LymphomaPhase 2NCT00238368
Fludeoxyglucose F 18 Positron Emission Tomography in Predicting Risk of Relapse in Patients With Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma Who Are Undergoing Combination Chemotherapy With or Without Autologous Stem Cell or Bone Marrow Transplant
A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, rituximab and busulfan in people with Lymphoma, run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins at 1 site in United States.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more cancer cells. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 to 120 years
- Conditions the study is for
- Lymphoma
- What is being tested?
- filgrastim, rituximab and busulfan
- Type of treatment
- Surgery or procedure
- How many people
- 59 participants
- Where
- 1 siteUnited States
- Study dates
- Feb 2004to 17 Sep 2007
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 to 120 years
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed aggressive non-Hodgkin's lymphoma of 1 of the following subtypes:
- Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma
- Mediastinal (thymic) B-cell lymphoma
- Grade 3 follicular lymphoma
- Anaplastic large cell lymphoma
- Peripheral T-cell lymphoma
- Must have adequate staging of disease by the following techniques:
- CT scan or MRI of affected sites
- Bone marrow biopsy (in cases where results influence the duration of chemotherapy only)
- Lumbar puncture (if clinically indicated)
- Stage I-IV disease
- Any International Prognostic Index risk category
- Radiographically measurable disease
- None of the following aggressive non-Hodgkin's subtypes are allowed:
- Mantle cell lymphoma
- Lymphoblastic lymphoma
- Burkitt's lymphoma
- Mycosis fungoides/Sezary's syndrome
- HTLV-1-associated T-cell leukemia/lymphoma
- Primary CNS lymphoma
- HIV-associated lymphoma
- Transformed lymphomas
- No prior diagnosis of another hematologic malignancy
- No known progressive disease during prior first-line chemotherapy
- No active CNS involvement by lymphoma, except CNS involvement at diagnosis that is previously treated and in remission
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age
- 18 and over
Performance status
- ECOG 0-4 (0-2 for peripheral blood stem cell [PBSC] or bone marrow transplantation [BMT] patients)
Life expectancy
- Not specified
Hematopoietic
- Absolute neutrophil count > 1,000/mm^3*
- Platelet count ≥ 75,000/mm^3 NOTE: *PBSC or BMT patients only
Hepatic
- Bilirubin ≤ 2.0 mg/dL unless due to Gilbert's disease or lymphoma*
- No known significant hepatic dysfunction that is not expected to improve and would preclude PBSC or BMT NOTE: *PBSC or BMT patients only
Renal
- Creatinine ≤ 2.0 mg/dL*
- No known significant renal dysfunction that is not expected to improve and would preclude PBSC or BMT NOTE: *PBSC or BMT patients only
Cardiovascular
- Ejection fraction ≥ 45% by echocardiogram or MUGA*
- No known significant cardiac dysfunction that is not expected to improve and would preclude PBSC or BMT NOTE: *PBSC or BMT patients only; a cardiology consult and evaluation may override ejection fraction criterion
Pulmonary
- FEV_1 and FVC ≥ 50% of predicted for patients who have not received thoracic or mantle radiotherapy (75% of predicted for patients who have received thoracic or mantle radiotherapy)*
- No known significant pulmonary dysfunction that is not expected to improve and would preclude PBSC or BMT NOTE: *PBSC or BMT patients only
Other
- Not pregnant or nursing
- Negative pregnancy test
- Fertile patients must use effective contraception
- No other malignancy within the past 3 years except carcinoma in situ of the cervix or nonmelanoma skin cancer
- No known HIV positivity OR HIV negative (for PBSC or BMT patients only)
- No serious illness that would preclude study participation
- No contraindication to autologous BMT
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy
- Not specified
Chemotherapy
- See Disease Characteristics
- No more than 3 prior courses of chemotherapy for lymphoma
Endocrine therapy
- Not specified
Radiotherapy
- Not specified
Surgery
- Not specified
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
United States1 site
Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins
Baltimore, Maryland, 21231-2410
About this study
Official title: Autologous Blood or Marrow Transplantation for Aggressive Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma Based on Early [18F] FDG-PET Scanning
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more cancer cells. Giving chemotherapy with an autologous stem cell or bone marrow transplant may allow more chemotherapy to be given so that more cancer cells are killed. Procedures, such as fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography (FDG-PET) (done during chemotherapy) may help doctors predict a patient's risk of relapse and help plan the best treatment.
PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well FDG-PET works in predicting risk of relapse in patients with aggressive non-Hodgkin's lymphoma who are undergoing combination chemotherapy with or without autologous stem cell or bone marrow transplant.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
Primary
- Determine event-free survival of patients with aggressive non-Hodgkin's lymphoma treated with early high-dose therapy and autologous peripheral blood stem cell (PBSC) or bone marrow transplantation (BMT) based on positive fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography (FDG-PET) results obtained during first-line chemotherapy.
- Compare event-free survival of patients treated with this regimen with historical event-free survival of patients with positive FDG-PET results obtained during first-line chemotherapy that are not treated with early high-dose therapy.
Secondary
- Compare overall survival of patients treated with a standard treatment regimen vs early high-dose therapy and autologous PBSC or BMT based on FDG-PET results obtained during first-line chemotherapy.
- Determine the predictive value of an early negative FDG-PET result in these patients.
- Correlate International Prognostic Index risk category with FDG-PET results and overall outcome in these patients.
OUTLINE: This is a pilot study.
- First-line chemotherapy: Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV, doxorubicin IV, and vincristine IV on day 1, oral prednisone on days 1-5, and rituximab IV on day 1 (patients with CD20-positive disease only) OR another standard first-line chemotherapy regimen. Treatment repeats every 14-21 days for 2 or 3 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- Radiographic staging: Between days 11-20 of course 2 or 3 OR days 11-13 of course 3 of first-line chemotherapy, patients receive fludeoxyglucose F 18 (FDG) IV. One hour later, patients undergo whole-body FDG-positron emission tomography (PET) and CT scan. Patients with no evidence of malignant disease by FDG-PET (i.e., negative result) receive a standard treatment regimen that may include localized radiotherapy for limited stage or bulky disease followed, 4-6 weeks later, by a repeat whole-body FDG-PET and CT scan. Patients with progressive disease after first-line chemotherapy are removed from the study. Patients with evidence of malignant disease by FDG-PET (i.e., positive result) and stable disease or better proceed to ESHAP chemotherapy.
- ESHAP chemotherapy: Patients receive etoposide IV over 2 hours, methylprednisolone IV, and cisplatin IV over 3 hours on days 1-4 followed by cytarabine IV over 2 hours on day 5. Patients with CD20-positive disease also receive rituximab IV on day 1. Treatment repeats every 14-21 days for 2 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Beginning 1 day after completion of course 2, patients receive filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously once daily followed by leukapheresis to collect peripheral blood stem cells (PBSC). Some patients may also undergo bone marrow (BM) harvest if sufficient PBSC are not collected. Patients with a sufficient number of stem cells proceed to high-dose therapy and autologous PBSC transplantation (PBSCT) or BM transplantation (BMT).
- High-dose therapy and PBSCT or BMT: No more than 4 weeks after completion of PBSC collection or BM harvest, patients receive high-dose therapy that may include cyclophosphamide and total-body irradiation OR busulfan and cyclophosphamide. Patients then undergo PBSCT or BMT. Between 4-6 weeks after completion of PBSCT or BMT, patients undergo repeat whole-body FDG-PET and CT scan. Patients may also undergo consolidative radiotherapy to the sites of bulky disease at the discretion of the physician.
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed at 4 weeks, every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 1 year, and then annually for 2 years.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 55 patients will be accrued for this study within 18 months.
