholz, CH-4101

  • Kantonsspital Graubuenden

    Chur, CH-7000

  • Hopital Cantonal Universitaire de Geneve

    Geneva, CH-1211

  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois

    Lausanne, CH-1011

  • Kantonsspital

    Liestal, CH-4410

  • Istituto Oncologico della Svizzera Italiana

    Lugano, CH-6900

  • Hôpital Pourtalès

    Neuchâtel, 2002

  • Kantonsspital - St. Gallen

    Sankt Gallen, CH-9007

  • SpitalSTS AG Simmental-Thun-Saanenland

    Thun, 3600

  • City Hospital Triemli

    Zurich, 8063

  • Klinik Hirslanden

    Zurich, CH-8032

  • UniversitaetsSpital Zuerich

    Zurich, CH-8091

Other trials in Switzerland

South Africa2 sites
  • Panorama Medical Centre

    Cape Town, 7500

  • Sandton Oncology Centre

    Johannesburg, 2121

Other trials in South Africa

Brazil1 site
  • Clinical Center - Institute of Hematology

    São Paulo

Other trials in Brazil

Italy1 site
  • Istituto Europeo di Oncologia IEO

    Milan, 20141

Other trials in Italy

North Macedonia1 site
  • Clinical Center Skopje

    Skopje, 1000

Other trials in North Macedonia

Serbia1 site
  • Clinical Center of Serbia

    Belgrade, SCG-11000

Other trials in Serbia

Slovakia1 site
  • NOU - National Institute for Oncology

    Bratislava, 83310

Other trials in Slovakia

About this study

Official title: Comparing Two Schedules of Rituximab Maintenance in Rituximab-Responding Patients With Untreated, Chemotherapy Resistant or Relapsed Follicular Lymphoma: A Randomized Phase III Trial

RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies, such as rituximab, can block cancer growth in different ways. Some block the ability of cancer cells to grow and spread. Others find cancer cells and help kill them or carry cancer-killing substances to them. It is not yet known whether giving rituximab over a short period of time is more effective than giving it over a long period of time in treating follicular non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying rituximab to see how well it works when given over a short period of time compared to when given over a long period of time in treating patients with follicular non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Compare the efficacy of induction therapy with rituximab followed by short- vs long-term maintenance therapy with rituximab, in terms of event-free survival, in patients with follicular non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Secondary

  • Compare the safety of these regimens in these patients.
  • Compare the pharmaeconomical aspects of these regimens in these patients.
  • Compare the evolution of immunologic competence in patients treated with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study.

  • Induction therapy: Patients receive rituximab IV weekly in weeks 1-4 and undergo restaging between weeks 11-13. Patients with stable disease or progressive disease are taken off study. Patients achieving partial or complete response are stratified according to prior treatment status (untreated* vs treated with or without anti-CD20 therapy), presence of bulky disease** at study entry (yes vs no), and participating center. Patients are then randomized to 1 of 2 maintenance treatment arms.

NOTE: *Patients treated with radiotherapy only are considered as therapy-naïve.

NOTE: **Defined as a mass or lymph node conglomerate ≥ 5 cm diameter.

  • Maintenance therapy: Patients start maintenance therapy within 7 days of randomization.
  • Arm I: Patients receive rituximab IV every 2 months for 4 treatments.
  • Arm II: Patients receive rituximab IV every 2 months for up to 5 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed every 3 months until disease progression or relapse and then annually for up to 10 years after randomization.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 270 patients will be accrued for this study within 3 years.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Being tested
rituximab
Keywords
stage I grade 1 follicular lymphoma, stage I grade 2 follicular lymphoma, stage I grade 3 follicular lymphoma, stage III grade 1 follicular lymphoma, stage III grade 2 follicular lymphoma, stage III grade 3 follicular lymphoma, stage IV grade 1 follicular lymphoma, stage IV grade 2 follicular lymphoma, stage IV grade 3 follicular lymphoma, contiguous stage II grade 1 follicular lymphoma, contiguous stage II grade 2 follicular lymphoma, contiguous stage II grade 3 follicular lymphoma, noncontiguous stage II grade 1 follicular lymphoma, noncontiguous stage II grade 2 follicular lymphoma, noncontiguous stage II grade 3 follicular lymphoma, recurrent grade 1 follicular lymphoma, recurrent grade 2 follicular lymphoma, recurrent grade 3 follicular lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Lymphoma, Follicular

