AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00274768

Capecitabine in Treating Patients With Metastatic Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing capecitabine in people with Breast Cancer, run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins at 3 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as capecitabine, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well capecitabine works in treating patients with metastatic breast cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
capecitabine
Type of treatment
Pill or oral medicine
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
26 participants
Where
3 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Apr 2004to Nov 2012
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed diagnosis of adenocarcinoma of the breast
  • Evidence of metastatic involvement (stage IV disease)
  • Patients must have measurable disease
  • At least one measurable lesion as defined by the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST)
  • Treated brain metastases (surgery or radiation therapy) allowed if clinically stable
  • Patients with leptomeningeal disease are ineligible
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status 0-2
  • Male or female
  • Menopausal status not specified
  • Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
  • Creatinine clearance > 50 mL/min
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No history of another severe and/or life-threatening medical disease
  • No other active primary malignancy
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Patients with asymptomatic HIV infection are eligible
  • Liver dysfunction score ≤ 9
  • No pre-existing liver disease (i.e., cirrhosis or active viral hepatitis)
  • No active gastrointestinal malabsorption illness
  • No clinically significant cardiac disease, including the following:
  • Congestive heart failure, symptomatic coronary artery disease, and cardiac arrhythmias not well controlled with medication, or myocardial infarction within the past six months
  • No prior unanticipated severe reaction to fluoropyrimidine therapy, known hypersensitivity to fluorouracil, or known dihydropyrimidine dehydrogenase deficiency
  • No history of uncontrolled seizures or central nervous system disorders
  • No significant history of noncompliance to medical regimens
  • No clinically significant psychiatric disability that would preclude study compliance

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • No previous capecitabine
  • Up to 3 prior cytotoxic regimens allowed for metastatic disease
  • Prior noncytotoxic therapy allowed (e.g., hormonal treatment or trastuzumab)
  • No other concurrent therapies intended to treat the primary condition including chemotherapy, biologic agents, or immunotherapy
  • No concurrent anti-estrogen therapy, radiation therapy, or investigational systemic therapy
  • No other concurrent investigational drugs
  • No concurrent use of the following drugs: warfarin for full anticoagulation, cimetidine, or azidothymidine (AZT)
  • Mini-dose warfarin for prophylaxis of central venous catheter thrombosis allowed
  • At least 4 weeks since prior sorivudine or brivudine
  • Concurrent use of bisphosphonates allowed if initiated before beginning study therapy
  • Concurrent use of megestrol acetate suspension as an appetite stimulant allowed

Trial locations and contacts

3 sites in 1 country.

United States3 sites
  • DeCesaris Cancer Institute at Anne Arundel Medical Center

    Annapolis, Maryland, 21401

  • Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21231-2410

  • Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center at Dana Farber Cancer Institute

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02115

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase II Study of Fixed-Dose Capecitabine in Metastatic Breast Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as capecitabine, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well capecitabine works in treating patients with metastatic breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the response rate in patients with metastatic breast cancer treated with a fixed-dose of capecitabine.

Secondary

  • Determine the clinical benefit, time to treatment failure (TTF), safety, and toxicity profile of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the pharmacokinetics (PK) and pharmacogenetics in these patients.
  • Correlate pharmacodynamic effects of this drug with toxicity and response in these patients.
  • Determine compliance and adherence to this regimen and correlate with PK parameters in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label study.

Patients receive a fixed-dose of oral capecitabine twice daily on days 1-14. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed periodically.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 45 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
capecitabine
Keywords
stage IV breast cancer, male breast cancer, recurrent breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Breast Neoplasms, Male

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • capecitabineDrug

    Also called Xeloda

    A total of 115 cycles of therapy were administered and five patients did not complete cycle 1. The median number of cycles initiated was four (range 1-16).

Study groups in NCT00274768
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
CapecitabineExperimental26 patients received the pre-defined starting dose of capecitabine of 3,000 mg orally daily given in two divided doses. Two thirds of the patients received either the same dose or a 500 mg lower dose compared to what would have been administered with a commonly used body surface area (BSA)-dosing schedule (2,000 mg/m2 with rounding down to nearest 500 mg multiple).
Receives: Drug: capecitabine

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Response Rate

    Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) for target lesions and assessed by CT/MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), >=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.

    Measured: Participants were followed to progression, evaluated every 12 weeks

Secondary outcomes (5)
  1. Clinical Benefit as Assessed by Lack of Progression for at Least 24 Weeks

    The overall clinical benefit rate as assessed by number of participants with lack of progression for at least 24 weeks.

    Measured: 3-week cycles of treatment up to 16 cycles

  2. Pharmacokinetics of Capecitabine and Metabolites as Assessed by Maximum Plasma Concentration

    Pharmacokinetics of Capecitabine and metabolites [5-fluoro-5'-deoxycytidine (5'-DFCR), 5-fluoro-5'-dexoxyuridine (5'-DFUR), and 5-fluorouracil (FU)] assessed using maximum plasma concentration (Cmax) in ng/mL.

    Measured: 0.25, 0.5, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 8 hours

  3. Pharmacokinetics of Capecitabine and Metabolites as Assessed by Area Under the Curve (AUC)

    Pharmacokinetics of Capecitabine and metabolites [5-fluoro-5'-deoxycytidine (5'-DFCR), 5-fluoro-5'-dexoxyuridine (5'-DFUR), and 5-FU] assessed using AUC in ng*h/mL.

    Measured: 0.25, 0.5, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 8 hours

  4. Adherence and Compliance to Oral Medication Using Electronic Monitoring

    This was assessed by number of participants who did not miss any doses of Capecitabine during treatment using the Medication Event Monitoring System (MEMS).

    Measured: 3-week cycles of treatment up to 16 cycles

  5. Time to Treatment Failure

    Time to treatment failure in weeks

    Measured: 3-week cycles of treatment up to 16 cycles

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted11 Jan 2006 (estimated)
  2. Study startApr 2004
  3. Primary completionDec 2009
  4. Study completionNov 2012

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
26 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00274768
Sponsor's protocol ID
J0425 CDR0000446286
Other IDs
P30CA006973, JHOC-J0425, JHOC-SKCCC-J0425, JHOC-IRB-04032502
Status last verified
Jan 2020
First submitted
10 Jan 2006
Last updated
27 Jan 2020
Data monitoring committee
No

Publications

  • Fackler MJ, Lopez Bujanda Z, Umbricht C, Teo WW, Cho S, Zhang Z, Visvanathan K, Jeter S, Argani P, Wang C, Lyman JP, de Brot M, Ingle JN, Boughey J, McGuire K, King TA, Carey LA, Cope L, Wolff AC, Sukumar S. Novel methylated biomarkers and a robust assay to detect circulating tumor DNA in metastatic breast cancer. Cancer Res. 2014 Apr 15;74(8):2160-70. doi: 10.1158/0008-5472.CAN-13-3392.

    PubMed 24737128

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing capecitabine in people with Breast Cancer, run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins at 3 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 27 Jan 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 3 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 21 Dec 2012). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Response Rate (time frame: Participants were followed to progression, evaluated every 12 weeks). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00274768, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 27 Jan 2020.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in