AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00295893

Combination Chemotherapy With or Without Trastuzumab in Treating Patients With Stage II or Stage III Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing cyclophosphamide, docetaxel and doxorubicin hydrochloride in people with Breast Cancer, run by City of Hope Medical Center at 1 site in United States.

Active, not recruiting

Under way, not looking for participants. Everyone needed has enrolled. The study is still running.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
cyclophosphamide, docetaxel and doxorubicin hydrochloride
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
121 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
27 Sep 2005to 16 Jul 2027
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically proven infiltrating ductal or lobular breast carcinoma
  • Stage II or III disease
  • Inflammatory breast cancer allowed
  • Hormone-receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • ECOG performance status < 2
  • Male or female
  • Menopausal status not specified (for female patients)
  • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
  • Bilirubin normal (except for patient's with Gilbert's disease)
  • Creatinine ≤ 1.2 mg/dL
  • Creatinine clearance ≥ 70 mL/min
  • Ejection fraction ≥ 50% on MUGA
  • No neuropathy ≥ grade 1
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective nonhormonal contraception
  • No prior malignant disease within the past 5 years, excluding:
  • Squamous cell or basal cell skin carcinoma
  • Stage I or in situ cervical carcinoma
  • No noninvasive (in situ) breast carcinoma within the past 5 years

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • At least 5 years since prior antiestrogen treatment for any indication other than breast cancer prevention (tamoxifen, raloxifene, or an aromatase inhibitor)
  • No prior radiotherapy to the chest wall

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • City of Hope Medical Center

    Duarte, California, 91010-3000

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Randomized Phase II Study of Docetaxel, Adriamycin, and Cytoxan (TAC) Versus Adriamycin/Cytoxan, Followed by Abraxane/Carboplatin (ACAC) +/- Trastuzumab as Neoadjuvant Therapy for Patients With Stage II-III Breast Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells. Monoclonal antibodies, such as trastuzumab, can block tumor growth in different ways. Some block the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. Others find tumor cells and help kill them or carry tumor-killing substances to them. Giving combination chemotherapy with or without trastuzumab before surgery may make the tumor smaller and reduce the amount of normal tissue that needs to be removed. It is not yet known whether combination chemotherapy is more effective with or without trastuzumab in treating breast cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is comparing two different regimens of combination chemotherapy given together with or without trastuzumab to see how well they work in treating patients with stage II or stage III breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Compare 2 neoadjuvant chemotherapy regimens (docetaxel, doxorubicin hydrochloride, and cyclophosphamide [TAC] vs doxorubicin and cyclophosphamide followed by paclitaxel and carboplatin [ACAC]), in terms of toxicities and effectiveness as defined by the pathological complete remission rate, in patients with non HER2/neu overexpressing stage II or III breast cancer.
  • Evaluate the probability of achieving a pathological complete remission when adding trastuzumab (Herceptin®) to ACAC in the subset of patients with HER2/neu overexpressing stage II or III breast cancer.

Secondary

  • Identify prognostic and predictive markers of outcome, recurrence, and targets of therapy.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized study. Patients with non HER2/neu overexpressing tumors are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms. Patients with HER2/neu overexpressing tumors are assigned to arm III.

  • Arm I: Patients receive doxorubicin hydrochloride IV, cyclophosphamide IV, and docetaxel IV on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 6 courses.
  • Arm II: Patients receive doxorubicin hydrochloride IV and cyclophosphamide IV on day 1; treatment repeats every 2 weeks for 4 courses. Patients then receive carboplatin IV on day 1 and paclitaxel IV on days 1, 8, and 15; treatment with carboplatin and paclitaxel repeats every 4 weeks for 3 courses.
  • Arm III: Patients receive chemotherapy as in arm II. They also receive trastuzumab (Herceptin®) IV weekly, beginning with the first doses of paclitaxel and carboplatin.

Within 4 weeks after completion of chemotherapy with or without trastuzumab (Herceptin®), all patients undergo surgery.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 105 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Keywords
inflammatory breast cancer, stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer, stage IIIB breast cancer, stage IIIC breast cancer, male breast cancer, Paget disease of the breast with invasive ductal carcinoma, invasive ductal breast carcinoma with predominant intraductal component, invasive ductal breast carcinoma, medullary ductal breast carcinoma with lymphocytic infiltrate, comedo ductal breast carcinoma, invasive lobular breast carcinoma with predominant in situ component, invasive lobular breast carcinoma, mucinous ductal breast carcinoma, papillary ductal breast carcinoma, tubular ductal breast carcinoma
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Inflammatory Breast Neoplasms, Breast Neoplasms, Male, Carcinoma, Ductal, Breast, Carcinoma, Lobular

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00295893
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Docetaxel, Doxorubicin Hydrochloride, and CyclophosphamideActive comparatorPatients receive doxorubicin hydrochloride IV, cyclophosphamide IV, and docetaxel IV on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 6 courses.
Receives: Drug: cyclophosphamide; Drug: docetaxel; Drug: doxorubicin hydrochloride
Doxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel and CarboplatinExperimentalPatients receive doxorubicin hydrochloride IV and cyclophosphamide IV on day 1; treatment repeats every 2 weeks for 4 courses. Patients then receive carboplatin IV on day 1 and paclitaxel IV on days 1, 8, and 15; treatment with carboplatin and paclitaxel repeats every 4 weeks for 3 courses.
Receives: Drug: cyclophosphamide; Drug: doxorubicin hydrochloride; Drug: Carboplatin; Drug: Paclitaxel
Doxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel, Carboplatin and trastuzumabExperimentalPatients receive chemotherapy as in arm II. They also receive trastuzumab (Herceptin®) IV weekly, beginning with the first doses of paclitaxel and carboplatin.
Receives: Drug: cyclophosphamide; Drug: doxorubicin hydrochloride; Biological: Trastuzumab; Drug: Carboplatin; Drug: Paclitaxel

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Count of Patients With Pathologic Complete Response (pCR)

    pCR was defined as no evidence of residual invasive cancer (or very few scattered tumor cells) in primary tumor and lymph nodes.

    Measured: At the time of surgery within 4 weeks of the end of chemotherapy, up to 10 months

  2. Count of Patients With Residual Cancer Burden (RCB) Scores of 0 or 1.

    RCB score is determined using information on the size of the tumor and the extent of tumor cells in the breast and axillary lymph nodes after neoadjuvant therapy. The higher the RCB score, the more residual breast cancer there is in the breast and lymph nodes:

    RCB-0 = No residual breast cancer RCB-I = Small amount of residual breast cancer RCB-II = Moderate amount of residual breast cancer RCB-III = Extensive (a lot of) residual breast cancer

    Measured: At the time of surgery within 4 weeks of the end of chemotherapy, up to 10 months.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted24 Feb 2006 (estimated)
  2. Study start27 Sep 2005
  3. Primary completion30 Dec 2013
  4. Study completion16 Jul 2027 (estimated)

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
121 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00295893
Sponsor's protocol ID
05015
Other IDs
P30CA033572, CDR0000455631
Status last verified
Aug 2026
First submitted
23 Feb 2006
Last updated
24 Sep 2026
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing cyclophosphamide, docetaxel and doxorubicin hydrochloride in people with Breast Cancer, run by City of Hope Medical Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: under way, not looking for participants, as of the sponsor's last update on 24 Sep 2026. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 14 Mar 2023). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Count of Patients With Pathologic Complete Response (pCR) (time frame: At the time of surgery within 4 weeks of the end of chemotherapy, up to 10 months). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 24 Sep 2026.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in