AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 2NCT00233987

S0410 Tandem Stem Cell Transplantation in Treating Patients With Progressive or Recurrent Hodgkin's Lymphoma

A Phase 2 study testing carmustine, cyclophosphamide and etoposide in people with Lymphoma, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 53 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill cancer cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 15 to 70 years
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
carmustine, cyclophosphamide and etoposide
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
98 participants
Where
53 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Oct 2005to Dec 2017
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 15 to 70 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed Hodgkin's lymphoma
  • Relapsed or refractory disease
  • Biopsy or radiological evidence of disease at time of recurrence/progression required
  • Has received ≥ 1 prior systemic chemotherapy regimen
  • No clonal abnormalities in marrow collection
  • Must undergo involved-field radiotherapy if bulky disease > 5 cm
  • Must have adequate sections of original diagnostic specimen available for review
  • Needle aspirations or cytologies are not adequate
  • No prior lymphoma, myelodysplastic syndromes, or leukemia (even if disease free > 5 years)
  • Patients who relapse after achieving a complete remission must complete a minimum of 2 courses of salvage chemotherapy or radiation therapy to determine if sensitive or resistant recurrent disease is present
  • No central nervous system (CNS) involvement

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 15 to 70

Performance status

  • Zubrod 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN) (unless due to Hodgkin's disease)

Renal

  • Creatinine clearance ≥ 60 mL/min
  • Creatinine ≤ 2 times upper limit of normal

Cardiovascular

  • None of the following conditions requiring therapy:
  • Coronary artery disease
  • Cardiomyopathy
  • Congestive heart failure
  • Arrhythmias
  • Ejection fraction ≥ 45% by Multi Gated Acquisition Scan (MUGA) or 2-D echocardiogram

Pulmonary

  • Adequate pulmonary function
  • Corrected diffusing capacity of lung for carbon monoxide (DLCO) ≥ 60% OR
  • Forced Expiratory Volume in One Side (FEV_1) ≥ 60% of predicted

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer
  • No known HIV or AIDS infection
  • No active bacterial, fungal, or viral infection
  • No medical condition that would preclude study treatment

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics

Surgery

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

53 sites in 1 country.

53 sites in 1 country

United States53 sites
  • Tulane Cancer Center Office of Clinical Research

    Alexandria, Louisiana, 71315-3198

  • Auburn Regional Center for Cancer Care

    Auburn, Washington, 98002

  • St. Joseph Cancer Center

    Bellingham, Washington, 98225

  • Mountain States Tumor Institute at St. Luke's Regional Medical Center

    Boise, Idaho, 83712

  • Olympic Hematology and Oncology

    Bremerton, Washington, 98310

  • Providence Centralia Hospital

    Centralia, Washington, 98531-9027

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Chanute

    Chanute, Kansas, 66720

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Dodge City

    Dodge City, Kansas, 67801

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - El Dorado

    El Dorado, Kansas, 67042

  • St. Francis Hospital

    Federal Way, Washington, 98003

  • Legacy Mount Hood Medical Center

    Gresham, Oregon, 97030

  • Cancer Center of Kansas-Independence

    Independence, Kansas, 67301

  • Columbia Basin Hematology

    Kennewick, Washington, 99336

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Kingman

    Kingman, Kansas, 67068

  • Thompson Cancer Survival Center

    Knoxville, Tennessee, 37916

  • Southwest Medical Center

    Liberal, Kansas, 67901

  • Cardinal Bernardin Cancer Center at Loyola University Medical Center

    Maywood, Illinois, 60153

  • Providence Milwaukie Hospital

    Milwaukie, Oregon, 97222

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Newton

    Newton, Kansas, 67114

  • Providence St. Peter Hospital Regional Cancer Center

    Olympia, Washington, 98506-5166

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Parsons

    Parsons, Kansas, 67357

  • Legacy Good Samaritan Hospital & Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Portland, Oregon, 97210