- Conditions
- Lymphoma
- Being tested
- filgrastim, rituximab, busulfan, cisplatin, cyclophosphamide
- Keywords
- contiguous stage II adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, noncontiguous stage II adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage I adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage IV adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, contiguous stage II grade 3 follicular lymphoma, noncontiguous stage II grade 3 follicular lymphoma, stage I grade 3 follicular lymphoma, stage III grade 3 follicular lymphoma, stage IV grade 3 follicular lymphoma, anaplastic large cell lymphoma, stage I adult T-cell leukemia/lymphoma, stage II adult T-cell leukemia/lymphoma, stage III adult T-cell leukemia/lymphoma, stage IV adult T-cell leukemia/lymphoma
- Medical subject headings
- Lymphoma, Lymphoma, Large B-Cell, Diffuse, Lymphoma, Follicular, Lymphoma, Large-Cell, Anaplastic, Precursor T-Cell Lymphoblastic Leukemia-Lymphoma
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
filgrastimBiological
rituximabBiological
busulfanDrug
cisplatinDrug
cyclophosphamideDrug
cytarabineDrug
etoposideDrug
prednisoneDrug
autologous bone marrow transplantationProcedure or surgery
peripheral blood stem cell transplantationProcedure or surgery
positron emission tomographyProcedure or surgery
fludeoxyglucose F 18Radiation
radiation therapyRadiation
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
2-year event free survival
Secondary outcomes (3)
Overall survival
Predictive value of early negative fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography (FDG-PET)
Correlation of International Prognostic Index risk category with FDG-PET results and overall outcome
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted13 Oct 2005 (estimated)
- Study startFeb 2004
- Primary completion17 Sep 2007
- Study completion17 Sep 2007
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for LymphomaStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns HopkinsThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Primary purpose
- Diagnosis
- Enrolment
- 59 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Lode J. Swinnen, MD, Study chair, Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00238368
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- J0348 CDR0000445618
- Other IDs
- P30CA006973, JHOC-J0348, JHOC-03082605
- Status last verified
- Nov 2017
- First submitted
- 12 Oct 2005
- Last updated
- 6 Nov 2017
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 6 Nov 2017. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Autologous Blood or Marrow Transplantation for Aggressive Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma Based on Early [18F] FDG-PET Scanning
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00238368
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- J0348 CDR0000445618
- Conditions
- Lymphoma
- Keywords
- contiguous stage II adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, noncontiguous stage II adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage I adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage IV adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, contiguous stage II grade 3 follicular lymphoma, noncontiguous stage II grade 3 follicular lymphoma, stage I grade 3 follicular lymphoma
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 59 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns HopkinsUniversity, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Study start
- Feb 2004 (actual)
- Primary completion
- 17 Sep 2007 (actual)
- Study completion
- 17 Sep 2007 (actual)
- First posted
- 13 Oct 2005 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more cancer cells. Giving chemotherapy with an autologous stem cell or bone marrow transplant may allow more chemotherapy to be given so that more cancer cells are killed. Procedures, such as fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography (FDG-PET) (done during chemotherapy) may help doctors predict a patient's risk of relapse and help plan the best treatment.
PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well FDG-PET works in predicting risk of relapse in patients with aggressive non-Hodgkin's lymphoma who are undergoing combination chemotherapy with or without autologous stem cell or bone marrow transplant.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
Primary
- Determine event-free survival of patients with aggressive non-Hodgkin's lymphoma treated with early high-dose therapy and autologous peripheral blood stem cell (PBSC) or bone marrow transplantation (BMT) based on positive fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography (FDG-PET) results obtained during first-line chemotherapy.
- Compare event-free survival of patients treated with this regimen with historical event-free survival of patients with positive FDG-PET results obtained during first-line chemotherapy that are not treated with early high-dose therapy.
Secondary
- Compare overall survival of patients treated with a standard treatment regimen vs early high-dose therapy and autologous PBSC or BMT based on FDG-PET results obtained during first-line chemotherapy.
- Determine the predictive value of an early negative FDG-PET result in these patients.
- Correlate International Prognostic Index risk category with FDG-PET results and overall outcome in these patients.
OUTLINE: This is a pilot study.
- First-line chemotherapy: Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV, doxorubicin IV, and vincristine IV on day 1, oral prednisone on days 1-5, and rituximab IV on day 1 (patients with CD20-positive disease only) OR another standard first-line chemotherapy regimen. Treatment repeats every 14-21 days for 2 or 3 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- Radiographic staging: Between days 11-20 of course 2 or 3 OR days 11-13 of course 3 of first-line chemotherapy, patients receive fludeoxyglucose F 18 (FDG) IV. One hour later, patients undergo whole-body FDG-positron emission tomography (PET) and CT scan. Patients with no evidence of malignant disease by FDG-PET (i.e., negative result) receive a standard treatment regimen that may include localized radiotherapy for limited stage or bulky disease followed, 4-6 weeks later, by a repeat whole-body FDG-PET and CT scan. Patients with progressive disease after first-line chemotherapy are removed from the study. Patients with evidence of malignant disease by FDG-PET (i.e., positive result) and stable disease or better proceed to ESHAP chemotherapy.
