AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 1/2NCT00278109

Partial Breast Irradiation With Chemotherapy

A Phase 1/2 study testing cyclophosphamide, Doxorubicin and radiation in people with Breast Cancer, run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 40 years and older, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
cyclophosphamide, Doxorubicin and radiation
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
27 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Jul 2004to Dec 2016
Phase
Phase 1/2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 40 years and older
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the breast by routine hematoxylin and eosin (H\&E) staining
  • Primary tumor ≤ 4 cm and 0-3 positive axillary lymph nodes (pathologic T1-2, pathologic N0-N1, M0)
  • Patients with lymph nodes positive only by cytokeratin staining (i.e., H\&E negative) are eligible
  • No squamous cell carcinoma or sarcoma of the breast
  • Patients must have undergone a segmental mastectomy (SM) with a level I and ll axillary dissection or sentinel lymph node biopsy within the past 14 weeks
  • Surgical margins at the time of SM must be negative (> 3 mm) for both invasive carcinoma and for non-invasive ductal carcinoma
  • No active local-regional disease
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • ECOG performance status 0-1
  • Sex: female
  • Menopausal status not specified
  • Not pregnant
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective non-hormonal contraception
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No other serious or poorly controlled medical or psychiatric condition that could be exacerbated by, or complicate compliance with study treatment

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • No prior radiation therapy to the breast
  • No prior trastuzumab (Herceptin ®)
  • No other concurrent chemotherapy
  • No concurrent hormonal therapy except the following:
  • Steroids given for adrenal failure
  • Hormones administered for non-disease-related conditions (e.g., insulin for diabetes, synthroid for hypothyroidism)
  • Intermittent dexamethasone as an antiemetic or premedication

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21231-2410

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase I/II Partial Breast Irradiation With Concurrent Chemotherapy

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving radiation therapy together with cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin after surgery may kill any tumor cells that remain.

PURPOSE: This phase I/II trial is studying the side effects of radiation therapy when given together with cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin and to see how well they work in treating women with stage I or stage II breast cancer who have undergone surgery.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Assess the potential acute and late skin and subcutaneous toxicities in women with resected stage I or II breast cancer treated with partial breast irradiation (PBI) and concurrent cyclophosphamide/doxorubicin (AC) chemotherapy.
  • Assess the cosmetic effects of partial breast irradiation/chemotherapy (PBIC) in these patients.
  • Assess the local control rate in patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: Patients undergo partial breast radiotherapy once daily, 5 days a week, for 3 weeks. Patients also receive doxorubicin IV over 15 minutes and cyclophosphamide IV over 30 minutes on day 1. Treatment with doxorubicin and cyclophosphamide repeats every 2 weeks for up to 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed periodically for approximately 10 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 42 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Keywords
stage I breast cancer, stage II breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00278109
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
PBI with Concurrent ChemotherapyExperimentalPhase I Single Arm study of PBI with concurrent chemotherapy. Primary endpoint is radiation toxicity. The intervention is partial breast radiation with doxorubicin and cyclophosphamide.
Receives: Drug: cyclophosphamide; Drug: Doxorubicin; Radiation: radiation

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Number of Participants Experiencing Acute, Late Skin, and Subcutaneous Toxicity

    Number of participants with Grade 4 toxicity as defined by the following criteria:

    Acute Skin Toxicity: 0=No change, 1= Follicular, faint, or dull erythema/epilation/dry/desquamation/decreased swelling, 2= Tender or bright erythemal patchy moist desquamation/moderate edema, 3= Confluent moist desquamation other than skin folds, piting edema, 4= Ulceration, hemorrahage, necrosis, Late Skin Toxicity: 0= None, 1= Slight Atrophy, Pigmentation change, some hair loss, 2= Patch atrophy, moderate telangectasias, total hair loss, 3= Marked atrophy, gross telangectasias, 4= Ulceration; Subcutaneous Tissue Toxicity: 0= None, 1= Slight induration (fibrosis) and loss of subcutaneous fat, 2= Moderate fibrosis but asymptomatic; slight field contracture; <10% linear reduction, 3= Severe induration and loss subcutaneous tissue; field contracture >10% linear reduction; 4= Necrosis

    Measured: up to 5 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted18 Jan 2006 (estimated)
  2. Study startJul 2004
  3. Primary completionDec 2016
  4. Study completionDec 2016

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1/2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
27 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00278109
Sponsor's protocol ID
J0381
Other IDs
P30CA006973, CDR0000446085, 04-03-22-01
Status last verified
Mar 2019
First submitted
16 Jan 2006
Last updated
19 Feb 2020

Publications

  • Zellars RC, Frassica D, Stearns V, et al.: Phase I/II trial of partial breast irradiation with concurrent dose-dense doxorubicin and cyclophosphamide (ddAC) chemotherapy in early stage breast cancer: report of skin toxicity and cosmetic outcome. [Abstract] Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys 69 (3 Suppl): A-44, S26, 2007.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1/2 study testing cyclophosphamide, Doxorubicin and radiation in people with Breast Cancer, run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 19 Feb 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this combined phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 28 Mar 2019). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Number of Participants Experiencing Acute, Late Skin, and Subcutaneous Toxicity (time frame: up to 5 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00278109, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 19 Feb 2020.

Free account

Keep searching with a free account

You’ve used your 3 free searches for this session. Log in or create a free AzTrials account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in