AzTrials
AzTrials

Brain and Central Nervous System TumorsNCT00253669

Risk Factors for Developing a Blood Clot in Patients Who Are Undergoing Cancer Treatment for Newly Diagnosed Gliomas

An observational study of Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors and Thromboembolism, run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins at 9 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Patients with gliomas may be at risk for developing blood clots. Learning about the risk factors for developing blood clots may help doctors plan better treatment for gliomas. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
What is being tested?
laboratory biomarker analysis, physiologic testing and management of therapy complications
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
110 participants
Where
9 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Apr 2005to Aug 2009
Phase
Observational
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Study population: outpatient clinic

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed newly diagnosed malignant brain tumor
  • Supratentorial grade III or IV astrocytoma of 1 of the following types:
  • Anaplastic astrocytoma
  • Anaplastic oligodendroglioma
  • Glioblastoma multiforme
  • No prior thrombotic event

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Performance status

  • Karnofsky 60-100%

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Not specified

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • No prior immunotherapy or biologic agents, including immunotoxins, immunoconjugates, antisense therapy, peptide-receptor antagonists, interferons, interleukins, tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes, lymphocyte-activated killer cells, or gene therapy, for the brain tumor

Chemotherapy

  • No prior chemotherapy for the brain tumor except polifeprosan 20 with carmustine implant (Gliadel wafer)

Endocrine therapy

  • No prior hormonal therapy for the brain tumor except glucocorticoids

Radiotherapy

  • No prior radiotherapy for the brain tumor
  • No prior cranial irradiation

Other

  • No concurrent chronic anticoagulation therapy

Trial locations and contacts

9 sites in 1 country.

9 sites in 1 country

United States9 sites
  • Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University

    Atlanta, Georgia, 30322

  • Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21231-2410

  • Lurleen Wallace Comprehensive Cancer at University of Alabama - Birmingham

    Birmingham, Alabama, 35294

  • Massachusetts General Hospital

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02114

  • Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44195

  • Josephine Ford Cancer Center at Henry Ford Hospital

    Detroit, Michigan, 48202

  • Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104-4283

  • H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute at University of South Florida

    Tampa, Florida, 33612-9497

  • Wake Forest University Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Winston-Salem, North Carolina, 27157-1096

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Pilot Study of Thrombophilic States in Newly Diagnosed Patients With High-Grade Gliomas

RATIONALE: Patients with gliomas may be at risk for developing blood clots. Learning about the risk factors for developing blood clots may help doctors plan better treatment for gliomas.

PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying risk factors for developing blood clots in patients who are undergoing cancer treatment for newly diagnosed gliomas.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the overall hazard rate of first venous thromboembolism per person-year of follow-up in patients undergoing antineoplastic therapy for newly diagnosed high-grade gliomas.
  • Correlate ABO blood type with incidence of venous thromboembolism in these patients.
  • Correlate factor VIII level with incidence of venous thromboembolism in these patients.

Secondary

  • Determine the overall and individual incidence rate of thromboembolism in these patients.
  • Correlate clinical variables, such as type of antineoplastic treatments, Karnofsky performance status, and type of tumor, with incidence of venous thromboembolism in these patients.
  • Correlate demographic factors, such as age, with incidence of venous thromboembolism in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a pilot, multicenter study.

Patients undergo blood collection for blood typing (if not already obtained) and factor VIII and C-reactive protein levels at baseline. Patients are followed to obtain information on their Karnofsky performance status, treatment they receive for their brain tumor, and occurrence of any thrombotic events (e.g., pulmonary embolism or deep-vein thrombosis). Patients are followed every 28 days until the development of thrombotic events, after which they are followed every 2 months for survival.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 107 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
laboratory biomarker analysis, physiologic testing, management of therapy complications
Keywords
thromboembolism, adult anaplastic astrocytoma, adult anaplastic oligodendroglioma, adult glioblastoma, adult giant cell glioblastoma, adult gliosarcoma
Medical subject headings
Central Nervous System Neoplasms, Thromboembolism, Astrocytoma, Oligodendroglioma, Glioblastoma, Gliosarcoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • laboratory biomarker analysisOther

  • physiologic testingOther

  • management of therapy complicationsProcedure or surgery

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Thrombosis-free survival as assessed by objectively documented deep vein thrombosis or pulmonary embolism

    Measured: until dvt or death

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. ABO blood group association with venous thromboembolism (VTE) factor VIII activity and VTE as assessed by laboratory test result at study entry

    Measured: on study

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted15 Nov 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startApr 2005
  3. Primary completionAug 2009
  4. Study completionAug 2009

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Observational
Observational model
Case-control
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrolment
110 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00253669
Sponsor's protocol ID
NABTT-0307
Other IDs
U01CA062475, CDR0000441111, JHOC-NABTT-0307
Status last verified
Jun 2018
First submitted
11 Nov 2005
Last updated
28 Jun 2018
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

An observational study of Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors and Thromboembolism, run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins at 9 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 28 Jun 2018. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 9 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Thrombosis-free survival as assessed by objectively documented deep vein thrombosis or pulmonary embolism (time frame: until dvt or death). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 28 Jun 2018.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in