- ESHAP chemotherapy: Patients receive etoposide IV over 2 hours, methylprednisolone IV, and cisplatin IV over 3 hours on days 1-4 followed by cytarabine IV over 2 hours on day 5. Patients with CD20-positive disease also receive rituximab IV on day 1. Treatment repeats every 14-21 days for 2 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Beginning 1 day after completion of course 2, patients receive filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously once daily followed by leukapheresis to collect peripheral blood stem cells (PBSC). Some patients may also undergo bone marrow (BM) harvest if sufficient PBSC are not collected. Patients with a sufficient number of stem cells proceed to high-dose therapy and autologous PBSC transplantation (PBSCT) or BM transplantation (BMT).
- High-dose therapy and PBSCT or BMT: No more than 4 weeks after completion of PBSC collection or BM harvest, patients receive high-dose therapy that may include cyclophosphamide and total-body irradiation OR busulfan and cyclophosphamide. Patients then undergo PBSCT or BMT. Between 4-6 weeks after completion of PBSCT or BMT, patients undergo repeat whole-body FDG-PET and CT scan. Patients may also undergo consolidative radiotherapy to the sites of bulky disease at the discretion of the physician.
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed at 4 weeks, every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 1 year, and then annually for 2 years.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 55 patients will be accrued for this study within 18 months.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Diagnosis
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 to 120 years
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| filgrastim | Biological | – |
| rituximab | Biological | – |
| busulfan | Drug | – |
| cisplatin | Drug | – |
| cyclophosphamide | Drug | – |
| cytarabine | Drug | – |
| doxorubicin hydrochloride | Drug | – |
| etoposide | Drug | – |
| methylprednisolone | Drug | – |
| prednisone | Drug | – |
| vincristine sulfate | Drug | – |
| autologous bone marrow transplantation | Procedure or surgery | – |
| peripheral blood stem cell transplantation | Procedure or surgery | – |
| positron emission tomography | Procedure or surgery | – |
| fludeoxyglucose F 18 | Radiation | – |
| radiation therapy | Radiation | – |
Primary outcome
2-year event free survival
3 secondary outcomes
Overall survival
Predictive value of early negative fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography (FDG-PET)
Correlation of International Prognostic Index risk category with FDG-PET results and overall outcome
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 6 Nov 2017.
Related trials for Lymphoma
RecruitingPhase 2
Tafasitamab With Acalabrutinib and Venetoclax for the Treatment of Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia/Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma
Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia, Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia/Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma
RecruitingPhase 2
Ibrutinib Combination Therapy in Transplant Ineligible Individuals With Newly Diagnosed Primary CNS Lymphoma
Non-hodgkin Lymphoma
RecruitingObservational study
Blood, Urine, and Tissue Collection for Cutaneous Lymphoma, Eczema, and Atopic Dermatitis Research
Cutaneous T-cell Lymphoma, Sezary Syndrome
Not yet recruitingPhase 1
Testing the Addition of an Anti-Cancer Drug, Glofitamab, to the Usual Chemotherapy Treatment (Alternating R-CHOP/R-DHAP) for Previously Untreated Mantle Cell Lymphoma
Ann Arbor Stage II Mantle Cell Lymphoma, Ann Arbor Stage III Mantle Cell Lymphoma
Active, not recruitingPhase 2
Brentuximab Vedotin and Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With CD30-Positive Peripheral T-cell Lymphoma
Adult T-Cell Leukemia/Lymphoma, Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma, ALK-Negative
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Lode J. Swinnen, MD study chair
Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, rituximab and busulfan in people with Lymphoma, run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins at 1 site in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 6 Nov 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
2-year event free survival. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 6 Nov 2017.