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • rituximabBiological

    Also called MABTHERA

    comparing two maintenance schedules of Rituximab

Study groups in NCT00227695
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Arm A: Rituximab every 2 months x4Active comparatorRituximab 375 mg/m2 every 2 months x4
Receives: Biological: rituximab
Arm B: Rituximab (5 years)Active comparatorRituximab 375 mg/m2 every 2 months for 5 years or until PD, relapse or unacceptable toxicity
Receives: Biological: rituximab

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Event-free survival

    Measured: at 10 years

Secondary outcomes (3)
  1. Progression-free survival

    Measured: at 10 years

  2. Overall survival

    Measured: at 10 years

  3. Adverse reactions during and after maintenance treatment

    Measured: 10 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted28 Sep 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study start8 Jun 2004
  3. Primary completion3 May 2013
  4. Study completion19 Dec 2017

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
270 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00227695
Sponsor's protocol ID
SAKK 35/03
Other IDs
SWS-SAKK-35/03, EU-20520, CDR0000443594
Status last verified
May 2019
First submitted
26 Sep 2005
Last updated
15 May 2019
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No
Individual data sharing
No

Publications

  • Taverna CJ, Baasi S, Hitz F, et al.: First results of long-term rituximab maintenance treatment in follicular lymphoma: safety analysis of the randomized phase III trial SAKK 35/03. [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 27 (Suppl 15): A-8534, 2009.

  • First results of long term rituximab maintenance treatment in follicular lymphoma: safety analysis of the randomized phase III trial SAKK 35/03. F. Hitz, S. Bassi, C. Taverna, W. Mingrone, T. Pabst, L. Cevreska, A. Del Giglio, D.A. Vorobiof, M. Simcock, M. Ghielmini Haematologica (2009) 94: s2; abstract 0413

  • First results of long term rituximab maintenance treatment in follicular lymphoma: safety analysis of the randomized phase III trial SAKK 35/03. C.J. Taverna, S. Bassi, F. Hitz, W. Mingrone, T. Pabst, L. Cevreska, A. del Giglio, D.A. Vorobiof, M. Simcock, M. Ghielmini J Clin Oncol (2009) 27: 15s supplement; abstract 8534

  • Rituximab maintenance treatment for a maximum of 5 years in follicular lymphoma: safety analysis of the randomized phase III trial SAKK 35/03. C. J. Taverna, S. Bassi, F. Hitz, W. Mingrone, T. Pabst, L. Cevreska, A. del Giglio, D.A. Vorobiof, M. Simcock, M. Ghielmini Blood (2010) 116: ASH Annual Meeting abstracts; abstract 1802

  • Taverna C, Martinelli G, Hitz F, Mingrone W, Pabst T, Cevreska L, Del Giglio A, Vanazzi A, Laszlo D, Raats J, Rauch D, Vorobiof DA, Lohri A, Biaggi Rudolf C, Rondeau S, Rusterholz C, Heijnen IA, Zucca E, Ghielmini M. Rituximab Maintenance for a Maximum of 5 Years After Single-Agent Rituximab Induction in Follicular Lymphoma: Results of the Randomized Controlled Phase III Trial SAKK 35/03. J Clin Oncol. 2016 Feb 10;34(5):495-500. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2015.61.3968. Epub 2015 Dec 28.

    PubMed 26712227

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing rituximab in people with Lymphoma, run by Swiss Cancer Institute at 26 sites in 7 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 15 May 2019. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 26 sites in Switzerland, South Africa, Brazil, Italy, North Macedonia and 2 more countries. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Event-free survival (time frame: at 10 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00227695, which also lists 5 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 15 May 2019.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in