  • Providence Cancer Center at Providence Portland Medical Center

    Portland, Oregon, 97213-2967

  • Adventist Medical Center

    Portland, Oregon, 97216

  • CCOP - Columbia River Oncology Program

    Portland, Oregon, 97225

  • Providence St. Vincent Medical Center

    Portland, Oregon, 97225

  • Legacy Emanuel Hospital and Health Center and Children's Hospital

    Portland, Oregon, 97227

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Pratt

    Pratt, Kansas, 67124

  • Good Samaritan Cancer Center

    Puyallup, Washington, 98372

  • University of California Davis Cancer Center

    Sacramento, California, 95817

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Salina

    Salina, Kansas, 67042

  • Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98104

  • Harborview Medical Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98104

  • Minor and James Medical, PLLC

    Seattle, Washington, 98104

  • Group Health Central Hospital

    Seattle, Washington, 98112

  • Swedish Cancer Institute at Swedish Medical Center - First Hill Campus

    Seattle, Washington, 98122-4307

  • Polyclinic First Hill

    Seattle, Washington, 98122

  • University Cancer Center at University of Washington Medical Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98195-6043

  • Cancer Care Northwest - Spokane South

    Spokane, Washington, 99202

  • Franciscan Cancer Center at St. Joseph Medical Center

    Tacoma, Washington, 98405-3004

  • Allenmore Hospital

    Tacoma, Washington, 98405

  • CCOP - Northwest

    Tacoma, Washington, 98405

  • MultiCare Regional Cancer Center at Tacoma General Hospital

    Tacoma, Washington, 98405

  • St. Clare Hospital

    Tacoma, Washington, 98499

  • Legacy Meridian Park Hospital

    Tualatin, Oregon, 97062

  • Southwest Washington Medical Center Cancer Center

    Vancouver, Washington, 98668

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Wellington

    Wellington, Kansas, 67152

  • Associates in Womens Health, PA - North Review

    Wichita, Kansas, 67208

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Medical Arts Tower

    Wichita, Kansas, 67208

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Wichita

    Wichita, Kansas, 67214

  • CCOP - Wichita

    Wichita, Kansas, 67214

  • Via Christi Cancer Center at Via Christi Regional Medical Center

    Wichita, Kansas, 67214

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Winfield

    Winfield, Kansas, 67156

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Tandem Autologous Stem Cell Transplantation for Patients With Primary Progressive or Recurrent Hodgkin's Disease (A BMT Study), Phase II

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill cancer cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving chemotherapy with a peripheral stem cell transplant may allow more chemotherapy to be given so that more cancer cells are killed. Tandem (two) autologous stem cell transplants may be an effective treatment for Hodgkin's lymphoma.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well tandem stem cell transplantation works in treating patients with progressive or recurrent Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the 2-year progression-free survival of patients with progressive or recurrent Hodgkin's lymphoma treated with tandem autologous stem cell transplantation (2 courses of high-dose therapy with autologous stem cell rescue).
  • Determine the response rate in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the toxic effects of this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

  • Salvage therapy (for patients with relapsed disease after achieving a previous complete response): Patients receive at least 2 courses of salvage chemotherapy or radiotherapy. No more than 6 weeks later, patients proceed to autologous hematopoietic stem cell collection.
  • Autologous hematopoietic stem cell collection: Patients undergo autologous hematopoietic stem cell collection. Patients with an inadequate number of collected stem cells are removed from the study.
  • Pre-transplant salvage radiation: Patients with residual tumor greater than 5 cm after initial salvage therapy undergo involved-field radiotherapy. All patients then proceed to the first preparative regimen.
  • First preparative regimen: Patients receive high-dose melphalan IV on day -1.
  • First autologous stem cell transplantation (SCT): Patients undergo autologous SCT on day 0. At least 28 days later, patients proceed to second preparative regimen.
  • Second preparative regimen: Patients receive 1 of the following preparative regimens:
  • Total-body irradiation (TBI)-based regimen: Patients undergo TBI twice daily on days -8 to -5. Patients also receive etoposide IV over 4 hours on day -4 and cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on day -2.
  • Carmustine-based regimen: Patients receive carmustine IV over 2 hours on days -6 to -4, etoposide IV over 4 hours on day -4, and cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on day -2.
  • Second autologous SCT: Patients undergo second autologous SCT on day 0. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed every 6 months for 2 years and then annually for up to 7 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 85 patients will be accrued for this study over 2 years.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Being tested
carmustine, cyclophosphamide, etoposide, melphalan, autologous-autologous tandem hematopoietic stem cell transplantation
Keywords
recurrent adult Hodgkin lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Hodgkin Disease

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • carmustineDrug

    Also called BCNU

    150 mg/m^2 IV over 2 hours 4, 5, and 6 days before transplant.

