AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00244933

Gemcitabine Hydrochloride and Genistein in Treating Women With Stage IV Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing genistein, gemcitabine and Tumor biopsy in people with Breast Cancer, run by Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as gemcitabine hydrochloride and genistein, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving gemcitabine hydrochloride together with genistein may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
genistein, gemcitabine and Tumor biopsy
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
19 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Feb 2004to Oct 2009
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed breast cancer
  • Stage IV disease
  • Clinical and/or radiological evidence of metastatic disease
  • Measurable disease
  • Prior radiotherapy allowed provided there is ≥ 1 measurable disease site outside the radiation field
  • No active CNS metastases
  • Previously treated CNS metastases allowed provided disease is stable for ≥ 3 months without steroids or antiseizure medications
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Sex

  • Female

Menopausal status

  • Not specified

Performance status

  • SWOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 10 g/dL

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin ≤3.0 mg/dL
  • AST and ALT ≤ 2.5 times upper limit of normal

Renal

  • Creatinine ≤ 1.5 mg/dL

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No serious systemic disorder that would preclude study compliance
  • No history of another malignancy except curatively treated carcinoma of the cervix or basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer in complete remission
  • No unresolved bacterial infection requiring antibiotic treatment
  • No known HIV-1 positivity

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • At least 3 weeks since prior biologic therapy

Chemotherapy

  • Prior adjuvant chemotherapy allowed
  • Prior adjuvant or neoadjuvant taxane-based therapy or taxane therapy for metastatic disease allowed
  • Patient must have failed therapy within 2 years after completion of treatment
  • At least 3 weeks since prior chemotherapy
  • No more than 2 prior cytotoxic chemotherapy regimens for metastatic disease
  • No prior gemcitabine hydrochloride
  • No other concurrent chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 2 weeks since prior and no concurrent hormonal therapy
  • Must have documented disease progression during prior hormonal therapy

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy and recovered
  • No concurrent radiotherapy

Surgery

  • At least 3 weeks since prior surgery

Other

  • At least 3 weeks since prior investigational therapy
  • At least 1 week since prior soy supplements (e.g., soy-based pills, liquids, or concentrates)
  • Dietary soy as part of a meal (e.g., tofu) allowed once a week
  • No concurrent nutritional supplements, herbal agents, or high doses of antioxidants (e.g., vitamins C, D, or E) that may interact with, antagonize, alter, or imitate the potential effects of gemcitabine hydrochloride or genistein
  • A single daily multivitamin is allowed
  • No other concurrent immunotherapy
  • No other concurrent experimental medication
  • Concurrent anticoagulants, appetite stimulants, and replacement steroids allowed

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute

    Detroit, Michigan, 48201-1379

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase II Trial of Gemcitabine and Genistein in Metastatic Breast Cancer Patients With Biomarker Assays

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as gemcitabine hydrochloride and genistein, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving gemcitabine hydrochloride together with genistein may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well giving gemcitabine hydrochloride together with genistein works in treating women with stage IV breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the objective response rate in patients with stage IV breast cancer treated with gemcitabine hydrochloride and genistein.

Secondary

  • Determine the duration of response and survival of patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the time to disease progression in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the quantitative and qualitative toxic effects of this regimen in these patients.
  • Correlate plasma genistein levels with response in patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: Patients receive oral genistein once daily on days -7 to 1. Patients also receive gemcitabine hydrochloride IV on days 1 and 8 and oral genistein once daily on days 1-21. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 36 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
genistein, gemcitabine, Tumor biopsy
Keywords
stage IV breast cancer, recurrent breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • genisteinDietary supplement

    Also called Novasoy

    Novasoy Orally-100 mg 2 times/day for 7 days; 2 times/day on Days 1-21 every 21 days.

  • gemcitabineDrug

    Also called Gemcitabine hydrochloride, Gemzar®

    Gemcitabine IV-1000mg/m2: Days 1 \& 8 every 21 days

  • Tumor biopsyProcedure or surgery

    Biopsy of tumor prior to dose of genistein (Novasoy)

Study groups in NCT00244933
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Gemcitabine, genistein (Novasoy), Tumor biopsyExperimentalGemcitabine IV-1000mg/m2: Days 1 \& 8 every 21 days Novasoy Orally-100 mg 2 times/day for 7 days; 2 times/day on Days 1-21 every 21 days.
Receives: Dietary Supplement: genistein; Drug: gemcitabine; Procedure: Tumor biopsy

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Objective Response Rate by RECIST Criteria Following

    Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), >=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.

    Measured: every 2 courses until disease progression or death, up to 24 weeks

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Oct 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startFeb 2004
  3. Primary completionNov 2008
  4. Study completionOct 2009

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
19 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00244933
Sponsor's protocol ID
2597
Other IDs
P30CA022453, WSU-C-2597
Status last verified
May 2023
First submitted
25 Oct 2005
Last updated
22 Jun 2023
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing genistein, gemcitabine and Tumor biopsy in people with Breast Cancer, run by Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 22 Jun 2023. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 2 Feb 2015). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Objective Response Rate by RECIST Criteria Following (time frame: every 2 courses until disease progression or death, up to 24 weeks). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 22 Jun 2023.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in