AzTrials
AzTrials

Prostate CancerPhase 3NCT00258466

Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Stage I, Stage II, or Stage III Prostate Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing radiation therapy in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute.

Withdrawn

Withdrawn. The study stopped before anyone enrolled.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays and other types of radiation to kill tumor cells. Giving radiation therapy in different ways may kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known which type of radiation therapy is more effective in treating prostate cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age, men only
Conditions the study is for
Prostate Cancer
What is being tested?
radiation therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
0 participants
Where
No sites listed yet
Study dates
May 2005to Nov 2006
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • Men only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the prostate
  • Stage I-III disease (T1-T3, N0, M0)
  • No clinical or radiographic evidence of metastasis
  • If prostate-specific antigen (PSA) ≥ 10.0 ng/mL and Gleason score is 7, a radioisotope bone scan must show no evidence of metastasis
  • No evidence of lymphatic or visceral metastases of the abdomen or pelvis on CT scan or MRI
  • PSA ≤ 20 ng/mL
  • Gleason score ≤ 7 (if stage T3 , score must be < 7)

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Performance status

  • Not specified

Life expectancy

  • More than 10 years

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Not specified

Other

  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Endocrine therapy

  • Prior hormonal therapy allowed provided it was initiated no more than 2 months ago, and may include the following:
  • Luteinizing hormone-releasing hormone agonists (e.g., goserelin, leuprolide)
  • Anti-androgens (e.g., flutamide, bicalutamide)

Radiotherapy

  • No prior pelvic irradiation

Surgery

  • No prior radical prostatectomy

About this study

Official title: Phase III Trial of Neutron + Photon Radiation Versus Photon + Hypofractionated Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy in Localized Prostate Cancer

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays and other types of radiation to kill tumor cells. Giving radiation therapy in different ways may kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known which type of radiation therapy is more effective in treating prostate cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying different types of radiation therapy to compare how well they work in treating patients with stage I, stage II, or stage III prostate cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare the efficacy of neutron and photon radiotherapy vs hypofractionated intensity modulated radiation, in terms of a lower frequency of chronic complication rate (chronic toxicity and disease-free survival), in patients with favorable to intermediate prognosis, stage I-III adenocarcinoma of the prostate.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to stage of disease (T1 vs T2 vs T3). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients undergo neutron radiotherapy over 15-45 minutes 5 days a week for 2 weeks followed by photon radiotherapy over 15-45 minutes 5 days a week for 5 weeks.
  • Arm II: Patients undergo photon radiotherapy over 15-45 minutes 5 days a week for 5 weeks followed by hypofractionated photon irradiation over 15-45 minutes 5 days a week for 2 weeks.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed periodically for 5 years and then yearly thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 300 patients (150 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Prostate Cancer
Being tested
radiation therapy
Keywords
adenocarcinoma of the prostate, stage I prostate cancer, stage II prostate cancer, stage III prostate cancer
Medical subject headings
Prostatic Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • radiation therapyRadiation

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Occurrence of chronic grade 2 or higher toxicity as measured by RTOG/EORTC late morbidity scoring scheme at 1, 4, 8, and 12 months after treatment, then every 6 months for 5 years, then annually

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Disease free survival at 1, 4, 8, and 12 months after treatment, then every 6 months for 5 years, then annually

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted24 Nov 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2005
  3. Primary completionNov 2006
  4. Study completionNov 2006

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Enrolment
0 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00258466
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000447161
Other IDs
P30CA022453, WSU-D-2879, WSU-HIC-047405MP4F
Status last verified
Apr 2013
First submitted
23 Nov 2005
Last updated
8 Apr 2013
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing radiation therapy in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: withdrawn, as of the sponsor's last update on 8 Apr 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was withdrawn before enrolling participants, so there are no results.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Occurrence of chronic grade 2 or higher toxicity as measured by RTOG/EORTC late morbidity scoring scheme at 1, 4, 8, and 12 months after treatment, then every 6 months for 5 years, then annually. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 8 Apr 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in