  • cyclophosphamideDrug

    100 mg/kg IV 2 days before transplant.

  • etoposideDrug

    60 mg/kg IV over 4 hours 4 days before transplant.

  • melphalanDrug

    150 mg/m^2 IV 1 day before transplant.

  • autologous-autologous tandem hematopoietic stem cell transplantationProcedure or surgery

    2.0 x 10^6 CD34+ cells, beginning at least 24 hours after melphalan infusion.

  • radiation therapyRadiation

    Also called Total body irradiation (TBI)

    150 centigray (cGy) total body irradiation given b.i.d on days 5-8 before transplant.

Study groups in NCT00233987
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
High-dose therapy plus tandem transplantExperimentalRegimen consists of 2 cycles of high-dose therapy, each followed by stem cell infusion. Cycle 1 consists of high-dose melphalan followed by infusion of approximately 1.5 million cluster of differentiation 34 positive (CD34+) cells. Cycle 2 consists of either TBI-based or 1,3-bis(2-chloroethyl)-1-nitrosourea (BCNU)-based high-dose therapy followed by infusion of at least 2 million CD34+ cells.
Receives: Drug: carmustine; Drug: cyclophosphamide; Drug: etoposide; Drug: melphalan; Procedure: autologous-autologous tandem hematopoietic stem cell transplantation; Radiation: radiation therapy

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. 2-year Progression-free Survival

    Measured from date of randomization to date of first observation of progressive disease, or death due to any cause

    Measured: At day 60, then every 6 months for 2 years

Secondary outcomes (3)
  1. Response Rate

    Complete Response(CR) is a complete disappearance of all disease with the exception of nodes. No new lesions. previously enlarged organs must have regressed and not be palpable. Bone marrow(BM) must be negative if positive at baseline. Normalization of markers. CR Unconfirmed (CRU) does not qualify for CR above, due to a residual nodal mass or an indeterminate BM. Partial Response(PR) is a 50% decrease in the sum of products of greatest diameters (SPD) for up to 6 identified dominant lesions, including spleenic and hepatic nodules from baseline. No new lesions and no increase in the size of liver, spleen or other nodes.

    Measured: At day 60, then every 6 months for 2 years

  2. Overall Survival

    Measured from date of registration to date of death due to any cause or last contact

    Measured: At day 60, then every 6 months for 2 years, then annually for a total of 7 years

  3. Number of Patients With Grade 3 Through Grade 5 Adverse Events That Are Related to Study Drug

    Adverse Events (AEs) are reported by the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 3.0. For each patient, worst grade of each event type is reported. Grade 3 = Severe, Grade 4 = Life-threatening, Grade 5 = Fatal.

    Measured: Assessed after cycle 1 high dose therapy, after cycle 2 high dose therapy, and at 1 month and 2 months after the second stem cell infusion

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted6 Oct 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startOct 2005
  3. Primary completionNov 2014
  4. Study completionDec 2017

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
98 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00233987
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000442392
Other IDs
U10CA032102, S0410
Status last verified
Jan 2018
First submitted
5 Oct 2005
Last updated
1 Mar 2018
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Smith EP, Li H, Friedberg JW, Constine LS, Rimsza LM, Cook JR, Laport GG, Popplewell LL, Holmberg LA, Smith SM, LeBlanc M, Forman SJ, Fisher RI, Stiff PJ. Tandem Autologous Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation for Patients with Primary Progressive or Recurrent Hodgkin Lymphoma: A SWOG and Blood and Marrow Transplant Clinical Trials Network Phase II Trial (SWOG S0410/BMT CTN 0703). Biol Blood Marrow Transplant. 2018 Apr;24(4):700-707. doi: 10.1016/j.bbmt.2017.12.798. Epub 2017 Dec 28.

    PubMed 29289757

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing carmustine, cyclophosphamide and etoposide in people with Lymphoma, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 53 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 1 Mar 2018. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 53 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 5 Feb 2013). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

2-year Progression-free Survival (time frame: At day 60, then every 6 months for 2 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00233987, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 1 Mar 2018.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in